Philippines' Chicken Adobo

101 132
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Filipino Chicken Adobo is a famous dish in the Philippines. It is a type of chicken stew wherein the chicken is marinated in soy sauce, pan-fried and stewed until it's tender.

Origin

The dish is originated in the Philippines and it becomes popular for its delicious taste and it's easy to prepare. This was made those early days as adding vinegar can extend the shelf life of the food knowing there's no fridge or freezer at that time. Saying that cooking adobo becomes popular as the methods prolong the dish and it's very ideal for in the Philippines we have hot weather and our food spoils quite fast.

How to cook Adobo

Cooking adobo is so easy and very simple. The main thing you must do is to marinate your chicken. In that way, it will be more flavorful.

You start by marinating the chicken into soy sauce and garlic. Crushed the garlic. I understand that some of you doesn't like the smell of it but mind you, that's where the delicious taste coming from. You cannot cook adobo without the garlic. Marinate the chicken overnight or a minimum of 3 hours. And if you're in a hurry then the trick of cooking it longer will make it up. That will help for extracting flavours to your adobo.

You can use any kind of soy sauce but if you want to taste authentic Adobo used Datu Puti or any brand of your choice as long as it's Filipino make. The other known brand is Silver Swan but my family prefer Datu Puti ever since.

Ingredients

  • chicken cut into strips or as you desire

  • garlic crushed and chopped

  • onion chopped

  • soy sauce enough to cover up your chicken

  • vinegar (3 tablespoons)

  • cup of water

  • 3 pieces bay leaf

  • cooking oil

  • pepper

  • potato (optional)

  • boiled egg (optional)

Instruction

  1. Combine chicken soy sauce and garlic and marinate it as long as possible. Overnight is ideal. If in a hurry cook it longer.

  2. Heat the pan and pour some oil.

  3. Sauteed garlic then the onion.

  4. Pan-fry the marinated chicken about 2 minutes on each side.

  5. Add the bay leaf.

  6. Pour the remaining marinade including the garlic and add water then bring it to a boil until it's cooked.

  7. Add vinegar.

  8. Add the potato if you prefer. I want the kids to eat vegetable and my husband loves potato so it's a must for me. Then cook until the potato is cooked.

  9. Stir and seasoned it with pepper.

  10. Served and enjoy. Bon Apetit!

Chicken adobo is best served with white rice. I like to put a boiled egg in my adobo. It's very nutritious and it goes well with it. In the Philippines, there's always an option when buying adobo in a restaurant if you want to add an egg into it. And my answer will always YES!

I hope you can try this Filipino dish. It's not just chicken but you can use pork, beef and even Seafood! And you can make your own twist on it! Make adobo your own signature dish.

I cook this for tonight's dinner!

Let's eat!

I hope you enjoy my Chicken Adobo!

Thank you so much!

Check out my other Articles

Riad Dar Nawfal at Salé, Morocco

Titanic Belfast

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

Seoul Korea Trip

10 Must-Try Family Friendly Experience in Oludeniz, Turkey

Crumlin Road Gaol

Pagudpud Tour in Ilocos Norte

Old Medina of Rabat, Morocco

Tyn-Y-Mur Caravan and Camping Site in Abersoch, Wales

Abersoch, Wales and the Mishap

La Paz Sand Dunes Adventure in Laoag

My Unforgettable Trip in Morocco

Baluarte Zoo and Safari Gallery in Vigan

Go back in time in Vigan

Why I love Pattaya, Thailand

Jeep Safari Adventure in Turkey- Part 2

Jeep Safari Adventure in Fethiye(Water Fighting and more) -Part 1

My First Scuba Diving Experience in Fethiye

Staying at the Garcia Resort and Spa in Oludeniz, Turkey

12 Island Boat Trip in Fethiye

Airport Transfer Service in Turkey that You Can Book Online

The Best Turkish Bath Experience in Hisaronu

Remember to SUBSCRIBE if you liked my content! Hit LIKE and COMMENT for more! ❤️❤️❤️

44
$ 5.53
$ 5.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
$ 0.01 from @Test75785
+ 5
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

Oh My, this looks truly magnificent. Chicken adobo, have you tried it with pineapple? I think I saw it somewhere and they say it's really deklish.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Welcome here in read.cash. I just check your account and saw that your just new. I'm your first subscriber :) Looking forward to hour coming post! Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yes, Thank you so much, and for the upvote too. 🤭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, my father cooks it with pineapple but I just love this original version. Do you like spicy?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I love spicy foods, I eat so much rice with spicy dish, happy tummy hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful article... This is knowledgeable article...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I definitely have to cook this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Excellent work you have here. This meal blew my mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for such a wonderful recipe, why didn't this robot pay off?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Chicken adobo is our specialty po d2 sa Pilipinas po n proudly Pinoy dish po yan n only in the Philippines lng po :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Potatoes is ine of my Most favourite vegetables

$ 0.01
3 years ago

That's good to hear! You can add potatoes in adobo :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great recipe dear.....it look delicious to me....thank you for sharing Chicken Adobo

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you Teji. What's your favourite food there in Slovenia?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My Mom always cooks adobo and it tastes really good!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

That's very good to hear! How do you like it? Spicy?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes,, i like spicy. and you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes. But since Im cooking for my family it has to be just my normal spices. They don't like chili. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oww. good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll make this for lunch tomorrow. In the evening I will put the meat in soy sauce and add garlic ... I will cook tomorrow.I will let you know the result.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Great! Looking forward to your adobo! Do you prefer chicken or pork?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll make a chicken ...... What's better?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly up to you! Whichever you love the most, it will taste delicious anyway. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like to eat chicken but I have never eaten it prepared this way. It seems delicious, and it is not difficult to prepare, I have to try it.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes really easy! Marinating it is the main thing! Try it my dear and see if you like it. Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great dearr i have subcribe you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

looks amazing and delicious!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Crypt! :) Hope you doing wonderful. All good?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you are welcome! good, but too busy...lots of real-world deadlines...is your life less busy...getting back to normal now?

my next article will be important for everyone in the RC community...hopefully out today or tomorrow. it's old news, but many people including me were not aware of it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The teachers didn't send much homework this week so I'm less busy at night. And today going to do the weekly shopping so as long as I have time to get my phone, Im here.

Wow that's interesting. Im getting curious now of what will it be. I appreciate you telling me ahead. I'll watch out for that!

Does Rusty been good to you? He upvoted my post a month ago yesterday. I was so happy!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

glad to hear you have some more time. i'm pretty busy still...rusty was pretty good until i published my last 2 articles...admittedly they were not my normal style/content which may explain the drop in interest from rusty.

so glad to hear some older posts are rewarded now...well deserved!

my new article is out now! =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know this dish, I tried it to our house and my mom loved it. I'm so proud of myself AHHAHAHACHAROT

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. This is one of my favorite foods. I really like the taste most especially if it was cooked by my mother. Though, I like many variations of adobo.

Thanks for sharing this. Nagutom ako. 😄

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you po! We all have our way of doing it and our mother/fathers cooking will never be taste us ours. I tried it many times lol. Cook now lol. Thanks again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The dish is looking so great. I'd like to test it. For that, I have to cook. You explained the process so well. So I can cook it easily

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's totally lit!!! It's looking so delicious. Maybe I'll try tomorrow. Thanks for sharing with us dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I enjoyed it so much, and just looking at it makes me want to have a taste of it. It really looks easy to cook but for me who know nothing about kitchen staff, the result may become poisonous ^_^. But anyway, I should really try that one, or just ask my mom to cook it for me. Thanks for sharing this Chicken Adobo of yours, it's really mouth watering .

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Dear, before I met my husband I know nothing about cooking maybe I get it from my Mum lol. My Dad is the one who cooks for us and he cooks really good! You might start from cooking egg lol. Thank you Salame! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really, we are the same on that. I can cook egg and frying but a complicated dish, I don't know. Once I get married, I will tey to learnbthat too, ^_^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For sure you will! You will be like me watching YouTube tutorial while cooking then if it doesn't taste nice I blame it on the video 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, youtube there's a lot of tutorial too in facebook, andbthey all look very delish.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Adobo is one of my specialty when it comes to cooking. Yung Adobong Tuyo na medyo maanghang anghang hehe

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Wow! Yummy tapos nakakamay ka lang diba! Ay daming kanin nakain ko. Finger licking good! 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Walking around and eating delicious food is the joy of life. I'm glad to see that you also make great food. And I especially like the combination of rice and chicken. And you mention that the main thing you must do is to marinate your chicken. You are right dear definitely In that way, it will be more flavorful. And I always like the marination especially when I cook my chicken rost too.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I didn't know how to cook before. But when we started our family then I know I must learn. I started watching on YouTube and tried inventing my own recipe sometimes it's no good 😂 But one thing my father taught me is that marinating thing. It tastes so much better! I haven't tried making a chicken roast. And I assumed that you love spices/condiments as well! 😄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, I don't like it too much. The food is well made and tasty, even if condiments are very small quantities. By the way, I prefer to eat mostly green and black pepper instead of red pepper. And I love Rice. Like I saw your picture

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love my condiments. Oh I love rice too! And I eat lots of rice.😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oohh me too sweety

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome dish just awesome. Adobo dish is looking so delicious I want to eat it now. Will you not give me? 😋😋 I don't think so, you have a good heart. Please send me Adobo. 😍

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes it is delicious and easy to do Jess. Try to make it next time. Give me your address lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Adobo is my favorite, my mom always cooking it when I'm home

$ 0.01
3 years ago

My Papa always cooks adobo and it tastes really good! Do you like it dry and spicy?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My mouth is watering😛

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. You can try that dish sometimes. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's one of my favorite foods. ❤️ Adobo is very delicious and I won't get tired of its taste. And what's the good thing about this dish swas it won't spoil easily. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Truelala. You can reheat it even the next day and eat it for breakfast with sinangag! Yum yum, I need to get up and eat haha it makes me hungry when I talk about food.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice written article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a coincidence, I'm just done eating adobo,medyo maanghang hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mmmm ... It looks so delicious! A real specialty!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I have to master food haha coz Im good at eating. 😄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The photo looks delicious I am drooling right now 😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, go to your kitchen and start cooking my amorie!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They said that adobo will be tastier when you used the chicken that are raised not in the cage. Is that true?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sarap.. Nakakamss tuloy.. Ibang iba sa adobo style nla dto.. Prang gusto ko magluto sa holiday

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Madam, if I cook this using their light and dark soy sauce, it doesn't taste the same. It really matters for me to use our own soy sauce para lasang pinoy talaga!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agree.. I tried that before too...adobong baboy, hndi same ang lasa using their soy sauce..

And btw, mka madam kna man wagas 😅 it is not my name haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow, the dish looks too appetizing. In addition, the recipe is super easy and has ingredients that are easy to find too. I will try it to see how it fits me. So I'll save your post to look for the recipe the day I try.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Really? Wow, thank you. I am very pleased that you like it! And I'm 100% sure you'll love it, even more, when you cook it yourself. The kids love that too! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really love your recipe, it is easy and relatively inexpensive. In fact I have all the ingredients and these days I make it for my family. Thanks for sharing 🤗😘

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I'm happy you like it! 🤩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This looks very tasty

$ 0.01
3 years ago

It is. You should try it for yourself! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not great in this, but I will try :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didnt know chicken adobo was from the Philippines! I already eat supermarket versions, but now im going to make it for myself!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Really? Do you like the chicken adobo from the supermarket? Then you should try making it! It's very easy and you can cook it in your own liking! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wonderful! I have been trying different cooking styles recently, I will go back to adobo chicken! My grandmother was from the Phillipines, she used to make these stickybuns? with some nuts on top? does that make sense?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I try to google it, Im sorry don't know exactly what it is. And that's a Filipino food too?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh thank you for trying! <3 its okay, it was just a chance to try =P

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Chibugan na.. Favorite ko yung spicy chicken adobo..

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I would love some chili with it as well but the kids will not eat so here you go normalan lang! 😅 Pero sarap nakakamay lang taob kaldero 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pwede siguro gawin mong sweet and spicy adobo yung mild lang ang spicy.. Tiyak patok din yun sa mga bata

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like putting sugar. Do ko talaga gusto. Minsan nagluluto ako ng separate maanghang saken sa kanila hindi.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks yummy

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Nice diamond! Shining shimmering splendid lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🎶 Shine bright like a diamond 💎

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it is lol. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks really so delicious. And reading your description it seems like it's so easy to make. I'll try it at my home. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe with us:)

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Im glad that you like it. And Im 100% positive that you'll going to like it! Thank you. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome dear:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago