My First Scuba Diving Experience in Fethiye

13 98
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Let's start with I can't swim. And I take all the courage in me to try scuba diving for the very first time.

So we were booked in for a full day boat trip in Fethiye with Mermaid Diving Club. We're a family of six and all except for my 4 year old daughter were going for scuba diving. Children 8 years old and above can go diving.

We we're boarded on a double decked boat. It's big enough for all the equipments, divers and non divers who can only simply enjoy swimming, sunbathing and snorkeling. They gave us the assurance for a professional instructor and certified and tested diving equipments.

I was so excited and nervous at the same time. But before that, we enjoyed the sailing in the beautiful coast of Fethiye. The blue green crystal clear water and the island views were stunning!

Then the staff started gathering people around. They separate English speakers from the Turkish so it will be easier to explained what we are about to do.

So we had an English guide with us. She asked first if there were first timers or a professional divers on our group. And she explained everything basically what we were doing aand what we have to do during diving and after.

She taught us hand gestures that we're going to use under the sea because obviously we cannot talk down there. She showed us the equipments that we're going to use and how to use it. Reminded us of do's and don'ts on the boat and on the diving site. I don't think it sink in to my head all the information she said.

Everyone will have two dives at different diving spots. After the first dive we will have our lunch onboard. Since the five of us cannot go all together we went on separate groups. It was my husband's first time to experience it too. But unlike me, he can swim. So we go together.

My son who grew up in the beach in Batangas was so excited. He can swim and dive. Lucky him. So they had the first go.

We are divided to groups and when your group is called you go on to the front so they can give your wetsuit and diving fins. Then the instructor are waiting for you down the water to put on your scuba gear.

First diving site is the Dalyan Bay which is perfect for beginners as they say.

We had a practice session first. Putting the regulator mouthpiece. (No touching of the regulator). Breathing in and out under the water. At first I can't really do it. I can't breathe. I don't think I can do it but Fiona(instructor) insisted for me to try again so I can get used to it and I did. And I'm so proud of myself.

The bad thing was my husband was not comfortable with it as he had breathing difficulties. He did not continue and though I don't want to go on without him he wanted me to try it. So I did.

Fiona guided me to the shallow. She's holding me all along. Guiding me, checking on me, telling me to pinch my nose breathe hard so the pressure won't hurt my ear. You really don't need to be a swimmer to do this. You just have to have a good breathing and if you have panic disorder don't try it. I started off okay. I managed my breathing. I'm enjoying what I'm seeing. It's very clear, I'm so amazed. There's so many beautiful fishes and lovely corals. It was majestic!

But as we go deep (up to 30 metres) I'm loosing my control. I was about to have my picture taken while kneeling on the bottom of the sea when I suddenly look around and overwhelmed with what I see. I can't see the sky although I see the light and I'm so down here. I panicked. Water filled my mouth. I cannot breathe. I suddenly took off my regulator mouthpiece and I started drinking water. I have no air. They're trying to put back the mouthpiece but there's no way I can do it. I hysterically try to tell them I want to go up! I point my hand up! UP! I thought I'm going to die that time.

Lo and behold, I was at the surface of the water. Relieved that death was not for me that day. I was so traumatized I don't want to go back. But surprised! They still insist for me to try. And promised just for me to take photos/ video under the water and after that they will lift me up. And so I did. I don't know how to say no sometimes.

With Fiona

This was it! For my bravery after what just had happened. And look at my son's. Like where the fishes go? Lol

So there you go my first and last scuba diving as I didn't do it again on the second site. I just enjoyed the shallow water and the sun with my daughter just like the other non divers does.

I didn't regret trying out. I'm proud that I did. Maybe it's not just for me.

Have you got any diving experience you won't forget? Tell me in the comment below!

More Turkey adventure on my coming post so subscribe now!

Check out my Recent Articles

Staying at the Garcia Resort and Spa in Oludeniz, Turkey

12 Island Boat Trip in Fethiye

Airport Transfer Service in Turkey that You Can Book Online

The Best Turkish Bath Experience in Hisaronu

How to Apply for Turkey E-Visa Online

Tips on Flying During the Pandemic


Remember to SUBSCRIBE if you liked my content! Hit LIKE and COMMENT for more! ❤️❤️❤️

THANK YOU!

33
$ 4.55
$ 4.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @varda42
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

Wow that was a nice photography of yours hope that i can also do that thing in the near future

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very cool photo reporting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I know, most of the time readers want to see photos rather than a lengthy post. Thank you for liking it. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow incredible 😮very beautiful . @tired_momma you are looking like a angel 🥰 very nice .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @nadim20! The place is really beautiful and very exciting for the first timers! Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah you are right. You are most welcome angel

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow, amazing article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article loveu bro..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Any tipe of work, you have to go though a first experience.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Khob laki

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article loveu bro..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never done diving but is on the bucket list

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Go go go! Where do you want to do scuba if ever?

$ 0.00
3 years ago