Big Buddha Hill in Pattaya, Thailand

59 108
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Travel, Blog, Writing

This Big Buddha is the largest in Pattaya. An enormous 18 metre tall Buddha that is located at the top of Pratumnak Hill. This is between Pattaya and Jomtien beach.

The Big Buddha is the main attraction here in Wat Phra Yai temple which was built in the 1940s. It used to be just a fishing village at that time. It's a beautiful place of worship and you can see many locals paying their respect in this temple.

I've been here a couple of times and the view from the top is stunning. You can have a great view of the city and the beach which is breathtaking. You don't have to pay anything, completely free and you can ask for monks blessing for a small donation.

There's always a crowd of people coming here, locals and Farangs (foreigners). The locals come here often to the temple to pray and other visitors to see the big buddha, the different statues and the temple complex. The statues are big and tall, you will not miss it.

When you come here the first thing you will see is these remarkable staircase adorned with this majestic golden dragon that leads up to the temple. At the top is the Big Buddha.

Look at those details! That seven-headed serpent (myth) is called Naga in Sanskrit.

You cannot go up the temple if you're wearing shorts or sleeveless. It says "Please Dress Modestly" So if you're wearing something short, they will give you dress or something to cover up that you can return after. And it's also free.

Once you're on the top you'll see different Buddhas on different postures. Some sitting, standing or lying down and they represent the days of the week. If you know the day you were born you can light up the incense and pray on that specific statue. And you can also put a donation on the box beside every bhuddas.

Most people are busy taking pictures just like us. This is a big place.

There's also a line of bells with a big stick that if you ring, they said will bring good luck to you. I ring the bell on my first time in here. This time I let Tia ring the bell. I hope you try doing it if you come to visit here one day.

On the other side of the temple, you can also explore the Chinese Shrine complex which is dedicated to Confucius. There's also Guan Yin and Taoist temple. There are lots of walkabouts here, so must be fit. It's enjoyable at the same time. Some are really interesting.

And they have this beautiful part of the complex.

It was a tiring walk but the place is full of religious things and pieces that you will not see in your everyday life. It's worth a visit if ever you're planning to come to Pattaya.

You can hire a van to take you and pick you up in here. Most of the streets in Pattaya offer this service together with other tours around the area.

Thank you for reading.

Check out my other Articles

Scuba Diving for Non-Swimmers, Is it Safe?

Mahee Castle in County Down, Northern Ireland

Tullynakill Church and the Old Graveyard in Comber, Northern Ireland

A Tour Inside the European Highlander

Riad Dar Nawfal at SalΓ©, Morocco

Titanic Belfast

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

Seoul Korea Trip

10 Must-Try Family Friendly Experience in Oludeniz, Turkey

Crumlin Road Gaol

Pagudpud Tour in Ilocos Norte

Old Medina of Rabat, Morocco

Tyn-Y-Mur Caravan and Camping Site in Abersoch, Wales

Abersoch, Wales and the Mishap

La Paz Sand Dunes Adventure in Laoag

My Unforgettable Trip in Morocco

Baluarte Zoo and Safari Gallery in Vigan

Go back in time in Vigan

Why I love Pattaya, Thailand

Jeep Safari Adventure in Turkey- Part 2

Jeep Safari Adventure in Fethiye(Water Fighting and more) -Part 1

My First Scuba Diving Experience in Fethiye

Staying at the Garcia Resort and Spa in Oludeniz, Turkey

12 Island Boat Trip in Fethiye

Airport Transfer Service in Turkey that You Can Book Online

The Best Turkish Bath Experience in Hisaronu

Remember to SUBSCRIBE if you liked my content! Hit LIKE and COMMENT for more! ❀️❀️❀️

31
$ 8.19
$ 7.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @RaemaKhan
$ 0.05 from @GreenOasis
+ 2
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Travel, Blog, Writing

Comments

In fact, I haven't been here much so far, but this time I thought I would go, but covid 19 has become a lot of history

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's divine, I have an incredible desire to visit Thailand

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article and i loved

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing pictures and great and Very nicely Explain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well these photos really look amazing !!! These stairs and at the top of the Buddha... it is so powerful! I'm fascinated!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You wrote a wonderful article, I have never visited your country, it must be very beautiful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm from the Philippines and we're only here for a holiday and we did enjoy Thailand and will still coming back when things get better. Thank you dear for checking out. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow so amaizing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! This place is looking so cool! All of the statue is also awesome. Hope you had a great trip

$ 0.01
3 years ago

That was last year when everything is normal but now Thailand not open for visitors yet. It was a great holiday!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow, it looks like an amazing destination! trying each bell alone would take an hour based on how many were there?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not a typical one but you will enjoy it Cryptowordsmith. Lol, it's not that long won't take you an hour maybe 59 minutes lol. Just kidding. If you're going to take your time to call for lick then it will take time. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It reminds me of the 10,000 buddhas from Jane's article yet there it's just a few. I think the garden cauggr my attention more than the buddhas anf temples though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes Hanzell, love Jane's article about the 10000 Buddhas :) Their garden are really big and it's really beautifu. Thank you dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saww and that fountain they had was a different structure and it looked really refreshing to just relax there all day while drawing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would like to know what these cultures are posting, nice article, don't forget to visit my articles as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow amazing . I want to travel this beautiful place . Very beautiful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you know where Gautum Buddha was born? He was born in our country Nepal. Thailand is also an amazing country to visit. I am also eager to visit Thailand one day. You have visited many countries around the world. Every article you wrote here inspired everyone to read with pleasure. I request you to visit our country where Gautum Buddha was born; it is really a piece of heaven on the earth.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? I didn't know that. I have a dear friend of mine who lives in Kathmandu, but all he shared is about the Mount Everest that I didn't know that time is in Nepal. And he always tells me that is beautiful in there. I would love to visit and hopefully I really will. Thank you for your kind words our.journey.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These statues of animals and Buddha are amazing. Elephant with risen nozzle is so great, and also feng shui symbol for prosperity, health, luck and persistence. Seven headed serpent in mythology you described is awesome. Mixture of everything in one place. I can't describe how joy taking over mine body and mind. I think I touched Nirvana. Thank you for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes we bought an elephant decor from Thailand because it says it's good luck. Some interesting and wonderful things I seen in there. I'm sure you too will enjoy that kind of walk my dear. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would love to. Even living that in our mind will bring as to happiness. And you make us wonderful believers. Thank you for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice location! Are the statues made out of gold ?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you PVMihalache! It is gold-painted but is made of concrete.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Makes more sense than solid gold

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey iam from Bangladesh . I want to travel these beautiful place

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Iam your 225 number subscriber . Your article motivated me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

his is amazing!! I would love to go somewhere like this =) I have heard of the clothing "rule" to dress modestly in certain places like this =) thanks for sharing another adventure of yours!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I know it's their worship temple so it's just right to be proper if you're coming as a visitor or to pray. Thank you Thremos.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know about it just that, this Buddha hill is the world most largest one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank for the post but the post wanted in english.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought it is only found in Singapore

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a coincidence, I'm reading about Buddhism a while ago

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ikaw na talaga sis huhu. Ang sarap mag travel sa ibat Ibang lugar. Sana all Nalang talaga haha.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Throwback lang Bhe at di pa open is Thailand ulit sa mga di safe na bansa. Andaming restriction ngayon kahit saan. Yung booking ko sa museum nacancel din

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi Pa talaga safe mag travel ngayon and yes madami talagang restrictions

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

It's actually a beautiful place and I would love to visit any time soon. I love learning other people's culture

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you @kennieInspires. Hopefully Thailand will be open for tourists like before. And hopefully you can visit one day!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The sights and scenery were very beautiful and good as photography

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They have made so many idols of Buddha So long and Big. This is amazing, as the history of Buddha is very old. One thing I like is that people here can't wear half-clothes because a lot of religion doesn't allow it. As everyone has their own choice but I also like it very much. And it's a good idea to restrict the dress and provide that type of dress they allow.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes, my dear. And we should respect each others culture and religion. They're very nice to provide us with clothes as well. I haven't seen Buddha in the Philippines so when I came here in Thailand I wonder, everywhere I go they have Buddha, big or small. And yes, it's their religion, Buddhism, that explain it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes Ofcourse. You are very good at ethics. Nice of you My Dear, Momma

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And especially cute Tia looks very small hahaha.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha.. Yes that was last year. She don't know what to think that time what she's seeing πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I think so. I love seeing children's reactions in historical places. Good Job small Tia ummaaahhhaaa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I love that kiss sound! πŸ₯° Thank you my dear friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganda..my big buddha dn dto..parang gusto ko ipost pic ko nung pumunta kmi dun 😁😁

$ 0.01
3 years ago

It's always Buddha and picture ng King you'll see in Thailand. Very religious. Sige madam! Gawan mo na ng article, pero pag okay na yang iniinda mo. Okay ka na ba?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nagagamit ko nmn tlga left hand ko. Kaso kpg matagal nakahawak ng phone sumasakit. Kya iniistretch ko lage.. My sakit parn. Sa gabi massage2 ko lng bago matulog

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hot compress mo ng cabbage. Ang hirap kaya magtype ng kaliwa. Kanan nga nakakangalay na e. Ayan, magwrite article ka na. Buddha muna tayo throwback lang muna πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kanan gamit ko. Kaliwa ang masakit. Kaso ang phone hndi minsan makatyoe ng letted na nsa kanan. Hndi maabot ng right thumb ko 🀣🀣 my drafted article na ako for today .post ko later

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang ganda naman jan, gumalankana naman madam, ay kainaman na, sana ginawa no na talaga akong alalay no para naman makasama din ako sa gala 😭.

Ilan pala height mo? Parang ang tangkad no kasi sa picture. Saya saya namana jan 🀩

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Do makatravel throwback na lang muna.

I'm only 5'1, I think it's the sarong nayan that they give to me kaya parang ang tangkad ko. πŸ˜… Sana talaga matangkad ako. Haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehhhhh, mas matangkat kalang sakin ng ganito '1 πŸ˜‚. Okay lang maliit, kayang kaya oa tayong buhatin ng boys pag ganon πŸ€­πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, there's something about women's height that creates an illusion for people din eh. Sometimes, girls look taller than guys but when they're next to each other, mas matangkad pala ang guy. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You look tall in the photos 😍 sana all. Haha. Since it is a religious establishment, I guess you are advised to keep quiet and refrain from doing loud noises?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha madam yung sarong ang nagdala, e kaliit ko lang din naman πŸ˜… No. Not really. Or maybe I not just read it haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How many kids do you have? Only one?

$ 0.00
3 years ago