Tullynakill Church and the Old Graveyard in Comber, County Down

53 320
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Travel, Life, Blog, Story, Writing

Yesterday, since the kids were in school, my husband and I went for a road trip near our town. Off we went to Tullynakill Road when we see this.

We park in the road and walk down to this place that I've never seen before.

"Tullynakill Church" is a State Care Monument and is under the Historic Monument and Archeological Objects in Northern Ireland.

Anyone can come here and explore this place.

Here's the gate to get inside. I thought it's only a graveyard. But this is actually a Church.

This is the Tullynakill Church ruins which are dated as early as 15th and 17th century.

This old church was for two periods. First in late 15th century when it replaced Nendrum Abbey as the parish site. And with its replacement, the burial also transferred in Tullynakil Church. Nendrum was abandoned since then.

In the 17th century, this church was modernized.

The two east windows and the rest including the one left of the door survived incredibly.

This Church and the graveyard is only small. And almost forgotten.

Some of the tombstones you can see.

It says,

Within these walls lie the remains of

Alexander Mc Cartney of Castle Espie and Belfast who departed this life 4th December 1911 aged 72 years

Husband of Anna Rea who departed this life 2nd June 1922 age 76 years and was interred in Dundonald Cemetery.

Here also lieth their children

William Shield - 23rd May 1871 - 19th March 1875 (Nearly 4 years old just)

Agnes - 3rd September 1870 - 21st of November 1883

Elizabeth - 9th April 1883 - 25th March 1861

Robert Alexander - 17th September 1865 - 9th November 1901

This one written,

Erected by Robert Davidson of Glasgow

In loving memory of his father

WM Davidson Lisbarnett who died 30th December 1883 aged 75 years.

His mother

Isabella Johnston who died August 1834

And his Step Mother

Mary Fitchie who died 25th January 1876 also the above

Robert Davidson who died 17th September 1908 aged 73 years also

Jane Walker, wife of above who died 28th November 1912 aged 70 years.

-1807 Robinson Belfast

He erected this for his family and got buried with them after.

Glad they tried to put this on. He's never forgotten.

A.D 1893

This one is barely readable.

And maybe these are the oldest ones in the graveyard. The gravestones stand the test of time. The engraving faded away.

Before we leave, I offered a little prayer for this place and for those who's bodies buried on the ground.

Sometimes when we go to the graveyard to see my Dad in-law I love to read what's written in the gravestone. Some who died young. Some who died on their birth date. Some who died really old. Some who died the same date they were born. Looking for the oldest gravestone.

Some stories a graveyard can tell. For as much as we don't like the idea of death or hate the graveyard, I've been grateful too. I'm grateful that we can visit our love ones when we missed them. Because we do miss them. I do.

Any thoughts regarding this article please comment down below.

Thank you so much.

Check out my other Articles

A Your Inside the European Highlander

Riad Dar Nawfal at SalΓ©, Morocco

Titanic Belfast

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

Seoul Korea Trip

10 Must-Try Family Friendly Experience in Oludeniz, Turkey

Crumlin Road Gaol

Pagudpud Tour in Ilocos Norte

Old Medina of Rabat, Morocco

Tyn-Y-Mur Caravan and Camping Site in Abersoch, Wales

Abersoch, Wales and the Mishap

La Paz Sand Dunes Adventure in Laoag

My Unforgettable Trip in Morocco

Baluarte Zoo and Safari Gallery in Vigan

Go back in time in Vigan

Why I love Pattaya, Thailand

Jeep Safari Adventure in Turkey- Part 2

Jeep Safari Adventure in Fethiye(Water Fighting and more) -Part 1

My First Scuba Diving Experience in Fethiye

Staying at the Garcia Resort and Spa in Oludeniz, Turkey

12 Island Boat Trip in Fethiye

Airport Transfer Service in Turkey that You Can Book Online

The Best Turkish Bath Experience in Hisaronu

Remember to SUBSCRIBE if you liked my content! Hit LIKE and COMMENT for more! ❀️❀️❀️

36
$ 7.22
$ 6.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Raye
$ 0.05 from @Snezana28
+ 7
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Travel, Life, Blog, Story, Writing

Comments

Nice article. I have visited the graveyard many times. It allegedly holds the grave of Daft Eddie, a renowned smuggler from centuries ago. Interesting to note that the mouth of the River Enler, where, until the last 100 years, small boats were able to off load their cargo. It is believed to have been widely used for smuggling. Unfortunately the mouth of the river has become silted up, with deposits being laid down as the river develops into old age just past the meander behind the garage on the boundary of Comber behind the petrol station.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unbelievable. That's how I would like to visit places like this. Congratulations! How do you do that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow I adore you! You are so very blessed you have been into different place. How you do that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very important article dear keep writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish you a nice trip, the Cemetery is a holy place, there are many heroes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Milos! Cheers my dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sa mga ganyang lugar mandin masarap mag muni muni. Yong pag may problema tapos need ng tahimik na lugar, perfect place yan. Yong makikiupo ka sa lapida ng patay tapos sabay sabing "Makikiupo lang po." Haha, naranas no na yon? Yung wala kang makausap pero kung may tagapakinig ka go na, atleast yon di sasagot sayo o kokontra kasi patay na nga.

Kami nga noon ,mga classmate ko nong high school, gabi nagkayayaan haha. Masaya na scary, nanginginig nginig pa ako noon naku pero kasama ang ang barkada ee kaya masaya din, yung thrill naku andun ee.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

a solemn trip...these are important too.

thanks for sharing!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you CryptoWordsmith! Yes a different kind of trip is this. Cheers love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thx for the tip! cheers!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Prang yung sa mga napapanood ko sa movies.. I

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes Jane, and ganda ng cemetery nila dito just like in the movies.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga. Mga nakikita ko sa movies..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Regarding the family of Alexander McCartney and Anne Rea, it seemed like their children die first before them right?

P.S. I really love these virtual tour of yours, one of the reasons why I love books is because it makes me feel like I can go to different places without the hassle of travelling, but I can now do it with my phone alone hehe, thank you for another virtual tour.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes, the parents buried them first which is very sad go know even you don't know them personally.

And thank you so much, I'm glad to know you love books, I admire those who do because I didn't read many books in my life. Thank you for your appreciation and your lovely words thePandaGirl! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah it's really sad because I'm used to seeing children bury their parents and not the other way around 🀧 So this really saddens me.

You're welcome tired momma. Hope to see more of these virtual tours.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A cemetary for a date isn't that bad, kind of reminds me of the addams family XD but they are great spots for picnics if allowed

$ 0.01
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚ I don't have the bravery to have a picnic in here. Lol. Thank you @hanzell! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you christian? Those place are not look like church! They are look like a historical place. So beautiful

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you. I have my God. And it's a church with graveyard that is now under the state care and yes historical monument this one. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Owh I see. You are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We must also visit the graves of our loved ones. They have left the world, but they have not left our hearts. When we visit their graves, it is as if we have entered their new home. As if they were at ease. Some people take flowers and place them near the grave and pray for them. It is the passion of our humanity to always remember the old people and our loved ones.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

So true my dear. Still good to know we can visit them in their resting place. They will be remembered no matter what, deep in our hearts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you are right Dear, And we also remember the place where we have to go one day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such a lovely article dear. I have always been fascinated by really old buildings. amazing that 400 years later you can still see most of the building in decent shape.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you for the tip Raye! I appreciate that! God bless you more. πŸ˜ƒ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, old buildings and ruins I have the same fascination. How it still here after all these years, and the story behind them. And they just look amazing even just their ruins. Some stories behind. Lovely to know. Cheers Raye!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

beautiful pictrue i laso love this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Huhu ang ganda sana nung article kaso bakit kaya di nagloloading sa akin yung ibang images πŸ˜ͺ Ang galing naman, lumang luma na pero nandyan pa din. Parang yung sa mga movies ang itsura 😍

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Siguro dahil I know what the cemetery looks like kaya when I see their graveyard here, I say "wow"! Ang ganda talaga. Pero this one from the 15th century and still incredibly standing here ay tunay na kahanga hanga.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Those place is really nice. It will be much pleasure trip when you will go with your husband! I see! You went with your husband! That's beautiful

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you, so old but the place still well kept but the gravestone itself can tell that it's brave age.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Owh I see, you are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Owh I see. You are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Umm kinda scary places though.. But you write it so nicely. You're amaizing dear. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It has always been a sad feeling for me to be in the cemetery ... May all who have gone to the other world rest in peace ...

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes, I have that feeling too when I enter the gate. I say a little prayer before we leave. Thank you Marija love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome, dear!!! 😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, you really love road tripping huh, that is cool I wish we have a wheels too so that we can road tripping too when we feel like unwinding, but if ever we get the wheels then our next problem we're going to face is the gas 🀦, I don't know I think I will just walk on to the nearest park here.

But those graveyard seems really forgotten look at the paint and word that is written there, almost not readable. What if you went there at night, that will be look like place in The Texas Chainsaw Massacre where the main character was hiding in one of the tomb because the man with a chainsaw in his hands was running after her, oh gosh I love that movie. The man was actually his relative hihi.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha, don't be like that Salame! Good, I just wake up if not I'll be imagining the chainsaw lol. I was once scared of going to the cemetery back home but not now. It's really old but still the council keeping the place tidy. Thank you my dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, sorymry about that, thats the first one tamhat comes in my mind when I saw this ✌️. Really, but why? I mean the only one's residing in the cemetary is dead so I'm sure they will never move to harm you, i'm more afraid to those who are alive not with the dead. The older the better coz it will become a very good setting for some horror movies.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha, no worries I know you're just joking lol.

And yes I know, be scared of the living πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, sorey again I'm chatty right hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha I like chatty person like you and me lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too me too πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting read as always. πŸ‘

So that's what you do when your children are not at home. πŸ˜‰πŸ€—

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hahaha, you got me there Martin! πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You know dark tourism is the highest growing niche of the tourism sector?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Is this what you called dark tourism lol I didn't know that. Some things I learn from you @PVMihalache!

$ 0.00
3 years ago