Mahee Castle in County Down, Northern Ireland

65 189
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Travel, Life, Blog, Experiences, Writing, ...

Hop on! Let's go for a virtual trip! =)

Lovely autumn leaves waving as we head on our way to where I'm going to take you today.

Welcome to Mahee Castle!

Mahee Castle is also known as the Nendrum Castle here in County Down.

This is only a small ruined near the Nendrum Monastery. This was built by Captain Thomas Browne in 1570 and was abandoned in the early 17th century and been neglected after.

In 1923, it was partly renovated by H.C. Lawlor and the Belfast Natural History and Philosophical Society to avoid further damage on the tower house and they also built a buttress wall to support its corner.

Location

Mahee Castle is located in Mahee Island. Mahee Island is near the western shore of Strangford Lough, southeast of our town which is if you read about the Island Hill article where I had a date with my husband that's all part of Strangford Lough.

History

This tower house was built after a petition to the Bishop of Down in 1570 by Captain Thomas Browne. When it was abandoned in the early 17th century, the cornerstone of the castle was taken off and use for building projects and even use to make the causeway to the Island.

It says that during the 15th and 16th centuries, this castle was near the border of Clandeboye and Dufferin. And because of border conflicts, Mahee Castle may have changed hands many times.

Then in 1923, they started this restoration project under the guidance of H.C Lawlor and the Belfast Natural History and Philosophical Society. Part of this restoration was removing of the creeping ivy from its walls, grouting of the cracks with cement, they waterproofed the top as well and built a buttress was to support the tower's northeast corner.

Excavation

During 2001 and 2002, an archaeological excavation was carried out at this Mahee Castle under a sponsored program by the Environment and Heritage Service of Ireland.

They've done a detailed stratigraphic sequencing which revealed that the building was dated to the Late Medieval period with the help of the animal remains and remnants excavated in the castle. It means that the building could have existed before 1570.

Their goal for this excavation was to come up with a restoration program to save this site.

Front of Mahee Castle

Then when you get inside

As you can see, it's dark in here. Supposedly you can go up to the top but they close it. Maybe because we're coming here. 😅

Here's at the backside

And from the side view

It might just be a ruin but this ruin was once a proud building standing majestically in this Mahee Island.

I'm glad that they tried to restore this place and open it to the public to visit. For people like me to appreciate it's history and the now ruins.

I hope you enjoy our virtual trip as much as I did! Comment down below if you appreciate the beauty of this ruin!

Thank you so much for coming.

Information Collected from Google

Check out my other Articles

Tullynakill Church and the Old Graveyard in Comber, Northern Ireland

A Your Inside the European Highlander

Riad Dar Nawfal at Salé, Morocco

Titanic Belfast

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

Seoul Korea Trip

10 Must-Try Family Friendly Experience in Oludeniz, Turkey

Crumlin Road Gaol

Pagudpud Tour in Ilocos Norte

Old Medina of Rabat, Morocco

Tyn-Y-Mur Caravan and Camping Site in Abersoch, Wales

Abersoch, Wales and the Mishap

La Paz Sand Dunes Adventure in Laoag

My Unforgettable Trip in Morocco

Baluarte Zoo and Safari Gallery in Vigan

Go back in time in Vigan

Why I love Pattaya, Thailand

Jeep Safari Adventure in Turkey- Part 2

Jeep Safari Adventure in Fethiye(Water Fighting and more) -Part 1

My First Scuba Diving Experience in Fethiye

Staying at the Garcia Resort and Spa in Oludeniz, Turkey

12 Island Boat Trip in Fethiye

Airport Transfer Service in Turkey that You Can Book Online

The Best Turkish Bath Experience in Hisaronu

Remember to SUBSCRIBE if you liked my content! Hit LIKE and COMMENT for more! ❤️❤️❤️

58
$ 14.99
$ 10.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 4.57 from @RaemaKhan
$ 0.10 from @Raye
+ 1
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Travel, Life, Blog, Experiences, Writing, ...

Comments

The fact that this building has still been here after a long time still amazes me, would be nice ro visit it one day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It would be so nice to go on a vacation. Looks so beautiful and old

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The way you are going is so beautiful you are realizing in a very beautiful way and showing us sharing the bridge We can't go there but you can't write the beautiful secondary scenes. Honestly, thank you very much for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice and good post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg you have travelled here? I wish I can too in the future and Ireland is a very beautiful country ♥️

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes, it is really beautiful here. Which country you live Lewiss? What's your seem destination in there?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Iys a histrionically article... Thank you i tead it properly ... Khub valO lagche onek kichu jante parlam... Apnar article theke

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow thats a cool place to visit.... Can i visit thqt place with you author?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I enjoyed this trip, darling! Your articles are always so relaxing for me! I'm waiting for your next post ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's like the Bantay Bell Tower in Vigan hehe.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I haven't been go Bantay Bell but it looks like one of the cave we went too :) Thank you Yen.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi kapaba nakapag travel sa Vigan? Parang may nakita kasi ako somewhere in Ilocos hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Bhe sa bantay abot cave lang. :) parang ganyan din yung structure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It would have been a even better if the government of northern Ireland has taken a initiative step for the rebuilding efforts into consideration of historical style. Every art and architecture of the building you have shown is really amazing. I love the every view of that ancient building. Thanks for sharing 👍👍

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes they did. They restore this building. And maybe I just love stone house or building. It's really beautiful in my eyes. Thank you @our.journey for a lovely visit here. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i find it amazing the structures can last for so long. in today's age, nothing is designed to last for centuries. great pics...thanks for sharing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like this article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lovely one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And the boss (on your shirt, lol) is back on tour. I love the photos and the architecture is amazing despite not fancy as most castle have, but that was 1570 what to expect on that year right? Wow!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

🙈 I want to tour you around a real big one but it's all close at the minute. Yes 1570 and still here. Some buildings built just a year ago some collapsed already.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The castle was built with stones so must be that sturdy. Buildings nowadays are built on sand mixed with a little cement so its not as strong like this castle...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks a lot like the small ancient castles of the earlier Car kings, although I have never had the opportunity to visit these places, but I really want to see this place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love historic buildings like this. It is amazing what people have created without mechanization

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes! I think they really are smart people those days, no technology just pure genius.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now technology has made us stupid 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We got smartphone but we're not smart enough 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganda. You show us another spot of UK again 😁😁

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Madam, I cannot go far away so road trip muna 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mabuti yan. Hndi mbobores sa house

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh wow, I love the first Picture, it's picturesque very lovely. And about the Mahee Castle, it's a castle but it's so small. And I love the structural design, I'm curious to what the looks upstair.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you, I love the autumn leaves in the road as well. It's just lovely. Yes I can't take coz there's no light coming from it, it's just total darkness. Sorry about that @salame dear! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, that's just sad. It's okay, and thanks for sharing it to us, i enjoyed it so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a beautiful place po n thank u for taking us there virtually po n for being a virtual guide for us there, there's so many beautiful places all around the world n how i wish i was rich or had the money po so i can go to places like this po, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm from Bangladesh. If I got any chance to go Ireland in any time I will go there. Wish me dear. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks like a small cave for me. I love ancient buildings and it feels good to know how old they are and how they are built. but As a kid, I used to hang out with historic buildings because I didn't know what to do. I don't remember the history, so I was angry, why should we remember these buildings forcibly. When my father was trying to teach me about history. But the importance of every old thing has been well understood since I grew up.

$ 5.00
3 years ago

Thank you, yes it looks like a cave as well. I saw one like this in the Philippines when we visit the north and always fascinated with its stones. I really love a stone house.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My dear, I'm sorry I was half-awake trying to comment I hit the wrong upvote amount.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, I still feel bad that I did that. Forgive me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dear that's perfectly fine and it's my fault anyway. I'm sorry to cause you trouble my dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Darling please don't be bothered about it now as I'm feeling same, I'm so ashamed of giving you trouble with my mistakes. It's not your fault, it's the rate changing. That's good enough for me. Please don't worry. And so sorry really. Let's smile and forget about this okay? 😄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's okay now I am feeling cool.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great virtual trip mamma! Hope you had a great time ❤️ those place are looking so beautiful

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you @marielle! Happy to hear that you did have a great time. Do you appreciate the stone tower? Lovely stones right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice virtual trip, waiting for new destinations.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you! Will go beside it :) there's a monastic site you'll see.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Site seeing♥️ those places look really beautiful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice pic jane

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Would be awesome if they could restore that to its previous state one day. It looks like a pretty tall castle. What was the function of that castle before?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Sadly, I can't find anything about the castle what it looks like before. They can only guess because of the age of it. I believe Captain Browne built it for himself to live in there then when it changes hands don't know what happens.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder if they ever archived a blueprint of it somehow because it would be amazing to have it restored to its original look but with that modern twist, of course since they're already working on its restoration anyways

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where is mahee castle located? I mean which country? Looking so beautiful. Vartual trip mean? Don't you go there?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so wonderful my dear tired momma. You showed us another beautiful place from where you live. Seems like you are having a great time balancing your time for taking care of the kids and some me time with your hubby ❣️

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you @thepandagirl! I've seen it many times but didn't get off to the car to have a closer look and glad I did.

Hahaha yes! It's never easy but if the kids not leaving me many things to do for the day or I not need to cook then happy days! I'm on rest and trip mode :)

Cheers my love!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good thing that you really did, because you were able to show us this wonderful place too.

Aaaaw parenting must be really hard 😬 Salute to all momies like you ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your article has everything.. Good, interesting, funny, everything in it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The castle is build so perfectly and is so well structured too and I like the way you wrote about it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing scenery! <3 My wife and I got married in the Republic of Ireland in Corcomroe Abbey! I would go back to Ireland in a heart beat!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Seriously??? That's cool! That's very nice to know, cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, I am amazed by the level of information you know about your destination. Do you research every location before you go there? Or afterwards, when you write the article?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

It was just up the road 😄 I have to research it as well but what I truly want is to see what it looks like before but sadly there's none, nothing on the internet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh wow. So that means if people want to visit that place, they will most likely find your article to learn about it. 😊 Your article will be the number one search result worldwide. 😊👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago