Do You Consider Yourself To Be A Successful Person?

102 167
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

This was the question @fantagira asked in the comment section of my last post which I titled "Discipline" and you can read about it here. She is a smart person and she knows I would write about it. Thanks for the heads up, Mo. You made it easier for me to come up with what to write on today.

Image Source.

Her question is thought-provoking and I love questions like that because it makes you take a pause, ponder and re-evaluate your steps. It makes you remember the things you have abandoned which you shouldn't have and also know how to measure the progress you have made so far.

Success or being successful is relative and we all have different yardsticks to which we can measure what we call success in life. What is success to one might not necessarily be success to another but it doesn't mean we have to reduce what others have achieved through sheer hard work into rubbles. Everyone makes progress, I believe, even if for some it might be slower and for others, it might be faster. When opportunity meets readiness, success is inevitable and this is why we need to always be ready in whatever chosen field we have carved out for ourselves so that we won't be caught unawares when the opportunity comes.

A lot of people want different things in life. For some, having a child means they are successful while for others, getting married is a pinnacle for them. Others might be buying that long-coveted car while for others building that dream house would be the real deal. For others, it might be gaining admission into the University of their choice while for others it might also be graduating from that institution. We can only understand what success means to most if we only understand where they are coming from. For some, they are the first person to gain admission in their family combined while the same might be the case for the person celebrating his or her graduation.

Success shouldn't be a one-off, it's a measurable step as we keep moving in life because the moment we have attained one level, the more we want another target set and that's how life is. Success is a reoccurring process that we have to subject ourselves to as our goals and dreams keep changing after initial accomplishments. This is why we don't have to plateau when we achieve a certain level of success. We have to keep pushing ourselves to attain more. We have to constantly set goals and when we have achieved them, we have to set even greater ones. Yesterday's achievement they say, it's tomorrow's mediocrity. You don't and shouldn't live on past achievements if you truly want to be relevant and be successful.

You can't say because you have gotten the child you wish to have then you won't take care of that child. It doesn't mean you won't send that child to the best of schools for quality education and give that child the necessities of life. You won't say because you have graduated you won't bother looking for jobs or doing something to earn a living. You won't say because you have gained that admission into your preferred University or school, you won't study so that you can graduate. Every success we have attained opens us to push further to achieve more and consolidate that success.

To answer Monika's question, I would say, yes, I am successful and I still want to attain more success. The stage I am presently was what I was praying and working to achieve many years ago; family-wise, financial wise, creativity wise and the lives God has used me to help along the way. My purpose in life has always been infused into helping people along the way in whatever target I hope to achieve. I've had to help a lot of people in relationships, I've had to touch the hearts of a lot of people in words and gestures and that alone, to me, it's a success. I've always wanted to have people thanking God for coming in contact with me while I allow my influence to spread like fragrance.

Just like I said, for everything I have achieved, there is always more to be done. I don't say because I now have a family, I now have people I help or I've gotten what I prayed for many years ago that I won't want to improve, of course, just like everyone else, I want to. It's hard to understand how hard people work when there is not so much to show for it yet but we need to keep at it because when preparation meets opportunity, success is inevitable and I am ready...prepared.

The next target that would make me call myself a success is to write that book... In the last Life's series I did, a lot of people told me I need to put it into books, so as of today, I am working on two books at the same time and it would be a success determinant for me too. The sales of it would be another target to face but one step at a time.

You can read about the Life Series below... In case you missed them:

Life Is About Balance.

Life Is About Living, I.

Life Is About Living, II.

Life Is About Mercy.

Life Is About Teaching.

Life Is About Listening.

Life Is About Helping.

Life Is About Helping, II.

Fix That Attitude: Life Is About Helping, III.

Life Is About Caution.

Life Is About Caution, II.

Life Is About Fun.

Life Is About Love.

Life Is About Sharing.

Life Is About Sacrifice.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

48
$ 9.86
$ 8.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.11 from @Amazing-grace
+ 33
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Having such an amazing family around you, you are already a success

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, mama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved the way you defined success in this article, and I won't say success is a one-time thing because we will always have new goals, and we all want to succeed in them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely...our goals change and we have to succeed in them. Thank you so much for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we measure success in different ways during our life. When I wake up in the morning, I start off by feeling successful that I have been granted another day to enoy life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love your perspective to it... Waking up is indeed another opportunity to enjoy life and do something.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's important we understand that success is a process rather than a destination. If you tie your success to the occurrence of one event, you will soon find that the satisfaction that goes with been successful in such context is temporal

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Very well said, Mhiz. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like how you had mentioned in the reply, success is relative. Well figuratively speaking, I think anyone who had ever had a reason to smile at one time or the other should consider his or her self" successful "or should I just say grateful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely... Being grateful puts you in the right frame of mind to achieve things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It hard to determine whether a person is already a succesful one or not. As it would depend on them, if what was the ceiling or what they want to achieve to consider there self one. Sometimes we might see them as successful like they have everything but deep inside they felt failure. They still desire for something. Now if I ask myself? I could say yes I am in my own way😁😀

$ 0.04
2 years ago

That's so true, my friend... It varies and most people judge it from the outside but only the individual can know.

Absolutely...you are closer than you think as long as you didn't and won't stop, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success connote many things, like you said what is success to one might not be to another, its not until one has the most amount of money before one becomes successful, in a family where no one has every gone to the university and only one person ever made it, that person will be consider as a success in that family. Also, the real success is when one bless the life of others through the things they do

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly... Being a blessing to others count as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope people can see this and do more for others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! For me, success is and will always be one thing: to attain the inexhaustible love of God. When money is the goal, you get satisifed when you have enough money,. By constantly striving to attain a state of oneness with God, He lives in you. He works through you. You become His instrument. You become nothing and everything. ❤ That's always been my goal and I shall me successful by God's grace. And everyone out there.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I absolutely love this... Knowing God is success. With God, nothing fazes you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, to the best of my knowledge, Success is something humans will continue to crave for, humans continue to chase success and even when success come their way, they still don't feel they are successful when they look at others. It can just be related to climbing on a ladder, when you climb and climb and you feel yeah am quite over the ground now that is when you look up and see others a million steps above you and then relatively compared to them you ain't successful. Success is relative, and I haven't seen anyone in this life that isn't hungry for success even the rich, although sometimes it depends on how you choose to define success, whether in terms of money, education, marriage, career to mention a few.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's true, Michael...it depends on how we choose to define success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before seeing your response to fantagira, the answer I had in mind was that success is relative and I don't think it's fixed, it keeps evolving and that's the reason why somebody that's already successful will still strive to attain more. If where you are right now is better than where you were, then yes, you're successful

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Absolute, my brother. Success is measurable and dependent on how we used to be compared to how we are right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know the definition of success depends on how a person think about it. But I agree how you said yes, by giving those positive achievements that you have. I aim for success that it makes me struggle, but then there's no great achievement for easy peasy.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Absolutely...nothing comes easy...we have to keep pushing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being termed successful is definitely relative. Some people may have the whole world and still consider himself/herself unsuccessful, while another will, with just a car in possession

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly, Queen. It's dependent on the individual and the yardstick they use.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also consider myself as a successful person. Well it's not all about profession success but it also about yourself achievements and for being brave to a very tough life we've been through, it also measured and counted as a success. Nice meeting you here see you around in noise.cash and in other platforms 👋💓

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am glad to have you here as well. It delights me. Thank you for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried to kill myself 2 times in past 11 years and I'm still here fighting everyday.. I think I'm a good fighter.. and a bit succesful

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are indeed a fighter and successfully beating life to stay alive. Please, stay strong and alive. There are still many things you can achieve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you and I thank God everyday for being alive and seeing the good in thsi world even it is somthing rarely seen

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a good approach... thankful for life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How can I say dear? Judging my success ratio is impossible to count. But my friend, I know about you. I know your hard works. You are worthy to call yourself as a successful man.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. Deeply appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me? At some certain goals that I set for myself, I can say I am successful. I "also" think that there is no standard measurement for success. People will always look for a way to achieve this and that, and knowing that its a human nature, contentment is not guarantee. We always look for so much more.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's so right, my friend. We are never contented and that's why it is measurable as we go in life...when we attain one, we want more...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To answer the question, yes, I consider myself successful. There are things that I do regret for not doing and opportunities that I missed out but to be able to wake up, show every single day is a success in itself. It doesn't always have to be the goal but it's basically just trying. We all have different resolves and you are correct to say that success is subjective.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I love what you said... It's about trying...being better than we were...daily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, happy to be back on the muse spot Ola 😉Also those books won't write themselves, so get going 😅💙

$ 0.03
2 years ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂 absolutely. I am working on the two at the same time. Creative juices flowing. Thanks a lot, Mo. Love you always.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Love you too 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤️❣️🥰😘😘😘😘😘😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success have different meanings for everyone it is called to achieving the goals we have set in my opinion or get what we deserve. I wish you best of luck to complete your series of life I will soon secure some time to read about it from your blog

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I really appreciate this. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your right idol, being successful is just a matter of personal contentment and appreciating what we jave reach knowing we did everything we can while also enjoying the journey.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Knowing we did everything we can... that's it... That's key... That's what gives us that contentment. Thanks a lot for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your very much welcome, by doing it, for sure their will never be even greater regret at the end when it's all said and done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As they say, "Success is never final". There would be next stages with new challenges to face. Life is unending phase of challenges that we need to face head on and determine which actions lead to success. If we fail, let us remember that failure is not fatal too. We can always move forward and continue.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There is always more to do... absolutely...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have our own definition of success. For me, success can be just being genuinely happy but for some, it's having that higher position in a company. Mine might not involve money but for others it can be. At the end of the day, even if we're successful right now, it doesn't end there. We always look for ways to achieve another kind of success.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It doesn't end there even after we have crossed the initial hurdle...we keep pushing. That's right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The word successful is a broad term. We can be successful in many aspects of our lives. We may be successful physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right... We have to focus on other aspects too. Most people focus on the material possessions which is why they sometimes misjudge others as successful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are never satisfied with what we have. Once we achieve something, we go for another.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's life ...that's humans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For real, there is really no standard measurement for success as it is what anyone makes of it. I might set certain goals and consider myself a success if I achieve 80% of them. Someone else might say they aren't successful until they are worth a certain value, and that is the definition of success to the respective individuals

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Absolutely...it's dependent on the individuals. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A person's success is not measured by what he currently has, success for me is being able to complete all the hopes that have been planned and not also in view of the possessions and objects owned.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely... It shouldn't be based on what people own alone...that's why I spoke about helping others. Thanks a lot for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why it is said that even people that are wealthy always want more, being wealthy doesn't only mean money. We are all wealthy in many ways, just like you said, to some, children might be what they need to be successful while to some, it is taking good care of them or most times it's solely on money. Success don't stop , it grows and the need for it would continue growing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's so true, Balikis. Good to have you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome Mr square 😂😂,your articles does bring some words I'd have kept in so thank you, I'm glad I pressed the subscription button.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha Mr. Square she said hahahaha. Thanks a lot dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well you'd have to pardon that Mr square, many Ola's have come in contact with aren't that Olally🤣🤣 lol.. You are different, unique and calling you Ola with what I have seen won't do judgement to the attitude you possess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣😂😂😂🤣 see how you cajoled me into submission.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I guess all ladies have that inbuilt magic 😁. You are welcome since you didn't thank me for the name given free of charge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmao. I didn't agree to the name but I respect your rights to give it 🤣🤣😂🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well that's something. I'll hold on to that untill you think otherwise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People are successful in different ways, a person that has been able to pass through some certain stages in life like going through university and come out with a good grade that's also part of his/her success story, No one has everything and no one also lacks everything in life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love that. No one lacks everything just as no one has everything in life. That's deep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir for your reply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We tend to view success as a big picture, the final product and in the process we fail to celebrate the little win which form the process. Wonderful piece bro Ola. I love this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, brother. Yes, we focus too much on the big wins...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success depends on each person's perspective. And yes, some might call it a success already but for others, it's not. But as for me, small achievements are a success already and deserve to be recognized and celebrated.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am a huge fan of small achievements too because it's a measurable progress too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesterday's achievement, it's tomorrow's mediocrity. Ohhh, this line really hits me hard haha. I find your words true that we are in a state of success but there are also more to learn from in life. And that how everyone view success depends in the perspective of people.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely. Thank you so much and I am happy to read from you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true that success comes in different form and way. And I consider myself too as a successful person as I am happy right now, and being happy is one of my goal. And youre right too, that there's a lot more we can do.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Happiness...that's important and I love that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For ola, I can't say that I'm successful right cause I'm still in progress but the only thing I can say is that I will be in success soon. Also with you ola you will be successful someday. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I feel successful already and there are more to come. Yes, you will be...just keep doing your part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your so amazing OLa I wish I could be like.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are unique, brother...as we are all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has a different meaning of success. As for me, I consider myself as successful in this level where I am right now. This is also what I prayed a long time ago and now I am aiming again for another goals in life... Success is continuous, as soon as we finish the one that we want, there's still many things to be followed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's lovely. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really want to be successful too. I know I am successful already judging by what I admired and dreamt of in the past and how I have achieved them today, they are success to me and that doesn´t make me stop craving and hunting for more. Success is when you have achieved what you dreamt and prayed for. So also, it doesn´t stop there but we need to keep wishing for more as life moves on.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Very well said, KP. Absolutely spot on. When we have what we once dreamed of and that's success...no doubt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me I believe everyone is successful in their little way because we all can't be the same And no matter how bad it looks we are still better than some so that's why I say we are successful in our little way

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's it...it's all about the perspective...and where we are coming from.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes oooo, i wanna be successful. 😁 Hmmmm! Very true, meaning of success differ from people to people. To some, gaining admission is success, while to another marriage is success. Another person's definition of success can be "having a child". Success really means different things to us all.

Thanks for this article 👍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're highly welcome, Boss.🙇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❣️❣️❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❣️🙇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If am asked this question well I'd say am not there yet but am working towards it. With consistency, hard and smart work, I'll get there

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely, you will. Well done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have different definitions for success, what means a lot to you might not be to me because we have different brought up, experiences, and targets in life.

Looking forward to the book sir, you are indeed a successful man, and the part of pressing forward to achieve more is inevitable.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much, brother. Your words always mean a lot. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago