Helping, II.

33 104
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

I am still on this Life's series and you can catch up with the other posts I've made on this Life's series, for you to fully understand each topic but still, each post is self-explanatory.

Life Is About Balance.

Life Is About Living, I.

Life Is About Living, II.

Life Is About Mercy.

Life Is About Teaching.

Life Is About Listening.

Life Is About Helping.

Today, I would be talking about "Life Is About Helping, II."

... continued...

Image Source.

If most people can think about how they felt when they didn't have a certain thing, it would help them to understand the need to help others in a similar situation. Every little bit helps but most of the time we focus on doing the grand gestures forgetting that it's never about the grand gestures but about acting timely. I don't know about others but there is always this fulfilment in my heart when I helped someone and they tell me it was timely - just when they needed it. That's why I don't delay acting on the prompting in my heart.

I followed one of those promptings many years ago when I was still at Ibadan; Oyo State. I hardly use my phone in Church. I don't like being distracted with chats or other things when service is going on. It's about giving reference to God. On this day, it would have been easier for me to ignore this prompting because it came in the guise of what I don't like doing in Church. I would have stuck to my own idea of how to do things and then miss out on being the answer to someone's prayer.

There was this friend of mine then in Church, her name was Pamela and she was studying for her Masters degree then in Ibadan. I had that nudge to text her and tell her that I would be buying her lunch after service. I was reluctant to bring out my phone and then I thought about waiting till the end of the service. It was a big Church and my mind told me immediately what if I don't see her? I told myself I would call her then. I was dragging it back and forth even though it was still between split seconds all because I didn't want to bring out my phone. I finally did and texted her.

After service, I called her, she picked up and told me she had to quickly go with the Church bus since they would drop her in her lodge. So, I was unable to buy her the lunch but she said something deep to me when she called me after she got to her lodge. She said the time I sent her that text, was the same time she was asking God for a sign to know that God still cares about her. My text was that sign and it was as little as that. A lot of people might not see the big deal in it but for her, it was a big deal and it gave her the courage to move on. I didn't give her money, I didn't buy her lunch, all I did was send her a text and that was the only help she needed at that time. I felt fulfilled.

Image Source.

I feel terrible when I can't help people in the way they wanted to be helped or the way I think it's best to help them. I try to find a way around it, so if I can't do it personally, I would try and reach out to someone I feel can. We need to understand that we are not to live for ourselves alone. We need one another and if someone comes to you for help, that's because they trust you. It's not easy for another person to ask another human for help but when people do, do your bit according to what your heart tells you and if your heart tells you no, please, don't force it. You might not be able to help that person but there would always be many others you can help.

We are channels in this world. We weren't designed to be a container to store things but a pipe to give out from that container. Imagine a storage tank with water-filled and still not letting out, it's a matter of time before the pipes rust. A lot of people hoard so much and wouldn't help others forgetting that a time would come they would also need help and would they be happy if others hold back? There are some things money cannot buy no matter how much we try.

We need to seek for ways we can help others. Some would be bold enough to come to us while some might not have that courage but however, we can, we should because life is tough enough so any way we can help others, we shouldn't shy away from it. We are all here to make life easier for one another even though human nature can be greedy sometimes. The funny thing is, those who have been helped the most seem to be the ones who hold back from helping others and it's really sad.

I would be moving to another series tomorrow, speaking about another aspect of life. I don't want to make this unnecessarily long. I believe we got the message already especially with the amazing comments I received in the first part of this post. You are all amazing and I enjoy your deep understanding of things.

We need one another and we should help one another. People's need vary and we should try and be there for one another because some people would also be there for us. Life is indeed about giving and taking.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

23
$ 7.46
$ 6.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 22
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Sometimes the assistance that leaves the greatest impact are the ones that don't require a lot of money; a simple text, a hug, words. It does make light up inside when I help out and the recipient gets to really smile and it shows that your effort was timely, needed and appreciated. Thanks for this, it had reminded me to genuinely give and help more.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You understood this post so well and I absolutely love this comment too. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, Life is all about giving and taking. Human can't live without human.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we need one another.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is the feeling that makes you help even more..the satisfaction of seeing them smile..like winning a lottery.. It is a gesture coming from the heart..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely...deep from within.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We often forget about the little gestures. We always want to go grand because of one reason or the other. Another thing we should remember is not helping people for the world to see. It doesn't have to be known

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely...we don't need to make a show off of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helping others is what makes us complete amd one of the reasons why we are tagged as intelligent creatures who are different from other forms of lives that only think of "survival of the fittest". Helping others and also other forms of lives is a very important part of humanity "

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Helping others is important and that's so true. If we all do it, we can help a lot and make the world better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

exactly sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thoughts of a great man are always very polite. The great man feels everything around him with good eyesight, prays for the good in every man's life, in the hope that everything will go well. Great people never hurt anyone. So every human being in our society should have great qualities. We need to keep in mind that if someone is harmed, it is better for me not to be harmed. Mobile phones are a thing that can be very harmful In that case, we must remember that the place of prayer is the holy place, where everyone prays to the Creator attentively. And if a voice comes to this person's mind during this prayer, then that person thinks that we should always be aware of it. We must take care not to harm ourselves. I like the symbolic words of your post very instructive. Thank you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I really appreciate your valuable contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are just here to make life easier for everyone . Waiting for the next series of these articles . Helping others is more than we think even though we didn't have a lot to give out . The little we have God will bless . Thanks so much for showing me the way and sir accept my sponsor ship offer

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am happy you enjoyed this. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God loves a cheerful giver. It really feels good that our little help gives a great impact on others. We should also be very careful not to act hypocrite.

And we are all channels, imagine all the rich people helping the needy and not storing everything in the bank, the world will surely be a better place. We can only imagine.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, we must not lord it over others and become hypocrites.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't but when I helped other people it makes me feel so full and glad. Even in a simple way of helping them makes me smile and warms my heart. Even we don't have a lot of money or anything, yet helping others must comes first. Be a heling hand to people who in needs. God always helps us humans so do us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wish a lot of people can understand this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it makes our hearts rejoice when we help even a little to the less fortunate people. even if we are not that rich we can somehow extend our help it can also be considered self-fulfillment it is up to GOD to repay the good deeds we have done. good day my kuya🥰

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is beautiful. Yes, we have to do our best and leave God to reward us. Thanks a lot for this 🥰😍🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helping others give us inner peace. True noble deed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you that with fulfillmemt we gonna feel upon helping others. And it's not about how big nor small the help we extended. It's the thought.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's always about the thoughts behind it. That's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really believe in helping others and I have found out that each time I help out someone sincerely from my heart, God would definitely suffice for a reward for me before Tue week runs out. Thatsore then enough testament that givers never lack ☺

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Absolutely...God always shows up in ways we cannot imagine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helping someone hit differently when they don't expect it from you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's when it's the sweetest... Timely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"We weren't designed to be a container to store things but a pipe to give out from that container" I agree with this line. As the oldies said, we are all gonna die and we can't bring anything to heaven except for our souls. ~Manju

$ 0.04
2 years ago

That's right, my friend. We won't go with anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After all, that's exactly the kind of person you need... Who comes when he's needed... Who never has to be asked...As always well written👌

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago