Mercy.

40 106
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Mercy, Life, Motivation, Nigeria, Blogging, ...

I am still on this Life's series and you can catch up with the other posts I've made on this Life's series, for you to fully understand each topic but still, each post is self-explanatory.

Life Is About Balance.

Life Is About Living, I.

Life Is About Living, II.

Image Source.

Life is about showing mercy and most of the time we want to hold that power over another person without showing them mercy. The first thought that comes to our mind would be "He or she doesn't deserve it" but that's the whole concept about mercy, it's never about what was deserved but about what was given even though it wasn't merited.

The world would be in a better place if we all can learn to show mercy. A lot of people who exploit others and show greediness would stop doing that too if they can learn to show mercy but what's life without diversity? It would be boring if we all understand the concept of mercy and that's what makes mercy even more important since only a few practice it.

We need to show mercy at some point whether we like it or not and it's for the sake of our sanity as well as helping the other person. When we forgive others, it's not necessarily about the other person we showed forgiveness but more about us; for the sake of our peace and character building.

When mercy is in our capacity to give out, we should try never to hold it back. I know there are many things others have done to us that we have chosen to overlook and that's mercy. It pained us, hurt us deep to our marrow and there was that voice in our head telling us to make them pay so we can feel good and let everyone know the kind of power we wield but we don't have to. We should always try, not easy, yes, but try, to make mercy prevail over judgement.

I've had my tailor make a mess of my clothes and even my dry cleaner back when I was in Ibadan. I even told myself I would never patronize them again but still, I did. I just learned how to explain more in-depth and if the design is too technical for my tailor to handle, I would rather use another person and give him something simpler and in the same breath, my dry cleaner... My dry cleaner had delayed my clothes too many times and I promised never to give her any of my clothes again. She would come around, plead and would still pack clothes to give her. I only made sure that I would give her clothes I know won't be needed in 2 weeks - so everyone wins.

Many situations would annoy us and we would want to let that person know that we shouldn't be taken for granted, but really, to what end? Showing mercy makes things easier for both parties involved. Let's not forget that we have also been at the receiving end of someone's mercy whether we like it or not. We could have been dealt with over one slip or the other that we did and yet, they let it slide.

Image Source.

We can't do without showing mercy and when we start having children then we would understand this concept of mercy even more. While growing up, I've seen some children do some despicable things and I would be fuming. I would see the parents talk to them and not spank them and I would be fuming, thinking to myself, I would never accept that. I understand better now while dealing with my baby. No one would have to teach you because children would sometimes test you to your limit as sweet as they can be. Sometimes, life forces us to do the right things and oftentimes we just have to learn it on our own. Mercy is the language we need to speak, forget about those who took it for granted because it's not necessarily about them but you.

I am always happy to share this story of a young man who served in the king's palace. The king wasn't a kind king and would always give out the punishment that was deserving to any offender. This servant stole from the king's treasury and the person who noticed this missing piece had to inform the king because he wouldn't want the king to assume it was him either, knowing how the king can be. Someone who noticed this servant that stole the item informed the king and the offender was locked up by the king in his dungeon.

The mother got wind of what her son did and sought every way to locate the king. She would sit outside the palace hoping to see when the king would come out and on this day, the king decided to take a stroll. This woman ran to the king, held his feet and pleaded for mercy. They almost restrained her but the king asked them to leave her just to know what she truly wanted since all she was saying was "Mercy".

She explained she was the mother of the locked-up servant and the king was more furious questioning how he dare to steal from him and he said "He got what he deserved." With tears soaked face, the mother said, "I am so sorry my king. He is my only child. I am not asking for what he deserved but what he doesn't deserve and that's mercy. If he didn't deserve it, I wouldn't ask for mercy." For the first time, the king was humbled and after a few hours, they let him go but never to work in the palace again.

If we are to go by what people deserved, no one can be deserving. Your friends would hurt and betray you. Those you do the most for would keep their distance from you. A lot would happen and it's never always easy, trust me, I have been there too but when we can, let's learn to show others mercy.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Kindly click here.

28
$ 8.56
$ 7.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 19
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Mercy, Life, Motivation, Nigeria, Blogging, ...

Comments

One thing I am always prepared for in life is showing mercy because I know we are not perfect and there is possiblity that we would get hurt. The truth is when we learn to forgive and show mercy ahead, it would be easier for us to be in peace within ourselves.

God has always shown us mercy which some things we do, we do not deserve being pitied. We should also be lenient to people too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Leniency...that's it. We have offended others too, even God. We should give what we also expect from God and others - mercy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mercy is definitely essential for mankind to coexist, people are bound to hurt us in one way or the other both those we love and even strangers. I'm just imagining a world without mercy where we're all walking around hurt, angry and striving to revenge against one another. What a terrible atmosphere that would be. It does hurt when we are hurt by others and sometimes we take sometime to be angry, sad, heal and recover before we are able to let it go, and forgive. What often helps me when I'm finding it difficult to forgive and let go of wrong doings is that I remind myself of the fact that I too have hurt people, I have hurt God too and I pray for His mercy everyday for my sins and want to be forgiven right? He shows me mercy which is why I'm still on earth today despite my sins. Reminding myself of that does help me show mercy to others too.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love this. If only we can remember that we have also hurt others and seek mercy, we should also be ready to give to others too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said it so right. If we are to walk with what is deserved, no one will be deserving.

If God had looked at the wickedness of man, Christ wouldn't have died. What Christ did was mercy.

When you show mercy, you did not loose anything sincerely. Rather you gained selflessness.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Selflessness... This is amazing. Yes, we gained even more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Showing mercy to people is a trait we as humans must admire and acquire. We should also learn that showing mercy to people should not be based on whether they deserve it or not, it's not that we are that deserving of God's mercy, but he still shows it to us. I am highly impressed with this message. Keep it up. You're going farther than the sky. 👍👍👍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed it and thank you for your valuable contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The world we are living if there will be always a mercy, we can commit the peace. As a human if you have a mercy especially those who are needed you give a reason and hope to the people change their lives.

Mercy gives an impact to the life of people. We must have it. We shouldn't be a hard person to the others. We should helping each other. If there will be a mercy, unity can be build.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mercy is important...it's a trait we all should display.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes my friend that's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right my friend.. Mercy is know merci of people don't deserve it... Nice article...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mercy can change people too inside. not just on the outside but once you grant them mercy they will live with it forever. The almighty God do it so we must also.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

God did it and we must too, I love that. Indeed, it changes us from inside.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mercy is a rare quality of a person only a heart full people would have mercy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

inspiring.. I must say that this is something commendable and noble act. when we give help and compassion to others, we are actually investing in God. because when we give it sincerely and to the right person then you will receive a blessing from God and I believe that will happen. Being a person who has a high social spirit is also in my mind and I always try to do it. do this friend then we will be happy

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mercy is the product of God. We should always show mercy to people even we don't barely know them. Mercy is part of human nature. Even God shows Mercy to us even we have tons of sins he still forgives and shows his mercy so if God can then we should too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

God did it and we should do it too. We have it in us to do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we show mercy God will show mercy to us to . Just look at the story you narrated it takes alot to show mercy . I am not been so online that why I am not very here ♥️♥️♥️✋

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I totally understand, life happens, bro. Just keep being strong.

Yes, it takes a lot to show mercy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can't do without mercy . When we have children we will start to understand the concept of mercy . That the reality . I am a new bie ♥️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good to have you here and your comment is spot on too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should all be a expression of God's mercy and grace. If our lord decides to always punish us for every sin we had committed, then I don't think anyone else would be left in the world.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely, no one would exist.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mercy is a powerful tool, but if not misused. It is often tough to decide whether to bestow mercy or execute punitive action to a wrongdoer.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I totally understand... It's a tough line.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why God always shows mercy to us, even though we disobey him and do things that displeased him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's absolutely right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, not all do-gooders are willing to help someone-they may just sympathize and pass by. There are many kind people, but far fewer who are charitable (willing to act).

$ 0.04
2 years ago

That's right...mercy is in the action not just the wishing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How God good to us because His mercy is sufficient to all of us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

More than sufficient for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our God is a God of Mercy, and as his children we need to show mercy to one another.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As we have received, we must give also. True.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It so touching article, it's good we show mercy to others.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's good for us to show mercy to others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago