Recalling the Forgotten Memories

26 60
Avatar for Gracee
Written by
2 years ago

by Gracee /Saturday/ July 24, 2021

This article was supposedly published yesterday but had no time to finish it so I decided to publish it today instead.

Writing this article to reminisce my childhood memories but at the same time sharing it with you for you to know me more. In addition, this will be my entry to "Getting To Know You More Challenge" which was started by one of my very kind sponsors @bmjc98.


Let's begin! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Here are the memories worth remembering when I was a kid (younger).

from Unsplash.com

  • I hated having short hair ( pixie haircut)

-My mother often told us that when I was a kid my hair looked like a chicken comb because I have a double crown (two whorls in the head). I was too lazy in fixing my hair back then too that was why my mother asked my aunt's mother to cut my hair and make it short like what you see in the picture.

I hated it for I got bullied by my classmates. They always teased me as a lesbian. Fortunately, one of my classmates who was my friend too had the same haircut. haha. so at least I was not alone who was bullied.

from Istockphoto.com
  • I loved playing in the rain

-Who doesn't, right? I think everyone loves this even adults. Soaking and playing in the rain is very fun and nostalgic. It reminds me of the old days when we played on the street and run here and there. But what made it funny was recalling my cousins run fast and went to our aunt's roof gutter and waited for the rain to fall on their head without knowing that there was cat's poop in there and it fell on their heads too. hahaha.

  • I loved putting coconut oil on my hair.

-Our coconut oil at home is usually made every Good Friday. Every time we had it, I always put it on my hair for it made my hair so shiny and smooth. I did not bother with the smell but because of that, I was teased by my classmates. They often said that I smelled like an old woman so, I decided to stop it when I was in Grade 6.

  • I loved removing white hairs from my grannys' heads.

-I loved doing this when I was a kid for I received a reward. They either gave me snacks or money. I also liked counting the white hairs I removed just to enjoy it. :)

  • I hated eggplant and pansit guisado (pansit bihon)

-Whenever we had eggplant on the table I always ignored it. I even skip meals. Fortunately, my mother persuaded me to try the fried eggplant which she dipped in soy sauce with Calamansi (a citrus fruit). I was surprised and realized that it was not bad, since then it became one of my favorite breakfasts with rice.

from pinterest.com (screenshotted)

For the Pansit Guisado, I did not like the vegetables added to it. They made me vomited the first time I ate it but now it is already one of my favorites yet I still hate the green beans.

  • When I was a kid, I had many crushes.

Park Seo

- Yeah, when I was a kid, I easily admired a male who I thought was handsome. hihi. I did not know why but every time I saw handsome kids back then, my eyes were twinkling.

Lee Jung Suk

Honestly, I still have many crushes until now. If you watch k-drama and appreciate those Oppa then you know what I am talking about. :)

**(photos were screenshotted from google)

from Unsplash.com

  • I hated carrying an umbrella with a long handle when going to school.

-I hated it for it was troublesome carrying it going home when the rain already stopped or the sun already set. When I was a kid, I also had a thought that this kind of umbrella is only for old people and carrying one will make me look old and funny but I did not have a choice. It was better to carry it than arriving at school wet.

  • I often went to our ricefield.

-Since my father was a farmer, he often asked us to go with him to carry food, water, and things he needed in plowing our ricefield. But there were times, when I was just the one accompanying him for my other siblings were too lazy to go and very brave to say "NO". In my case, I was too afraid to decline my father for I did not like him to get angry at me. hehe, yet all I was doing there were sitting, playing and watching him plowing the field then give the things he needed. It was fun though. :)

  • We lived in a nipa hut.

-Back then, building a concrete house was quite hard, especially for my parents. My father was a farmer while my mother worked as a kasambahay (maid). After they got married, they built a nipa hut from their little savings where we lived for maybe more or less 10 years but because my mother continued working and my father took care of cows and carabaos, they were able to build a concrete one where we are living now. Thinking of that makes me amazed all the time for they managed to build a concrete house and sent us to school until we finish college.

-that's all.

"Getting To Know You More Challenge" is really fun and at the same time, it helps me recall my forgotten memories that made my childhood fun.

-the end.


***tagging@Jeaneth, @Jane, and @Ruffa to participate in this challenge or game. hehe. I just wanna know more about your childhood days. :)

Sponsors of Gracee
empty
empty
empty
made in CANVA.COM

MY OLD ARTICLES:

Live, Life is Short

A Simple Girl's Birthday Celebration

Grateful for Everything

My Most Embarrassing Moments

Catching Up in the Middle of Black Out

Alcohol Makes You Crazy

Get in Touch Now or Never

A Sacrifice from Parents' Lies

I Like You because..........

A Feeling of Admiration

Things I Know About You

Alone yet Not Lonely

An Inspiring Thought

Live More Worry Less

A Friends Visit

Relieved and Motivated

Puzzled and Shocked

Stay Connected yet Be Careful

A Bothersome Moment

A Feeling of Emptiness

Cheer Up and Be Strong

Interact Connect and Have Fun

Do More and Be Productive

Overflowing Happiness

Worried but not Hopeless

A Miracle from a Nightmare

A Childish yet Fun Game

13
$ 6.33
$ 5.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
+ 5
Sponsors of Gracee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gracee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Same tayo. Gusto ko din yung coconut oil sa hair. Kasi nakaka shine sa buhok. Ang ginagawa ko after, sabon panlaba tapos shampoo. HEHE. Din naliligo din ako sa ulan. NO idea ako sa cat poop. LOL. Pero okay lang yun. Importante nag enjoy ako. HEHE. Salamat sa entry. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sabon panlaba tapos shampoo.

haha. gawain ko din to sis. hehehe. mas mabilis kasi makatanggal ng oil yung sabon panlaba then pag magshashampoo na ang bola . hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like putting coconut oil on my hair too, lalo na pag bagong luto sabay kain sa latik nia habang hinihiwalay yun oil😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha. sarap nung latik sa kakanin. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga itinatakas q yun latik kc lagot aq pang biko pala yun 😂🤣 inubos q na habang kunwari kumukuha ng coconut oil😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayan. pasaway. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaha.. Ngayon eat all you can na q ng latik kc aq na nagluluto ng langis wahhaaha🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yun naman. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sa tag madam. Gawa ako nito. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang kompleto na yung childhood memories niyo ate. Ako kasi, halos traumatic pero meron namang good hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga traumatic din akong naexperience nung bata pero di naalala isama.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate na relate ako sa payong na may mahabang handle. Feelings ko ang old ko na oag ganyan payong ko. Talanng sa Koran kahit lalaki ang mag dala ang cool pa rin. Bat ganon ano 🤧 hahaha.

Anyway, I'll try this one too sis. Masarap balikan ang kabataan natin diba so mag to rereminisce din ako. Tehee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Kaya nga minsan kahit katirik ng araw o umaabon keri lang mabasa at umitim wag lang magdala.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha tunay yan, kaya nga noon grabi ako sa itim ahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was young naman, I did not care about my hair at all. Hahaha! Cut 'em short? Fine. Keep 'em long? Okay. Style it the way you want? Go. Hajahha! Maybe if I had a choice I'd be fine having that little haircut you showed in your article. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. My short haircut way back then was not like what in the picture.haha. And maybe that time I prefer having long hair

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung short hair talaga eh. I super love to have one, kaso kulot ako. Ang panget sakin. 😭🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paunat mo then short hair sis.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko nga sis, kaso natatakot ako na baka di bagay sakin. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe. at least you try sis. no harm naman but kung di ka pa ready to do that it's fine :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes yes. Maybe soon pag confident nako, baka! Sana magawa ko talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo yan. I did nga eh. hehe. kasi nasira buhok ko and since pandemic at andito lang ako bahay I decided to cut it though my sister did. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least nga ngayon nasa bahay lang din, kaya okay lang mag explore. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true kaya try mo na. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll try kpg wala na ko masulat na iba haha. Save ko to ha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sureness sis. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago