Rabat Zoo in Morocco

40 119
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

This is the biggest zoo I've ever been to. If you're visiting Rabat try not to miss this beautiful zoo. I know we're old, we think the zoo is boring but this one is worth your time. You gonna love it and kids will enjoy it.

Rabat Zoo which is also known as the "Temara Zoo" was established in 1973 but opened in 2012. Interestingly, the first enclosure was built for the lions that previously belonged to the royal palace. Not just a normal lion but believed to be descendants from the Barbary lions.

From Salè, we take the grand taxi (white) for 150 Dirhams. Be careful about taking a taxi, ask how much for the fare first. It took us an hour to get there and even the driver had a hard time finding the zoo. It's a bit tricky.

Finally, we reach the zoo. As you can see it's written in French and Arabic. Almost all the signs here are in French or Arabic and NO ENGLISH.

Upon entering, this mighty statue of the lion is here welcoming you. And look at all those palm trees and giant cactuses. Isn't it a lovely start? I'm already amazed! I can hear the song "circle of life" playing in my head.

Nants ingonyama bagithi baba!

Just go straight and you'll see the reception to pay the Entrance Fee. For just 50 Dirhams which is very cheap, you got a good value for your money.

Adult - 50 Dirhams

Children (3-12) - 30 Dirhams

FREE - 3 years and below


The zoo is open all year round, every day from 10:00 am - 6:30 pm from April to September and from 10:00 am - 4:30 pm from October to March. When you get your ticket, you can now get inside.

There's a fountain, souvenir shops, restaurants at the vicinity.

If the outside is already plausible the inside is standing ovation. This manmade structure looks amazingly beautiful. It looks very natural as if it was a real mountain right before my eyes.

I wished I had a proper camera to justify how beautiful this zoo is. But sorry to say I'm just using an ordinary camera phone so forgive me if it's not of good quality.

The Zoo is divided into 5 Biozones. So we have animals from the Atlas Mountain, Savannah, Desert, Wetlands and Tropical Forest.

The enclosures are like their natural habitat and so it's very spacious and clean. They built a viewing path for the visitors and so you can enjoy watching them some can be close but most are quite far especially the animals in the desert so I try to zoom in some pictures and because we stayed till late and starting to get dark when the sundown the animals can't be seen clearly. Sorry about that.

Mountain

Rabat Zoo tried to make this simulation of the Atlas ecosystem. It's a 14 meters high hills and rocky outcrops that are brilliantly made. Look how gorgeous those rock formations are! And there are flocks of pigeons flying around. Lovely!

Mouflon Manchettes / Barbary Shee

The Family of Macacs

The Atlas Lion

I hate to tell you but I didn't see the Lion. I don't know why but maybe at that time, the lion, giraffe, elephant, hippo are having a meeting or general assembly lol 😂.

So let me just show you what exact lion in here. This is from Wikipedia.

Oh well, this lioness will do! 😆

The Savannah

The Savannah ecosystem is simulated by lowland landscapes surrounded by savannah vegetation. Some of the animals here are elephants, giraffe, vulture, zebra and many more.

Griffon Vulture

Grants Zebra

The Desert

The Desert ecosystem is presented in the form of sandy and rocky landscapes. Some animals here are the ostrich, addax, fennecs and more.

The Ostrich and addax

Dama Gazelle

Fennecs

Wetlands

The Wetlands ecosystem is represented in the form of landscapes of plains surrounded by forests. It was perfectly made. This was my first time to see the pink flamingoes. Look out for the ducks on a date and one that is enjoying the view.

I was lucky enough to witness and gaze upon this beautiful sunset at the zoo.

These kids love to watch the crocodiles. They were so amazed at the crocs and their innocent face is fun to watch when the crocodiles open it's mouth wide. Whoah!

Tropical Forest

There's a walking circuit in the tropical forest reproducing all the sounds and smells of the forest. In here you'll see lemurs, many species of birds in a large aviary and many more.

Lemurs

Aviary of Birds

Macaw

Listen to the birds

Educational Farm

In here you can have a close encounter with farm animals. Animals like shetland ponies, goat, chickens, sheep and many others.

You know every trip has to have a food trip. We were hungry after a long walk. 3 hours isn't enough to walk the entire zoo and to check out the animals.

We eat at Kono Pizza. There are other restaurants and stalls in the zoo to choose from. The Crepes, Pizza and Carbonara are deliciously good! The price is doubled but understandable.

And the highlight of my visit is my selfie with blue Rio! I think it likes me.😄


I used to think all the zoo are just the same. They have animals on it. But only this zoo made this extra special by imitating their natural habitat so beautifully it looks so real.

I hope you had a great day with me! :)

Thank you so much! ❤❤❤

Check out my other Travel Articles

Pagudpud Tour in Ilocos Norte

Old Medina of Rabat, Morocco

Tyn-Y-Mur Caravan and Camping Site in Abersoch, Wales

Abersoch, Wales and the Mishap

La Paz Sand Dunes Adventure in Laoag

My Unforgettable Trip in Morocco

Baluarte Zoo and Safari Gallery in Vigan

Go back in time in Vigan

Why I love Pattaya, Thailand

Jeep Safari Adventure in Turkey- Part 2

Jeep Safari Adventure in Fethiye(Water Fighting and more) -Part 1

My First Scuba Diving Experience in Fethiye

Staying at the Garcia Resort and Spa in Oludeniz, Turkey

12 Island Boat Trip in Fethiye

Airport Transfer Service in Turkey that You Can Book Online

The Best Turkish Bath Experience in Hisaronu

Remember to SUBSCRIBE if you liked my content! Hit LIKE and COMMENT for more! ❤️❤️❤️

And to my lovely sponsors thank you so much!

P.S.

I created a travel community named "Travel Around the World" if you have any travel post please feel free to use this community so we can all share our travel experiences. Thank you!

17
$ 4.98
$ 4.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @aminul
$ 0.05 from @AliSiddiqui
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

The zoos here probably can't compare to that zoo. Here they're literally just caged animals with small makeshift beds of straw, hay, or whatever it is then filthy waterholes and feeding areas

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is the best zoo I've ever been and it's really big, massive!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How big was it??? Though judging from the mountains and the wild life like enclosure, maybe it's as big as Disneyland?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

woww you had wonderful time in Marocco....photos are awesome dear.....thank you for your great article.....in dreams i am travelling with you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Teji. Same here! If I read some travel post I close my eyes and dream of it 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is wonderful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i am very surprise how large is this zoo very fascinating, there need a lot of hard work on daily bases to manage normal live in it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They must have a good large amount of funds in this zoo because it cost a fortune to keep everything and feeding them all. And in this pandemic time, social distancing will not be an issue.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes, right, funds and love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

finally...rusty came by!

yes, it's nice to see they tried to replicate the animal's natural habitat. that zoo looks huge!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was smiling when I woke up and saw Rusty lol.. 😄 It's massive! Very nice. Thank you dear, cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i like this ,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All this looks fantastic in the pictures. I doubt I will ever have a chance to see this live, but thanks for your wonderful article that took me to this beautiful place for a few minutes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! It's a beautiful place. What not in it! Mountain, trees, ponds, just wow! Now authority needs to include in this park a sea beach😆 Very good article. That’s why our robot already find you. Thanks for sharing it with us. Have a safe trip in future

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know now where we are going in the future if we have to pay £80-200 each time we leave to get a test before flying. That cost a lot of money for a family. But hopefully, they can get it sorted. And thank you for your lovely comment. Appreciate it dear!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This zoo is looking wonderful..i would like to visit here one day. Zoo is the place where you can show some sympathy on animals and others. I think everyone should visit zoo per a week

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're very kind person then. If it's near that would be great at least once a month would be great to go with family. You can see animals and learn something new. Thank you dear for your nice words. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow you covered it so good.. That's awesome . I'm eagerly waiting for your next blast

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to go there 😍its so heart touching place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's huge inside and it's fascinating to walk about and meet the animals Jisan dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This zoo is really beautiful. You present in a very beautiful way. Thank you so much for that. You have given beautiful details and you have shown your photography skills. I think you are a good photographer. I also love to travel. But for this Corona epidemic it is no longer possible. Hopefully this situation will be resolved soon and we will be able to go back to normal life as before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here, looking forward to get back to normal. Thank you Aminul for your nice words. Love to hear that you also love to travel. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A huge zoo indeed that offers a perfect habitat for these animals.. The mountains are awesome!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes the mountains are perfect Lyca! It's very good of them to plan this out this way trying to imitate their natural environment. Thank you live 😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You did your best to show and describe this Zoo! Congratulations! By the way, I would love to visit this Zoo!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you as always my dear. I hope one day we can all go back to travel and just go wherever we want to go! Wish you can visit this zoo in the future. ,:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great photos, and another great story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Thirty Nine! Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A beautiful natural blessing 😍😍 and weather were also charming 😍😍 to visit such an eye-catching place. You are an awesome blogger with outstanding photographic skills. Your captured pictures make my eyes and mind refreshed. Again thank you so much dear Momma ❤️ ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the tip! That's very nice of you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Ali for your lovely comment. I appreciate it. But Im sorry I have no photographic skills, if my sister read that she will laugh really hard as Im very bad in taking pictures. But I know what you mean, I think if the subject on your photo is already a masterpiece just take a picture and you will already capture it's beauty. It's indeed a lovely place anyway. It's cold in there. Do you like winter season?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes sure, I love to see the natural beauty and visit such places, especially in winter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good for you. As I can't stand the cold. I can feel the cold right through my bones. 😅 Nice to know that you love to travel. Very good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago