First time being in the driver's seat

17 55
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

I grew up in a not so wealthy family. This means that more of our focus was on making money and spending it on things.

My father was the only one who knows how to drive. My mother knows how to drive too but she does not have a license.

Back in high school, as we near the legal age, many of my wealthy batchmates were starting to learn how to drive. But me and a lot of others were not thinking about it.

At first, it was because I have my father who already knows how to drive. He always pick me up and take me to the places I want to go so I do not have to worry much about commute.

Then, I have my partner who also knows how to drive, and he also picks me up and take me home on dates. So we only commuted together back when we were first starting to go on dates.

Basically, I had no reason to need to study driving. Up until now, when I started to see engineering job listings that include either- male preferred, or someone who can drive preferred.

Obviously, I am not a male so I can not do anything about that preference. But for the someone who can drive part, I can do something about that.

Earlier than planned

I was planning to work on getting my driver's license after graduation together with my bestfriend.

But then during this vacation, my father told me he will pay for the driving school. So I did not hesitate, I just agreed to go.

I did not even manage to mention it to my bestfriend. She has been busy and there was not a lot of times we could talk.

First session

The Practical Driving Course at BTS Driving School was divided into 2 sessions that are 4 hours long.

The first session will be for basic maneuvers. While the second day will include going out on the road.

My first session is scheduled on August 3, 1-5PM. While my second session is on August 5, 8AM-12PM.

This is a selfie as I wait inside the driving school for my driving instructor. I am learning how to drive a sedan manual transmission.

This is me in the passenger seat as the driving instructor drives us to a place where we can practice driving.

I was pretty nervius since I get dizzy and puked sometimes when I am in a moving vehicle HAHA. I was worried that I would still get dizzy even if I am the one in the passenger seat.

This is a picture I took when we were taking a break.

At this point, I had already managed to drive the car around the block. I knew how to find the biting point, release, biting point with gas, and reverse.

We took a break since I was getting nervous and my feet was aching from driving.

This is a picture I took inside the car when the driving instructor left me to talk with the other intrsutor in the area.

As you can see it is not moving since I can not drive without supervision.

After the break, I learned hanging. It means that we were on a inclined slope and I had to learn how to control the biting point to stay in place or to move slowly up the slope.

It was a bit difficult to do since I was so focused on what I could hit in front of me. But in the end, I was able to learn how to do it.

This is a selfie I took as I wait outside the driving school for my father to pick me up.

I was very tired, and I was sweating from driving. But I felt happy with what I learned.

Closing words

I am nervous for the next session but I also feel excited to drive on the main road instead of just driving in a secondary road.

My instructor said that I will get more confident after driving in the main road and I really hope it works.

The session ended with my instructor telling me to trust him next time since he will not let us crash into anything. He also reminded me to think about the lessons I learned, and to always be alert on the road when I am at the driver's seat.

I hope that I can do well in my next and (hopefully) last session. I also hooe I don't hit the gutter again HAHA because if I do that in the LTO exam then that is an automatic fail and I do not want that.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

July 2022 Articles Summary

June 2022 Articles Summary

May 2022 Articles Summary

April 2022 Articles Summary

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

14
$ 3.20
$ 3.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @Khairro
+ 4
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

Hahahaha I can understand how nervous you must be but with time you will get used to it. Glad it went well and you look good still...in the mask...your skin pops 🥰🥰🥰.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Ako din sis gusto ko matuto mag drive pero nerbyosa talaga ako. 😁 Pero gusto ko parin matuto. Ngayon ko lang nakita face mo sis sa tinagal tagal. Pretty ka pala. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Swertehin po sana kayo sa driving instructor niyo. Sana mabait HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I will also like to learn driving too cos I will be getting my ride soon 😅😅😅, just joking. But it will make sense if I learn it now should in case of the need arising at any time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, learning how to drive is a great skill to have. Honestly, a part of me wants to drive in case there would be a zombie apocalypse HAHAHA my imagination runs wild.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I were in your position I will be very nervous for sure. I didn't plan to learn how to drive. It is good you have that kind of opportunity sissy. Please update us!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless Zehra. It's so easy peasy for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw nagutter! How much ang padriving school mo sis? Advice ko apply ka kaagad after mo matapos ang lessons para fresh pa. Ako 2 months na di pa ko nakaapply ng. Lisensyaaaaaa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

P3500 po ung driving school ko, pdc and free tdc na. Tatry ko rin po mag apply agad ng license kapag nag 1 month and 1 day na ung student permit ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning to drive a car was one funny experience I still laugh over till date. I watched some videos online, I felt I was good to go. Took our car and hit the road. The experience wasn't funny at all. I was driving and stopping, other drivers honk their horns and I was shaking in the driver's seat. I had to call my elder brother, to come take me home. Some months later I enrolled in a driving school. Just be focused, you will drive as a pro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did the same thing as you! I also watched youtube videos and I thought it will be okay but it is a lot different when I was in the driver's seat HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sister, it is a different ball game when you are in the driver's seat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kunti nalang sis maging professional driver kana

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Matatagalan pa po HAHA skill kasi ang dtiving at need talaga ng maraming practice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats sis. I also dream of learning how to drive a car someday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you'll be able to find a time for it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In the future I guess but not now. Even if I had time I don't have the luxury to pay for it. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago