Why Am I Not Talking Back?

55 73
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

If you can still remember the article I wrote days ago, it is about the things I heard from someone I'd never forget. There are moments in our life when we experience receiving harsh and hurtful words from someone. Also, it is customary to get scolded by our parents too. My parents are not disciplinarian and strict. They did not let us experience getting beaten by them. I am glad we grew up with so much respect towards our parents, even if they did not discipline us through bruises and scratches.

On the contrary, my father talks so much when scolding us compared to my mother. We also understood that side of him because he would calm down after a few minutes of talking. But there is one thing that I am proud of about myself and my two brothers. We never talked back to our parents. I did not hear my older brothers disrespect my parents, even if they spoke too much sometimes. If my older siblings don't talk back, who am I to do it?

Let me share why I am not and will never talk back to my parents.

I have so much respect for them.

We, children, should respect our parents. And I am living with that testament until now. I have so much respect for them that I cannot imagine myself speaking back disrespectfully to them. I remember when my father got drunk one night and told his friends how he raised us with no violence, yet we had so much respect for him. He even mentioned that we bow our heads and listen to him when he is scolding us. And he is right. That's what we do when we hear him getting mad.

Also, he added that even at this age, we never talked back to him. But if there's one thing he's so proud of, it's because even if my two brothers are taller and more significant than him, they are still afraid of him. I cannot relate when people my age start sharing their experiences of getting hit by a hanger or wood because I did not have the same experience during my childhood. And I think parents have different ways of how disciplining their children. I admit that there are moments when they say hurtful words, and I feel like it's too much, but I still keep my mouth shut and learn from them.

I'm not too fond of the idea of talking back to parents.

It is a turn-off for me when I hear someone talk back to their parents disrespectfully, significantly when they raise their voice. I remember when I did not let a man court me because I heard how he talked towards his mother. You cannot blame me. Because if he cannot respect his mother, how could he respect mine?

My partner used to talk back to her mother too, but not in a disrespectful way. Then, I asked him if he kept doing that. I could not trust and believe that he could respect my mother. One day, I received a message from his mom, telling me that he does not reason out often anymore. I wouldn't say I like talking back to my parents, but I know it depends on the situation.

Before you comment on something contradicting to my views, I know that not everyone has the same relationship with their parents. Sometimes it depends on the situation too, and not everyone can control their emotions. I know, and I understand. Just know this is a personal blog based on my experiences and perspective. I do not have any intention to offend people. Thank you!


Want To Connect With Me?

Article # : <284>
Category  : <Personal Blogs>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>
Posting Date : <July 4 2022>

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

23
$ 3.49
$ 3.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 13
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

That is right, look for a man who respect his mother, talking back to them rudely everytime they being scolded is showing their impatient side.

It's fine to reason out if it's done politely, walang masamang sumagot sa maayos na paraan lalo at tama naman pero yong makita mong disrespect sa mother e gagawin din sayo kinalaunan, wag na lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Talking back to my people is not in me especially my parents, our culture teaches us to respect our elders

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a great learning!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It depends on the parents. When I have parents such good as yours, I wouldn't dare to talk back to them, too. Our parents are different, they exactly opposite to yours. I can respect but I can never have respect for my father. I shouldn't feel that way but from what he always treats us, I can't help it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is okay. I understand you, like what I mentioned above. Hindi naman lahat magkakapareho ng sitwasyon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here. As a sign of my respect for them, I confront them in a good manner

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a good way to explain our side, diba. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even me, I don't want to talkback to my parents when they scolding me. It's a sign of respect for me and don't want them to be hurt. However,it's okay to talkback but make sure in a polite way and you won't disrespect them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama. Pwede naman mag-reason out basta hindi bastos yung way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True laging may pag galang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka dyan!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My parents are separated and i grew up with our grandparents and talking back to them is a no no! Not just because they are elders but because we respect them and knew it all along that they are right and just want the best for us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh my! I wouldn't dare to talk back to my grandparents too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do talk back pero in a respectful manner pa rin. May times kasi na mali sila at alam naman nila yon pero may times na di nilamarerealize ung mali not until may mag salita. As the eldest, para rin akong nagaalaga ng parents ko. Ayokong sa iba eh mapapahiya rin sila. I think it is a matter of how we talk back to them, I never do that na pasigaw. dapat malambing para they know that youre sincere

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I explain my side after. Pero habang nagagalit sila, we don't talk back. But we do our best na i-explain yung side namin ng kalmado after. Kumbaga, pag-uusapan namin kapag hindi na sila galit. Ang kagandahan lang kasi sa parents ko, kapag nalaman nila na mali sila, hindi na nila uulitin yung ganung bagay ulit. Kaya ngayong matatanda na kami, hindi na kami napapagalitan kasi alam na namin kung saan kami lulugar. It's okay to reason out, but like what you said, sana hindi in a way na magrraise ng tono ganun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The right thing to do is not to talk back to them yes, especially when the upbringing they give is right. That said sometimes we have to talk back to them not because you disrespect them or anything, but because what they are doing at the moment is wrong and no way they would know that if you don't speak up, just cause they are older and sometimes wiser doesn't mean they can't be corrected. So it isn't about disrespect sometimes but about setting the record straight.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think the right term for that is "reason out." I understand where you are coming from. But my point is, kids can reason out or talk back without raising their voice and disrespecting their parents. I, too, tell my side after getting reprimanded, when my parents are calm already. But I do not raise my voice or talk to them disrespectfully when I explain my side. It's so different from how I picture out kids who also raise their tone to their parents, just to prove they're on the right side.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh "reason out" thats cool, thanks.... Yeah I completely get you, and you're right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks 🤎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I also know that deep inside, I'm not really a pushover. But since my parents have the mindset that they are always right, I have to keep quiet so as not to get into arguments with them. By the way, I'm new here.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hello there. Glad to see you here & I hope to see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I salute you sis. Well, I am guilty with talking back to my parents and it ain't good. Sometimes, I just can't stop myself because of my emotions but later on I would regret what I've spilled out. I don't promote talking back to parents, not at all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed. I don't want regrets kasi, na mapasama ko loob ng parents ko lalo si Mama. Lahat kaming magkakapatid, we make sure na gentle kami sa Mama namin, lalo't sobrang bait hay. Anyway, iba-iba talaga yung paghandle natin ng emotions. May mga tao talaga na cannot hold back, and it's fine as long as nagiguilty ka naman after doing it. It means, you didn't mean it naman. Nadala ka lang din ng emosyon mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here Cherry, I also do not like to talk back to my parents. Even though sometimes I know I am right but since they have the mindset that they're always correct, I have to shut up to avoid intense arguments.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama. Ako naman, nagsasabi ako ng side ko kapag tapos na silang magalit. Kasi mas maiintindihan na nila yon. Kapag sasagot pa kasi habang pinapagalitan, walang mangyayari. Mas tatagal pa yung diskusyon, and worst, magkakasamaan pa ng loob. Diba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww nakakahiya naman, huehue. Ako kasi Palasagot ee lalo na kapag sa mali na din naman sila aigooo. Pero tama yang sa inyo, kapag ganyan kasi maayos talagang napalaki ng magulang. Respect to your parents 💪🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

May mga ganun din naman ate. Siguro iba lang talaga kasi yung way ng paghandle sa amin nila Mama.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will be honest, I am talking back to anyone. But of course the fact that I knew I am on the right side, not everytime I shall be silent. Well, that's one of my negatives.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako naman, depende sa sitwasyon yung pag-talk back ko tao. Pero sa parents, nagpapaliwanag ako ng side ko after ako mapagalitan. Para mas kalmado na sila at maintindihan nila, unlike kapag sasabay ako habang galit sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In Filipino tradition, talking back to our parents means disrespect, it's always good to always listen to them, despite of. We are to love them because they have done so much as we grow older, and it's good that you learned and realized it already, some children don't.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako naman ate, nagpapaliwanag ako ng side ko after ko mapagalitan. Hindi yung sasabay ako at magtataas ng boses sa magulang ko. I will tell my side after, para mas maintindihan nila. And once mali sila, they will feel guilty and not do the same thing again. Ganun yung way namin dito sa bahay ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bilang magulang, gusto ko din na magpaliwanag ang anak ko.Tama, wag sumabay kapag nagsalita ang magulang, mas maigi na makinig muna, at magpawalinag pagkatapos. Sa amin din, ayaw ng papa ko na sa sabay kami magsalita sa kanya, galit na galit sya pzg ganyan kami.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ate. Mas nagagalit sila kapag sasabay pa eh. Meron time na masasakit nasabi ng Papa ko, pero nag-explain ako noong tapos na sya magalit. Noong narealize nya na sobra naman sya, hindi na naulit yung ganun nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also can't talk back at them but sometimes I do when they are totally wrong cos I can't accept the fact that they are wrong and I won't say anything. I respect them a lot and I will never do that in the public but in our closest.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

At least, you do it privately. There are moments when we talk about the problem calmly, and that's when I reason out. But, I make sure not to sound disrespecting them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also can't stand talking rudely to my parents and I always cringe whenever I come across someone talking back to their parents, especially their mom. Some even go as far as fighting their mother, I feel like smacking the hell out of the person whenever I see something like that but I hold myself back 😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We are the same. I try my best to hold back. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really like the way your parent trained you and your brothers and most especially I like that you and your brothers don't talk back to your parent and it's a very good deeds. Most parents have their own different ways of training their children and your parents ways is also one of the best way.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is the reason why I also want to raise my future children the way my parents did to us. 🤎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every parent have their own way of being up a child, and it's always good to bring up a child with love, and when the child grow up, he will never do anything to hurt that parents... I don't support it when it when s child brought up in a tough way.. when that kind of child should grow up, they will always think that everything should be handled in a tough way... and such a child might will even have the tendency of talking back to their parents when they grow up.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much for the great points Maryjacy. 🤎 It was such a good message about this matter. Parents have different ways in molding their children, indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister our parents are our all Assets. They grew us by shedding each drop of blood and making us more energetic and beautiful. I pay homage to your parents who brought up you with lots of love sister.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much for pointing it out. My parents are my motivation and they are my asset. 🤎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parents like yours are very few, you and your siblings are the kind of children some parents hope to have from what I have read, my uncle (father's brother) didn't discipline his children when they were young, though so many times they misbehave over and over again, well for my father, he hanged his wire on the wall close to his bed back then we were young, maybe he might be thinking that because he disciplines us a lot of that's why we always behave, but that wasn't it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree that it still depends on the parents. Some are disciplinarian, and some are not. Maybe it's up to the kids on how they cope up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the fact that you don't talk back to your parents. It shows that you respect them. There are lots of times that I'll be very angry but I still wouldn't talk back at them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can relate to you. Sometimes my anger is already hitting me, yet still choose to keep my mouth shut and not talk back to them disrespectfully. I salute you for doing the same thing. 🤎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have my past mistakes because I was the opposite of what you do. Though I respect my parents but there are times I just want to talk back so they could understand me too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And I can understand you. Some people would do the same thing to be heard and understood. 🤎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sincerely speaking I think good parenting should be that way, because subjecting your child to physical abuse, with time, he gets used to it and the respect will be gone.

I totally applaud you and your siblings for the respect accorded to your parent

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much, Wrinkle. Especially on appreciating the respect we have for our parents. You are right, children will not forget the physical abuse and once they are tormented by the trauma of violence, the respect will be gone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! I have high respect for people who do this. If you don't respect your parents, how will outsiders do so.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the reason why I am doing this. 🤎

$ 0.00
1 year ago