Things Someone Told Me That I'd Never Forget

32 66
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

We live in a world where everybody has a say in whatever we do. People will give their opinion and view on things and your decisions. And admit it or not, they do these things even if you do not want them to interfere in your life. They can affect us at some point.

Sadly, some people lose it because of the impact of words they hear from other people. In my experience, I heard so many harsh words from others. In this piece, let me share the worst and hurtful things someone told me I would never forget and always remember for the rest of my life.

"You will get pregnant at a young age."

I had my first boyfriend at a young age, and I am guilty as charged. By doing it, all I received were discouraging words, especially from my relatives. And I will never forget when they said I would get pregnant at a young age. I did not talk back. They did not hear me fight back and complain. All I did was prove them wrong. And look at me now, in my 20s yet still not getting pregnant. The funny thing is, it's their children who got pregnant early. It is not that I am laughing at them now, but I hope they learned their lesson.

Do not blabber things when you are not so sure it'll happen. And do not wish consequences to someone if you do not know what they are capable of doing. Even if I had my first boyfriend at a young age, I knew what I was doing. But they judged me quickly. Remembering it now, I still smile at them genuinely. And it is also my way of showing them that I am still enjoying my life.

"She is so near to getting married."

Since I am already in my 20s, I have heard many things about getting married or having a husband. My boyfriend and I were open to each other's families. He often visits me, especially when asking him to help me with my laundry or when I need him to accompany me somewhere. People around us have a say about it again.

I heard from my sister-in-law that someone from our neighborhood mentioned that it looks like I am so near to getting married and having a husband. It is because they often see my boyfriend coming over to our house. But wait, at least he is the one visiting me and not vice versa. Isn't it better compared to when I am the one going to my boyfriend's house?

"Maybe she won't graduate to college."

Sadly, this one's from my mother's siblings. I do not know why it became a Filipino culture where family members attacked one another. When my Mama told me about it, I did not forget it until now. Sadly, the judgment came from people related to me, but I am not shocked. I know that they are watching me and waiting for my downfall, just like what happened to their children.

Their kids failed to make them proud, so they want me to do it to my parents too. But no, I will not give them the satisfaction of seeing me fall. I will graduate from college and show them that their assumptions are wrong. I will provide them with proof that I will do better than their children.

“Marami ka pang kakaining bigas.”

(Translation: You still have a lot of rice to eat.)

(Meaning: You still have a long way to go.)

I know that my Filipino readers here will understand the sentence's meaning. That is the answer I received from a relative abroad. Also, she is my Aunt who's living a good life. I told her that I would study and work hard to give my parents a good life. And this is what I got.

I took it as an insult because instead of motivating me, she made me feel I was still nothing. I know that she does not want to encourage me but to make me think that we are nothing compared to them, that we are still below them. I will never forget what she told me. And once I succeed, I will be thankful to her because I would not strive harder if she did not provoke me.

I don't know if you have already received and heard these things too. Maybe you have listened to a lot worse. Perhaps many people wish you your downfall. You do not need to answer them or fight back.

Remember everything that they are telling you. Please take note of the insults and turn them into fuel to get you to success. Make sure that you will not lose hope and prove them wrong.


Want To Connect With Me?

Article # : <280>
Category  : <Personal Blogs>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>
Posting Date : <June 28 2022>

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

14
$ 0.75
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

These are very insensitive words and I do wonder what people gain from saying them. It's things like these that leads to depression, but luckily you have a strong heart and you were able to move pass those words

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes :( they are very sensitive. Sadly, most of them are from my relatives. Maybe this is the reality now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

bakit nga kasi napakadaling mang judge na tao noh? Anyway, sa nabasa ko naman eh nagbackfire sa kanila lahat ng sinabi nila sayo beh. Tama ka, prove them wrong and have the last laugh.. Tama ba grammar ko? hahahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama naman ate. Hehehe. Anyway, ewan ko ba sa mga tao ngayon. Eh kung yung Nanay ko ang laki ng tiwala sa akin. Minsan sya ang sumasagot sa kanila, na hindi ako katulad ng ibang babae dyan. Lagi nya akong pinagmamalaki kapag maraming nangddown sa akin. Siguro nature ng Nanay ate ano? Na mas ipagmalaki anak nila kapag dina-down.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly dear, sometimes some people with their harsh words can disturb our mood, our hope and our motivate. People words are very important in our lives, I wish people were more careful in what they said. Many people say these things to us out of jealousy, to humiliate us, and make us feel bad about ourselves, or to use these words to prevent us from going on the right path and progress.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. I like how you pointed out everything. It's a matter of how we handle our emotions and not let them affect us too much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just prove them wrong..that's the best response to them.. Dami tlga marites sa pinas ay 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sinabi mo pa ate. Daming nilang oras mangialam sa buhay ng iba. 😅 But of course, they won't and can't break me. Manigas sila kaka-marites 😜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People will always talk especially boyfriend part, being a teenage to involve yourself,. Relative will see you as one that will get pregnant

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed! I don't know why people through assumptions like that instead of giving guidance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is funny to think that people who looked us down are now the ones who are in trouble. Words are powerful. May mga kamaganak rin ako na sinasabihan ako ng bad things but I just ignore them and let God do the rest. I am not wishing them bad things. I always believe that God has the perfect timing for everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakalungkot lang kasi na sa mismong kadugo at kamag-anak pa natin nanggagaling yung mga ganun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aigoo, jan naman magaling ang iba ee. Ang mang judge dahil lang sa nakikita. Ang masama, mga kamag anak pa ang unang unang titira sayo. Napaka naman talaga ng mundo. And you are doing good rn charmy charmy. Let them see na may mararating ka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sinabi mo pa ate. Kaya nga ako tahimik lang. Hindi nalang ako nagsasalita, ipapakita ko nalang na may mararating ako, at mali sila diba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan talaga mga tao sa mundo, mahilig silang manghula at kung ano ano pa. Siguro wala silang magawa sa buhay at yan nalang yung pinagkakainteresan nila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mas magaling pa sila magpredict eh. Imbes na mga buhay lang nila problemahin nila eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so demn TRUE! They are so judgmental..even I experienced that eh... Kaloka, sometimes that the disadvantage kapag living rural areas...so daming tagabantay😂😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sinabi mo pa ate. Ang daming chismosa! Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganon talaga ang mga Tao Che, more on predictions sa buhay natin, Kaya nga talaga wag magturo sa iba kasi apat pala na finger ang nakapoint sa sarili, tapos isang daliri Lang para sa ibang Tao. All you can do is to prove them wrong, and let them see you doing your best, finish your studies, of course they are your family, just let them talk, and let your actions and good deeds talk back.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo yan ate. Dami nilang oras para mang-judge at mag-predict ng mga mangyayari. Anyway, hindi talaga ako sumasagot o lumalaban ate. Mas pinapakita ko nalang na hindi ako apektado.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako din na sabihan dati NG ganyan. Kasi mas madami akong kaibigan na lalake, so na sabihan ako na Di ako makaka graduate NG highschool dahil mabubuntis ako agad. Naka graduate naman ako NG college. At ang tanda ko na ngayon wala pa din akong bf. Kahit ano sabihin nila tayo ang ma susunod sa buhay natin, magaling lang talaga mag judge mga perpektong tao

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ewan ko ba sa mga taong nakapaligid sa atin. Ang dami nilang oras para manghusga. Pero diba, mas patunayan natin na mali sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobrang common at legit talaga yung sarili mong kamag anak ang mangmamaliit at manghuhusga sayo. However you are right, sometimes we really don't need to fight back instead be motivated with their hurtful words and strive harder to succeed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Reality na yata yun. Na mismong sarili mong kamag-anak ang hihila sayo pababa. Kaya ginagawa ko nalang motivation, kasi kung lalaban po ako, sayang lang oras.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess the gossip neighbors are everywhere and they always like to put their mouths on what doesn't concern them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly! They are everywhere lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All I can say is those harsh words that you heard the assumption that throwing out to you will make you strong and im proud of you coz you take it positively to make you become a successful individual.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They made me stronger and braver. And I am using the hurtful words to motivate me more and strive harder. They can't break me. 😜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whatever they say to you, look at you now. You are good, kind and successful woman. Nailed your life!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed. They won't break me, lol! Asa naman sila. 😜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes words spoke by someone really predicted next event what will happen in our life. But still I believe we should try to forget bad words or events about us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the problem. I do not forget things easily. It's why I still know exactly what they told me, and turned them into motivation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago