Normalize Asking Favors Nicely

29 68
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

I know that the phrase "no man is an island" became a trite, but the thought of it will always remain. Some people may still be holding onto this saying, especially those who think they cannot work things out alone.

And admit it or not, there are moments in our lives that we needed someone, whether through their moral support, financial assistance, or we had to listen to their suggestions. Also, we should not forget the small things and favors we asked from them. Until now, the cycle continues.

But one of the main problems we face nowadays is the way people ask for favors.

Throughout the years of my existence, I met different people. Since I loved pleasing everyone before, I got to be asked for favors – small or big. It was when I realized that people have different ways of requesting for something. But on behalf of that, we should normalize asking favors nicely and in a good way.

I met people who ask favors in a direct-to-the-point way.

They will not say flowery words to you before requesting for something. According to them, they do not want to sugar-coat their true intention in talking or visiting you. They avoid getting labeled as "only shows kindness & sweetness when they need something", so they end up just being direct to the point.

There are some who start the conversation with a "How are you?"

Some of my friends who also asked favors from me tend to ask me how my life's going. They try to begin by communicating with me before finally telling me what they want. I can notice someone who's going to ask for a favor, especially if the person only messaged me randomly.

And yes, there are people who want to sound superior, or that you should not say "NO" to them whenever they ask for favors from you.

It is the kind of person I feel annoyed with. To be honest, most of them are my relatives. They feel like they are superior and they can intimidate me, so I cannot refuse them. I used to be afraid to decline requests from older people before, but I just realized that it's not about being intimidated or afraid to say "no." I should look at their way of asking favors from me.

I am not a selfish person. I have this mindset that whenever I can give, I will. But what I hate is people trying to force me to give something even though I already said I have nothing to hand over. It is not my obligation to offer everything I have, and I hope people would learn to ask favors nicely.

I admit, there are times when I can do the favor but I choose to decline, especially when the person's way of requesting offended me.

And no, I will not apologize for doing that and I will still do the same thing every time, until people would learn the importance of speaking and asking favors nicely. I don't need to hear the "please" word, but all I want to read & hear is being sincere and asking in a pleasant manner.


Want To Connect With Me?

Check Some Blogs!

Article # : <306>
Category  : <Personal Blogs>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>
Posting Date : <August 19, 2022>

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

13
$ 0.94
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
+ 4
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

Most of the time, I am the one who asks favor kaya guilty ako jan hehehe pero I ask favors nicely naman and I make sure na hindi busy yung tao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah! I love to help someone who asks favors nicely, and I greatly appreciate it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Asking for favors nicely is a bare minimum, it is only normal that you should be polite when asking favors. 🤷

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I myself don't like asking favors but when I do I am direct to the point. I still give as to my capacity but no is no. I have to take care of myself too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is another good way. I am also a direct-to-the-point person :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Apir! :D :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan din dahil nahihiya akong magkaron ng utang na loob, di nalang ako manghihingi ng favor except kung yung tao whole-heartedly niya tanggapin yung favor pero may iba na isusumbat. Iniiwasan ko nalang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama. Alam mo ganyan din ako, kaya minsan ako nalang umiisip ng way para magawa yung isang bagay instead of asking for favors. Ayaw ko na sumbatan ako in the end eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung asawa ko pinagsasabihan ako palagi non na always use the word PAKI. pakikuha , pakilabhan , pakiwalis instead of hugasan , labhan , kuhanin na para bang nag uutos ka instead of asking a favor. Kaya ngayon nasanay nako sa Ganon.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Ganyan din tinuro sa akin ni Darren ate. Kapag may iuutos daw eh sabihin daw ng maayos hehe minsan sa kanya lang naman ako maldita mag-utos haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, i also observe how they asked favor , if it seems too demanding as if it's my responsibility to help then i would rather not. Or if it's become their habit , i'd say no the next time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. This is the reason why I sometimes say "no" to requests. Not everyone deserves my yesses.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's true, many people believe they have the right to get your help for the sake of trying, but of course not everyone has that option available to them. It's good that you're not selfish, nothing fills more than giving. And it's good that you also know how to filter when to give and when not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes it feels great to help and give something, but it depends on their way of asking for it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True may taong bossy masyado kahit sila ang may kailangan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay naku ate, sinabi mo pa. Yan kinaiinisan ko. Ganyan yung Lola ko at isa kong Tito.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan na ganyan parents ko na mabait lang kapag nangangailangan and I will never do that. Napakadamot ko raw pero kasi nagiging totoo lang naman ako eh hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayun lang hahaha pero diba may binabayaran ka ring bills sa bahay nyo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis meron mga ganyang tao na kukumustahin ka lang dahil may favor pala sayo. Minsan mainis lang ako sis dahil sa tinagal tagal mag paramdam lang sayo pag may kailangan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakainis yung mga ganyan ate. Naku talaga hahaha. Tapos pag nakuha na gusto, limot ka na ulit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobra sis. Sobrang totoo yan. Di ba minsan hindi rin maganda pag ganun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama po. Talagang iinit dugo eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobra sis lalo na pag di mo close tas ganun na lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This asking for favour made me to stay off chatting on Facebook, yes, I'm trying hard to stop pleasing people always.

Anytime I see a random chat of hi from a friend that we haven't talked for a while, I'll know it's help on board.

Well, it's fine to give and support the needy but we should do it with ease, if it's on inconveniences, then we should choose our peace first

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! I can relate to you. When a friend starts messaging me randomly, I get to feel like she needs something lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha kaninang umaga nagulat ako nag chat pinsan ko "good morning insan" ako naman napaisip if naka-utang ba ako 🤣 and my attitude kasi lagi akong nambabara. 'Ano kailangan mo?" Agad kung tanong 🤣 di na nagreply 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha. Alam na kasi natin kapag yung tao biglang magchat randomly diba. Like, di mo naman ako kinakamusta noon ah, sabihin na agad kung may kailangan ka. Ganorn!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so true my dear sister, some people will request for favour as if it is an entitlement. And they usually get me pissed. I think helping someone should be done at convenience and nicely. There is no way, someone speaks to you nicely, that you won't be touched to help them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, right? Instead of talking with superiority, they must try asking nicely because that would be better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago