Here's Why Being Financial Literate Is Important

33 60
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

With all the inflation rates and sudden challenges to achieving financial freedom, you may be thinking about the importance of being financial literate. There are benefits to your current and future finances if you would truly understand the essence of knowing how to manage your money, income, and expenses.

It is a powerful tool to survive nowadays, especially with the crisis arising from low salary rates but the too expensive cost of living. If the current situation would not convince you to be financially literate, I prepared some benefits you will love to hear and know.

You have complete control of your money.

People would agree that we sometimes let money control us, but holding on to financial literacy would change the game. You can manage your finances completely, which will make you feel confident. Also, you can decide what to do with your money instead of letting it use you as a puppet. You will have better thinking about your financial status as well.

You can avoid debt.

I have seen how debt crumples people recently. The generation faces too much from this hurdle, but being financially literate can help you understand how debt and interest rates work. You can also avoid debt disasters by knowing how to handle or manage your plans.

You will value financial goals. 

One of the lovely things you can do to be financially literate is to give value to your financial goals. It is time to look for a good investment plan and be attentive to your savings. Sometimes people set aside saving money, but it is also another way of managing your finances well. It is for emergencies and also to get ready for what is yet to come in the future. It would be best to invest and save as early as possible.

Author's Note:

I learned many life lessons along the way, especially about finances, since I grew up with an average life. It is my motivation to be more responsible. Months ago, I told my parents to open a bank account and save some of their earnings. You may not know, but my parents trusted me so much, until now that I am taking Financial Management as my course.

They listened to me when I explained the incredible thing of saving money: they will not have any monthly pension someday. And I feel grateful whenever my Mama shows the amount of money they already saved. She randomly reports the status of their savings account to me, maybe to tell me that they listened to me and making progress. I do not write topics for content only, but I apply these things I share here in real life. And nothing is more fulfilling than knowing that I enlightened people through my words, especially my parents.


Want To Connect With Me?

Check Some Blogs!

Article # : <304>
Category  : <Business Blogs>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>
Posting Date : <August 16, 2022>

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

13
$ 3.05
$ 2.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

This is the best thing that I learned from Robert Kiyosaki and in his book "Rich Dad, Poor Dad"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang gusto ko yung book na yun ah. Saan available yun?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meron sa shoppee eh pero sa Audiobook ko lang sya pinakinggan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sige hanapin ko nga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being financially literate is one of my goals. Although I have basic knowledge, I don't think it's enough. More things to know haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Financial Management is too deep talaga. Not just about saving, investment, cash flow. Malawak siya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang oudated yung educ system natin pagdating sa mga subject na ganito. Sana may bigyan pansin ng schools yung financial aspect kasi for sure, malaking tulong to for the betterment ng economy na rin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka dyan. And para rin mas maging wais ang mga susunod na henerasyon when it comes to managing their finances

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have seen some people that make plans for things and when the money come, they use it for something else that will make them to question their selves each day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes spending your money out of something not important could give temporary happiness, yet you'll going to end up questioning where your money went once you need it for something essential.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap mag save pero madaling gumastos. Kaya need talagang matutong magpahalaga sa pera para hindi maging madali ang pagwaldas dito, at para din maiwasan ang malubog sa utang dahil natuto tayong magtipid at magtago ng pera. Maganda din talaga na may savings tayo para sa hinaharap.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All on-point ate! It was a good idea talaga na mag-save up na. Buti nalang nakikinig sa akin parents ko, and they are now saving their earnings and income kasi hindi naman na kami humihingi ng pera sa kanila ng mga kapatid ko. We have our own source of income na :) Sana soon eh makatulong ako sa pag-iipon nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To this, cheers! 100% agreement... Hahaha! If only... I'm not frugal enough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also agreed to you sister we should be enough educated to maintain balance between our expenses as well as our Income. Financial balance is essential to save us from all debts and making bankcorrupt also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes being financially literate could really benefit us. Right? Balance and knowing when to say yes to debts will surely save us!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

100% legit. We need to know how the money works as more days come value decreases. I wonder where could reach my 1k 5 yrs from now? 😑

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am wondering too! :( The inflation sucks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true, Cherry! At nkakasad na halos lahat ng tao hindi financial literate, ung mga nagpapa utang nag take advantage nmn... sooo sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ate huhu. Ang daming loan sharks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Plano ko ate mag-open ng bank account kapag nasa tamang edad na ako. But for now, tipid tipid muna at maraming gastos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minors can open bank accounts, just ask your guardian(s) mama/papa, any adult related to you. Lower opening rates too! I think there is still Php 100 for opening an account for minors, even BPI offers this, please check with BANK. Was able to open savings for my kids years ago.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually, I am planning to open more Bank Accounts, like BPI or BDO. Though I already have one in LandBank.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go go for BPI, I got mine activated but lost my ATM so I have to go back and open or re-open one again. They have this account with no maintaining balance but changes PHP 5 every withdrawal, but that was a long time ago. I'm not sure how much it is right now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have not yet tried BPI, and the closest bank to us is Landbank and BDO. The others are on the city proper.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas maganda talagang mag-ipon na habang medyo bata-bata pa, hehe. Ako meron na sa LandBank.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Financial literate nga. Pero kpg matukso, wala dn 🤣. .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So true! hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahha. Looks like someone's agreeing too. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course, I tried that several times. Opening a saving for my eldest, but it all got drained before I know it. So starting again from scratch. I hope and aim to manage it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah. Goodluck on that and I hope you can manage it well this time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same ate, same! Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly, most people that borrow money with interest rate lack good idea on how it works (although some people know but they borrow out of frustration). Knowing the interest rate and how it might not end well would make someone to stay off borrowing and debt.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, right? Being financial literate can help other people understand how cash flow works.

$ 0.00
1 year ago