30 Days Writing Challenge from Somewhere | Day 5

Avatar for Ellehcim
1 year ago

05/15/2022


So, that's it. We keep on progressing, even in smallest means. And if you're like me who keeps on pushing through life despite frustrations and confusions, then congratulations, we are fighting well.

Source: Unsplash

This is now my fifth day completing the thirty days challenge, and I am yet to see what it's a about. Let me take this opportunity to thank everyone who has joined this challenge, so far. I really appreciate you guys joining, and I enjoyed reading your entries. Keep going, and let's all complete this for full thirty days!

Again, it's never too late to join. By the time you write about the Day 1, you're part of it now. I'll put the picture of the challenge in the latter part of this blog for your reference, so keep reading.

On to the main part of this article, let's go.


Day 5: My Parents

Yeah, so my mom and dad are the main characters for this blog.

It's somehow relevant, because we recently celebrated the Mother's day two weeks ago, and we'll have the Fathers' Day soon in the third week of June.

These specific dates are remembered to celebrate our love for the parents, and to recognize all their hardwork and sincere love and support for their children. However, I do hope that we still make it to a point to show our love to them everyday, even if it's a normal day or not.

Parents, sure, you guys can write about it. A memory with your parents? You favorite attributes about them? Who do you consider your parents? Or what is the meaning of a parent to you? It's a single topic, yet we can talk about many things relating to it.

Personally, I'll just describe my mom and dad briefly in this blog.


Part One: Mom

I have written a very heartfelt article about my mom last year, I think. And actually, this year, I included that article in my Facebook appreciation post for her to read. Lol, I promised to not let her see a single sentence in that love-filled blog, but I could not keep my promise to myself. Good thing she read that without my presence, so I saved myself the trouble of cringing.

Yes, sweetness is not in our family vocabulary. Generally, we all are not fond of saying affectionate with each other, let alone say such words as "I love you" or "I'm sorry". I don't know about others, but this is how we're brought up. I am not sure if I should be grateful or not, because I don't wanna see myself being lovey-dovey to my family, yet I sometimes find it hard to express my big live for them through actions..

Now you have an idea about how my mom is. She raised us up, mostly on tough love. Between dad and her, mom's the disciplinarian. From our childhood days to adolescent ones, we understood how flying slippers work, belts scared us to do something silly, painful pinch on the skin, and lots... way lots of sermon session. We grew up hearing at least million of mom's words playing in our head. I even had some days when I grew tired of her voice, especially when she's shouting because she's mad and frustrated.Nevertheless, I really feared her, but her strictness made me a responsible person.

We have very strict curfews when we're younger. We'll get an earful when we get home later than 6 p.m. Our classmates knew that, so we're those who only attend after school practice sessions after a careful request for permission from my mama. Back then, I used to have lots of resentment against mom.

I felt like my whole life is restricted, I had very little to no freedom at all. While other kids could go on trips, and play outside as they want, I felt like I was always walking on thin ice, and careful to not do something that might cause her to scold me.

But those were young, immature years of mine. As I grew older, I felt mom slowly removing all these restrictions, and giving me more authority for myself. Gradually, she let me decide on my own, travel alone, and go to unfamiliar places even it's just me. She transitioned so well, that it's not that much of a pressure to me to learn being independent, and of course, responsible, even without her closely watching over me.

I thank all those years mama disciplined me, that I am now reaping its benefits. I am not one to get so caught up in "barkada gimmicks" that I stayed out all night, nor involved in partying, nor became a black sheep in the school, and other delinquent people tendencies. I still knew how to have fun, without having to do such dangerous things that may have consequences I'd surely regret.

Until now though, mom never stopped being that walking book of knowledge. Everyday, she still narrates words of wisdom, especially those she got from experience. She still disciplines us, and remind us of our limitations as her children, regardless if we're adults or not.

My mom is not perfect. We have lots of differences, and I always disagree with her principles, most probably due to generation gap. But the thing is, we respect those differences, and I still know my place as a child.

My mother has a really big contribution to my personality. I am someone who finds it hard to express myself, because we weren't allowed to argue whenever mom scolds us. I think I took this seriously, and lived my life becoming like this. I hate this, though. And I try to change this every single day.

I am someone who works hard for something once I get myself into it. It's because mom always encouraged us to work hard, strengthen our skills, and be the best that we can be. Mom used to encourage us to be the top of our class, but reminded us 24/7 that it's okay if we don't. Hard works and efforts are what matter the most, and the future that we'll make for ourselves.

Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty


To be continued...

This has been quite long, and I honestly did not expect it to be. It's about my mother, and I haven't wrote about my father yet!

So in the next part of this blog, I will talk about my father, to complete the day 5 of my writing challenge.

I hope you enjoyed reading through the 1st part. Do you somehow relate to this blog? What's your mother like?

Comment down below your thoughts! Thanks for reading, until next time!

Enjoying the 30 day writing challenge? Join us now!

Here are my entries!



What do you think about this article? Show some love! Feel free to leave a like, comment, and share it to your friends! If you want to support me in a different way, be one of my sponsors! This user loves sponsors! 💯

Start worthwhile journeys:

❄️ Read Next!

#Club1BCH

Lead Image from Unsplash

To God be the Glory.

20
$ 8.17
$ 7.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
1 year ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

This is absolutely amazing work by you and you work to hard to write this article about your mother and father and also this is a nice topic for you best time for you ahead

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thanks, I am still yet to write about my dad. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Best wishes for you and for your family

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay naku mama ko rin ganyan, may mga words of wisdom din sya sa mga suki nya sa tindahan haha!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aba prang ibang words of wisdom yan? 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think most of us have parents who are like your mom, tough love. Here in the Cordilleras especially, it is not in our culture to be that showy and expressive in our love and care.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Good to know that we all are aware about our own ways of showing love. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung mga mudra talaga, sila yung batas sa bahay. hehe Nakakarelate ako dito, like walang I love you, pero pagnagkamali required ang I'm sorry. So if di mo pa kayang magsabi ng I'm sorry, sorry nalang talaga. hehe. Relate din ako sa grabe magdiscipline, creative mama ko sa ganyan, asin with sili, mongo, at iba pa. Tapos may curfew kahit nagcollege and nagkawork. Later on, nawala na rin, basta iinform lang kung saan and sino kasama. Appreciate ko talaga na di kami binibaby, kasi dahil dun masasabi ko strong ako, especially na ako yung eldest.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Yes, hahaha! Di ko naranawas yung luhod sa munggo, pero suki sa sinturon haha! Amyway, same, until college, at paminsan minsan ngayon na working na ako, nahihigpitan pa rin. 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di rin ako pinipressure ng mama ko ate Ell, she just want me to learn how to live my life in a way na di ko pagsisihan sa huli 🥰,

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes. Kasi after all, satin pa rin talaga nakadepend yung future natin. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh this writing challenge is a big help when we can't find any topic to write..

Our parents especially our mother has a big role in molding our character

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, they are a big part of our lives, indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We don't say "I love you" too. We just act and show them. I don't like to be in that awkward situation too. Maybe if we are raised that way, there won't be any problem with saying those words.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yes, it's a matter of what's passed down from the parents. One family can be all sweet and expressive, and one can also not be. :) It's okay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your Day 4 reminds us of discipline. Restrictions are not always bad, one day when you are living on your own, you will thank mom and dad for raising you in those disciplines.

Thanks sa idea, may pang 30 days na kami haha. June is save I guess!

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yes! Start ka na ng June! 😄 Thanks for reading, and sharing your nice insights for this blog. I am excited for your entries. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My Mom always have the "everyday words of wisdom" too. I can relate. 😝

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, everyday.. walang palya. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha Mom advices are always right ba? Parang customers 😂.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hhahah, walang kokontra. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I'm going to write about my parents it will be long too, as we are too grateful and blessed to have them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes.. That's why this is gonna have a part 2. 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parents is really important person for us. They work so hard for made our life good. Sometimes they are so strict and sometimes they are so lovely to us. Respect for your mother dear friend.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I always respect my mom despite differences. Thanks for reading. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parents joy is to see the children grow and excel in life, the children joy is to have a United family so they can spend more time with them and also have the money to take care of them very well

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Very well said. I agree.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I found 30 days of gratitude prompts online..and I am working with it now 😅... Sa parents, si papa mas strict samin, si mama minsan lng

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Uy pashare naman nyang 30 days gratitude.. Baka gumanda mood ko ahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mya post ko 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sige salamat marengs..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha same here, I also grow up.in a family that never say sweet words with each other... we find it ewww.haha

Oh , i would love to participate in thia challenge.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahah, there are lots of us. Anyway, yes please! Join and have fun! 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe I will try this challenge one day if ever I run out of any topic to write on readcash. I really love your subject and all of us must be proud to our mothers, imagine without them we won't also be here in this world.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree. We are nothing without out moms.

$ 0.00
1 year ago