Restarting my Life Again

13 41
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

My decision to stop my medication means a lot of things. First, I have to admit to myself that the diagnosis of the psychiatrist is part of who I am now since the medication prescribed to me did work. Then, I have to be ready with the effects and discontinuation symptoms that I would experience because of my decision to stop a medication that is working.

Disclaimer: I am not telling that others should stop taking their psychiatric medication without the advice of a mental health professional. I am just sharing my experience with quetiapine. The information written in this article should not be taken as medical advice.

Why I decided to stop taking the medication (again)

The truth is that as much as feel grateful for quetiapine for helping me sleep at night, the side effects of it are making me feel as if I am losing myself. It is a difficult thin to describe because being stable means that it is good, right? It means the manic, and depressive episodes happen less frequently. Basically, my mind is slowly stabilizing into the "normal" function.

But for me stable means no more highs of the mania anymore. And as much as there are destructive things thst could happen in a manic episode, the emotions from those kinds of episodes really kept me feeling alive. Those short episodes of mania, made me believe in myself and my productivity is off the charts.

Moreover, despite massive lifestyle changes, I am having a hard time with the weight gain associated with taking antipsychotics.

As you know, face to face classes are approaching fast. I know this is coming which is why despite the heavy feeling I have, I still continuously worked on sestablishing a good routine. This include a lot of physical activities and a better diet.

Thanks to this, I was able to keep my BMI at the normal level instead of being overweight.

Unfortunately, despite feeling tired everyday from physical activities, I can only do so much to control the weight gain. Even though I became more active than I have been in the last 21 years of my life, my weight is increasing.

Add the fact that quetiapine makes me so hungry all the time, seeing the numbers on the scale go up is discouraging.

I will not be going into detail about my struggles as it might trigger those who are also struggling with their own condition.

But the summary of it is while quetiapine does wonder for my mood stability and sleep, the effects it physically has on my body just opened a new can of worms. I know that if I continue going down this path, bipolar disorder will not be the last thing that will put strain in my body anymore.

It is risky

I know the risks since I have been searching it and taking it to heart the first time I stopped taking quetiapine (which is months ago). Back then the discontinuation symptoms were too much for me and I came back to restart my medication which resulted to the higher dose that I have been taking for 2 months.

But for me, I think I can handle it now. I have better routine than before, and the therapy is working great for me.

The medication helped with sleep and mood stability which can also be done with having a good daily routine and great sleep schedule. It will take a bit but I am getting there.

Closing words

It has been nore than 24 hours since I took my last medication. I am waiting for a full week before I can freely say I am out of 'danger'. I am just observing myself for now.

Aside from the headache last night, I do not feel much concerning discontinuation symptoms. I feel lighter too.

I just hope this feeling continues so thatI will not regret my decision once again. But who knows, maybe if I relapsed again, then I will finally have to admit that I need the meds to live.

But for now, I am going to try just going to therapy and continuing my routine with physical activities and healthier diet. This is the start of a hopefully new chapter of my life ever since being diagnosed with bipolar disorder.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

July 2022 Articles Summary

June 2022 Articles Summary

May 2022 Articles Summary

April 2022 Articles Summary

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

11
$ 1.61
$ 1.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

may tinnetake ako na gamot before sis, nalimutan ko name. pero kada iiniinom ko sya bigla nananahimik utak ko as in super nakakabingi, mabibingi ka sa katahimikan kaya itinigil ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Praying you gonna be okay sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope and pray you will be successful with your decision sis. May God bless you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well soon sis. I know magiging okay kana din. Yung wala ka ng iintindihin. Always pray to God sis. Andyan lang siya lagi to listen our prayers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga po umokay hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trust to God sis. 🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi sis, those mood swing or if your moods shift or changes immediately, does it it looks like a person has a bipolar disorder or it might be safe to be check by a psychiatry?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It depends on how it affects your life. Mental illness affects different aspects of life such as finances, studies, health (sleep and eating habits) negatively.

Mood swings are normal for people. But if you find it hard to return to your 'stable' mood and it negatively affects your relationships, then you might want to visit a psychiatrist or psychologist. They can help you understand underlying symptoms.

Sometimes, mood swings may also present as a symptom of physical illness such as an imbalance in thyroid. So tests are done before the diagnosis of any illness.

For me, bipolar made me invest in a lot of risky investments without research and I lost a good amount of money. And it also affected my relationships since my mania is also filled with anger episodes which negatively impacted how I socialize with others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh so that's the it. I never went down like that, but I assume I still have it. I have anger issues too but it doesn't last long. It is easy for me to get irritated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If it bothers you a lot, maybe you can try reading some books on therapy skills that might help with your anger management. Or if it is a possibility, a psychologist can help you get started on better coping mechanisms.

I hope that you find the help that you need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope you feel better and get out of troubles. Sometime opposite decision works but as you said it is also risky. Well you should do what is best for your health. Best of luck dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I truly hope that I made the right decision.

$ 0.00
1 year ago