Reasons why I want to get a driver's license

16 44
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

In a previous article, I shared my experience in getting a student permit. As I mentioned in that article, getting a student permit is needed to learn how to drive. After all, you can not drive on the roads without a student permit and someone with a driver's license.

Today I want to share the reasons why I decided it is time to get a driver's license.

Valid ID

The first reason is that a driver's license is a valid ID so I can use it for verification purposes in different applications. Of course, I know that there are valid IDs that are easily acquired like postal ID. But I wanted the driver's license because having it also means that I can drive.

Convenience

Having a driver's license means that I will be able to drive if there are surprise outings with either friends or family. My father is the main driver for our outings but he is getting older and he is getting more tired now when driving.

So he decided to teach us how to drive. Unfortunately for my father's hopes, he was not blessed with a son. This is probably the reason why it took him a bit of time before he decided to teach us how to drive.

I was selected to go first. He was unaware of the changes in getting a student permit but thanks to the internet I was able to search for the requirements. When my father found out that there were additional requirements he regretted that he did not immediately take us to get the student permit back when we turned 18.

Anyway, that is in the past now. For now, he paid for majority of the fee for driving school so that I can learn how to drive.

Career edge

In the engineering job listings I have found, there was a common preference- someone who can drive. The reason for this is probably because the field is a bit out of the way so knowing how to drive will be a plus.

This is honestly the main reason why I suddenly became interested with getting a driver's license.

Before, I was content with letting my father drive us around. And then I lost interest again since my partner also knows how to drive. It is definitely not one of my roudest moment but I am just being honest here.

But when I realized that knowing how to drive will give me an edge that I need for future employment, I decided it is worth learning how to drive.

Why do I need an edge in career?

As some of you may remember, I am an engineering student. I am a girl in a male dominated career track so any edge that I could get is something that I want to work towards with.

I know that the bias for male engineers are not as widespread as before but I have seen a fair amount of job listings with preference for male engineers to pretend that it does not exist anymore.

Closing words

Those are the reasons why I decided to get a driver's license. As of now, I still have a long way to go to get that license.

I still have to get a practical driving course (PDC) certificate. To do that means that I have to pass the practical test of the drivinf instructor.

I am a bit nervous since the plan was for us to go out in the traffic for our second session but I think the nervousness will fade someday.

After getting the PDC certificate, I need to wait for a month and 3 days to apply for my non-pro driver's license.

To get the non-pro driver's license, I need to pass a written and practicak exam at the LTO branch.

But that is a bit far away for now so I will focus on the high I have in getting a student permit.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

June 2022 Articles Summary

May 2022 Articles Summary

April 2022 Articles Summary

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

13
$ 3.73
$ 3.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
+ 1
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

l wanted to verify my account but I don't have valid IDs yet. Thanks for this info, I will just take it instead of waiting for the national ID.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yan reason ko rin ate kung bakit gudto ko magkadrivers license, pahirapan kasi sa pagverify ng accounts

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama yan. Maganda kung asikasuhin mo na habang di pa masyado mabigat ung schedule mo. May advantage din kasi kapag fresh grad tas marunong magdrive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now ko lang nalaman na counted pala drivers license as valid ID, try ko rin kaya kumuha? Pwede sya maski no motor or sasakyan ka?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yis pwede ka kumuha kahit walang own motor or vehicle. Basta meron ka lang nung reqs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas madali ma verify and drivers license kaysa sa ibang ID, katunayan ang ID ng asawa ko ang ginagamit ko pang verify ng apps kasi Yong ID ko antagal ma approve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's quite stressful to get a driver's license due to lots of requirements, in addition there are lots to remember while on practice also the fee is quite high I think but it's worth it once you pass the training and the exam. Driver's license had lots to verify specially on crpyto.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako nga din beh, kailangan ko din magka-driver's license kasi mahilig ako magmotor. My partner then told me na dapat kumuha na ako. Wala pa nga din ako'ng student permit eh. Hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Madali lang naman po kumuha student permit, try niyo na po kumuha hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I already know in driving but I don't have yet license hehe. Pero nag ddrive lng nmn ako sa malapit lng sa bahay, dko pa carry mag drive sa malayo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Get ka na rin po student permit hehe para makalayo layo ka sa pagdrive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go, girl! That's a boss move. It will surely be a boon for you. I hope you'd get it in no time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kakakuha ko lang nang drivers license and to tell you honestly napaka haha nang process, but it's worth the waith.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Feeling ko nga mahaba ung waiting time. Nabalitaan ko meron daw mga numbers at cut off sa LTO for new license eh. Tas syempre meron pa ung mga fixer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko din sana magkaroon sis pero sa ngayon medyo hindi pa ako talaga magaling mag drive

$ 0.01
1 year ago

May driving school naman HAHA. Ako wala pa talaga experience magdrive, sa driving school lang mag aaral

$ 0.00
1 year ago