I speak Spanish. Yo hablo Español

74 119
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hello, my dear Read.cashers ! I hope life smiles on you today!

This is my entry for this week's Prompt, Language. Many of you have approached the subject by talking about the different types of language. Several have spoken of the language of love from different perspectives. And I think this particular kind of language has been covered quite a bit and in a very creative way around here.

Another way of approaching the subject that caught my attention was that of @Cineholic. In his article, he questions that the national education system of his country has adopted English as an official language to replace his mother tongue. And about the feeling of frustration that this causes him. This is the article Education In National Language!

And that left me pondering. Pride in our native language is something we shouldn't negotiate. I love learning other languages. I greatly appreciate having been able to study English as a second language since I was little. And I think that being able to learn a second language is a competitive advantage today. But I'm completely and absolutely proud of my mother tongue, Spanish. Our language is part of our identity, of who we are, of our culture. So I will focus my article on why I proudly say. Yo hablo Español.

Imagen de jairojehuel en Pixabay 

Some facts about Spanish that can be read on the internet. Source 1 and Source 2 are

  • It's the fourth most widely spoken language in the world, after Mandarin Chinese, English, and Hindi.

  • It's the second language as mother tongue, after Mandarin Chinese.

  • It's the native language in more than twenty countries.

  • The country with more Spanish speakers is Mexico, followed by the United States, and it's expected that by 2060, the United States will be the country with the most people who speak Spanish.

  • It's the third most used language on the internet, after English and Chinese.

But the things that make me fall in love with Spanish are different. In addition to the pride that is the language I grew up with, the one I speak every day. I like,

  • Its different shades and expressions according to the Spanish-speaking country. What differentiates us in the way we speak and in the expressions we say. I find it fascinating how many words in Spanish can mean the same thing. Some examples are. It's not the same to order a beer (cerveza), in Spain una caña than in Mexico una chela, or in Argentina and Venezuela una birra. Refer to a friend or colleague in Spain tío, pibe in Argentina, cuáte in Mexico, and pana in Venezuela. Each country has its own idiom for everything. Some can even get us into somewhat embarrassing situations. For example, here in Venezuela, speaking colloquially, people say Estoy arrecho to say that they are angry or upset. But that same expression, in other countries as Colombia, means being sexually aroused, which Spaniards would say as being Cachondos (horny).

  • Literature in Spanish is extensive, and we have many Nobel Prize winners for literature in our language. I couldn't imagine reading Cien Años de Soledad (One Hundred Years of Solitude) or any other book by García Márquez in a language other than Spanish. Or a poem by Rubén Dario in another language.

La princesa está triste... ¿qué tendrá la princesa?

Los suspiros se escapan de su boca de fresa,

que ha perdido la risa, que ha perdido el color.

La princesa está pálida en su silla de oro,

está mudo el teclado de su clave de oro;

y en un vaso olvidado se desmaya una flor.

Extract of Sonatina by Ruben Darío

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash
  • Also as in other languages, ​​we have at least one word that doesn't have an exact translation in other languages, and it's Sobremesa. And I don't know about you, but I love a Sobremesa, that of stay sitting at the table after a copious meal, drinking coffee or maybe some liquor, or just chatting. That in Spanish is a Sobremesa.

  • Of course, I cannot fail to mention a few of all the idioms only we Venezuelans use. Some use a bit of rude language.

    To say we don't have money or we are broke. Estoy pelando or Estoy pelando bola.

    When a boy is flirting with a girl. Le echa los perros.

    To strive to achieve something. Echarle pichón or Echarle bolas.
    Having a few drinks. Echarse los palos.

    Asking someone to give you a ride. Or hitchhike. Pedir la cola.

    When something is annoying. Or it's a pain in the ass. ¡Qué ladilla!

  • To finish, and as many approached the subject of the language of love. One of the things I like about Spanish is that to say I love you. We can make distinctions because we have two expressions to say the same. Te quiero, I used it with my extended family and my friends. Te amo, I only use it with my closest ones.

I know that among my readers, there are some Venezuelans. But most are from non-Spanish-speaking countries. Do any of you speak Spanish?

To participate in the Writing Prompt. You can read Jonica's article on Writing prompt #13 : Language. And rules are simple:

  • Write about Language

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words

  • Submit your article to the community PromptlyJonica

  • Have fun!

My previous articles on the prompts:

P1- Freedom - What does Freedom mean to me?

P2 - Motivation - Why I'm using cryptos? - my motivations

P4 - Darkness - Five days in the darkness

P5- Questions - Too many questions

P8- Nature - A glimpse of nature in my tropical land

P9- Success - Success is not Final

P11- Labels - Labels and distortions

To you, my dear readers, thank you so much!

These are all my wonderful sponsors! I encourage you to visit their amazing articles if you haven't done so.

Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty

Images credits in the caption. All writings are my own unless anything different is stated. Copyright CoquiCoin 2021.

Until next time! ;)

August 18, 2021

35
$ 10.64
$ 9.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.10 from @Just1dood
+ 18
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Amé este artículo, muy necesario.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

disfrute mucho este articulo nuestro idioma es perfecto, cada región con su asentó particular nos ayuda a identificarnos a donde vallamos es parte de nuestra esencia como personas y nos mantiene unidos en comunidad, en lo particular se me hace difícil aprender otro idioma pero se que no es imposible, el ingles abre puertas y brinda muchas oportunidades pero las raíces siempre seguirán allí adentro.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me alegro que te haya gustado el artículo y gracias por comentar!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hola hola! Que maravilloso encontrar este artículo que resalta muchas de las bondades de nuestro querido idioma. Ciertamente, es una ventaja el poder comunicarnos con otras lenguas, pero también es cierto que es difícil traducir lo que nuestra cabeza piensa en español al inglés por ejemplo, "Lost in Traslation" le dicen jaja Me gustaría, y si no es mucho atrevimiento, pedirte consejos sobre el cambio de BCH a fiat, soy nueva acá y ReadCash pronto será mi fuente de ingresos fija, por lo que me urge conocer sobre este tema. (en mi ultimo post alguien te mencionó por cierto :))

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hola! Cómo estás? bienvenida a Read.cash! Me alegro que te gustara la publicación. ;)

Con respeto al BCH, yo lo he usado para pagar en algunos sitios pero nunca lo he cambiado a Fiat. Cuando hago cambios suelo hacerlo con Dash. Pero si tienes una cuenta en Binance a través del Binance P2P puedes cambiarlo, o convertirlo en Binance en USDT y luego cambiar este en el P2P. Si no tienes cuenta en Binance te sugiero que la abras.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si tengo, pero no se como usarla jaja soy un poco tapada con esto de las criptomonedas. Solo he usado Hive y con esa si me se manejar un poco.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buen yo recién empecé en Hive y estoy demasiado perdida. Voy a tratar en estos días de hacer una operación en Binance P2P para hacer un artículo, me has dado la idea de que puede ser útil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Es un poco complicado, a mi me costó y aún hay algunas cosas que no entiendo. Si tienes Discord podemos conversar por ahí, te parece?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Y mi tag es CoquiCoin#9123

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tengo discord aunque soy bastante mala en eso hehe. Pero claro que podemos hablar por ahí! Soy CoquiCoin ahí también :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't speak Spanish but I want to learn, when I see someone on TV who speaks Spanish I just gape because I don't understand anything hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you can learn it! It's really a beautiful language.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope so, thankyou.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speaking another language is very important, I have always wanted to teach that to my children. I was lucky enough to learn some English for my job and I still practice it whenever I can. Thank you for defending our mother tongue, Spanish.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Knowing another language is a competitive advantage today. And it's so important that our children understand it. I love learning languages, ​​and I don't miss the opportunity to learn, no matter how basic the knowledge is. But the pride for the Spanish is always there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had no idea that Spanish is the second mother tongue language after Mandarin Chinese. My first lesson in Spanish was this - "¡Ándale! ¡Ándale! ¡Arriba! ¡Arriba! ¡Epa! ¡Epa! ¡Epa! Yeehaw!" Thank you Speedy Gonzales.

I see you mentioned that slight differences in spoken Spanish in different countries (e.g. ordering beer). Would a Spanish-speaking person from one country be able to communicate (in general) in another different Spanish-speaking country?

For someone looking to learning Spanish, which countries Spanish would you recommend?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha! I liked Speedy Gonzalez, LOL.

You can communicate without a problem in any Spanish-speaking country. We just have some different ways to name some things, but the grammar is the same. And at the end of the day, everything has a common name. For example, beer in Spanish is Cerveza, and everyone will understand that. It's just we use a different name colloquially speaking.

The best country to go to learn Spanish is the one you can afford. All have a unique and rich culture. I love Spain, the culture, the food. But Latin America is also worth it. Many countries are really worth visiting and I haven´t been to all. But of those I know, I really like Argentina and if I had the opportunity to stay for a while in its capital, Buenos Aires, I would be delighted to do so. But it will depend on your tastes.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for the short post explanation! 😂 I'd bought a language pack awhile back but die to a lack of discipline, it's sitting on my bookshelf collecting dust.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! A language pack can be a bit boring. Better try an online course. Try seeing movies, listen music is more fun! And let the package in the bookshelf collecting dust. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great idea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we are all equal in our different nationalities with our respective accents and languages. That is what gives us the sense of belonging. I love my Spanish and I am just now learning a little English. But my mother tongue is Portuguese and I love it too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love Portuguese, and I know a little. Once I started to listen to Fado, and I tried to learn a little Portuguese. And I think my favorite word in life is Saudade.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know some Espanol pero poquito :D I remember trying to learn Spanish through an app before but then lost interest. From the words you mentioned, I know serbesa. That's how we say it. Bola on the other hand is ball or to flatter someone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bola is ball, hehe. It's not to flatter at all. But we use it a lot in many expressions. And Argentinians use the expression Boludo much. To refer to someone silly or that uses to do or speak nonsense. But they also use it as a colloquial way of treatment between friends.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's really interesting to learn other languages :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We often use to tell the time and counting in Spanish here but with a touch of Tagalog such as alas-singko (5 am/pm) and bente (20). There's also the use of mestiso/mestisa here too!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I see that you have many words that come from Spanish but with slightly different spellings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah! English indeed has been most widely used, and for me I'm much more comfortable using it than that of our own Filipino language especially in writing. However, this month we celebrated "Buwan ng Wika" a month to commemorate our own language, thus 3 days ago I wrote one article in our language. It was a bit hard, but worth it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, I can write in Spanish without a problem. But writing in English helps me to learn to be more precise. Spanish is more complicated in grammar. But I love the sound of Spanish and of all romances languages, those that come from Latin. I saw your article in your own language and had to skip it. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even though we are wanting to learn other Languages, our mother's Language should be underrated or underestimated. I so much love my own native language too and that doesn't mean I won't learn other Language important to me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Completely agree with you. Thanks for stopping by, princess!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what, I do have a funny story on this. On my previous work, I am a back up Spanish representative which in all honesty, I am not so familiar with it. But you know here in the Philippines, our Bisayan dialect is a combination of Spanish language too. Funny story is that everytime I recieved a call for a spanish customers, I just use google translate and luckily they were able to understand it. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe the structures of both languages are similar. I don't know anything about the Philippine languages. Just Ate, Po, and Salamat, LOL. But I know you also use the letter ñ, for example.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me encanto tu artículo, no hay comparación. Las canciones o poemas si los traduces literalmente no tendrían sentido en otro idioma. Likewise, depending on the intonation of the word, the meaning changes completely. You used "Estoy Arrecho", to mean that you are annoyed, but "Sol está Arrecho", means that the temperature is very high. I liked this word. Thanks for the invitation to the writing program, I will take some time to read your articles, of course I will do it little by little,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gracias Frank! Sí cuando dices que el Sol está arrecho! es que hace mucho calor, je je. Los Prompt son una buena forma de tener un tema para escribir. Además puedes escribir sobre cualquiera de los temas que ya se han propuesto porque no hay una fecha tope para escribir y publicarlo en la comunidad. Si te animas leeré lo que escribas y si tienes alguna duda y necesitas ayuda no dudes en preguntarme. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All right, I'll check it out, if I have any questions I'll let you know. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the differences in Spanish between the different Spanish speaking countries. I have lived in three Spanish speaking countries and still dont speak it perfectly! haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If you have lived in three different Spanish-speaking countries maybe you don't speak it perfectly, but for sure you should have a lot of vocabulary to name things with different words! May I ask where do you live now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Un artículo hermoso mi estimada amiga, no hay nada mejor que conversar en ese idioma que nos regaló ese país o ese continente dónde nacimos, el español es un idioma complejo pero a la vez hermoso, que nos puede hacer volar y concuerdo totalmente contigo no hay nada mejor que ver cómo cada país le da un significado distinto a las palabras, cada país tiene su acento y modismos. Eso hace que este lenguaje, que este idioma sea tan bonito, tan sentido y variado, te agradezco por crear esta publicación donde le muestras un poco de nuestra lengua materna a todas estas personas hermosas, saludos y cuidate mucho.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gracias por tu palabras, querida amiga! Sí, la riqueza del Español es inmensa. Los modismos que nos hacen parecer diferentes. Pero la verdad es que en el fondo todos somos un poco parecidos porque tenemos esa raíz común. Un abrazo y muchos saludos para ti!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muy de acuerdo contigo, sin duda esa raíz en común nos convierte en hermanos eternos, disculpa que te corrija pero soy un amigo Jajaja, saludos, igualmente un gran abrazo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Jaja pues bien corregida estoy! A veces aquí los nick son genéricos y es difícil saber. Saludos amigo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Esto es muy entretenido. Me encantan los diferentes idiomas y el español es uno de ellos. Como estas hoy, Coqui? :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ah! Hablas español! Me encanta :) Yo estoy bien, aquí recién está comenzando el día. Y tú cómo estás, qué tal tu día? Te quiero, sis! ♡

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Vengo de un linaje hispano-filipino, Coqui jeje. Eso es bueno escuchar. Soy bueno también. Solo tuve algunos dolores de cabeza antes, pero ahora me siento mejor. Buenos dias! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me alegro que te sientas mejor! xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I love sobremesa too,🧡

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We are in the same boat with that because I love to do Sobremesa. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only know few words. Thanks to this, I will add more in my vocabulary. ☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome! Thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to learn other languages, but better to know yours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree with you. First, we must learn ours and then others!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. So your native language is Spanish. I like it. We also have spanish words associated in our language since before, our country was once visited by the Spaniards.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! I'm from Venezuela, and we speak Spanish :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow so I got a friend from Venezuela! 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you do have it! hehe ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm from Pakistan and our national language is Urdu,.. But I also learn english... I didn't knowledge about Spanish before read this article. Great info .... :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! And thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned Spanish because of Thalia, sang her songs when I was 12. Although I don't know some of the meanings of the lyrics, I still sing the songs up to these days :) I also learned some words and phrases through Duolingo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, of course, I know Thalia. And the truth is, I haven't heard her in a long time. But it's nice to know you like one Spanish-speaking singer. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was and still am a die-hard fan :) I like her old songs better :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Thalia song that I liked the most is Amor a la Mexicana ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's a great song :D One of my favorites is Entre el mar y una estrella

$ 0.01
2 years ago

te quiero sis! learned spanish during high school that's why i have a soft spot for this language. i think it is only right to love your country's own language first before anything else.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

También te quiero, querida Eylz! Agree with you. Our country's language should be the first in our hearts. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice! I am familiar with some of the words that you’ve mentioned even though I am not so fluent with you language maybe because some of the words in our native language (Tagalog/Filipino) comes from Spanish origins (because of the Spanish occupation for centuries) so we also use them here

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's nice that you know some Spanish. I know that the Philippines was also a Spanish colony. And I think I have also read somewhere that you use the letter ñ as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the way you expressed your love for Spanish language freely. So many people wish to he a le to speak Spanish and I often get jealous ehwm I bear people speak it with ease. I think I like a sobremasa too. I hope I have the meaning correctly understood on my mind.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If you liked the Sobremesa, I'm sure you understand the meaning well, hehe! Thank you for stopping by! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This makes me wanna learn Spanish, although our local language has a mix of it. I think Spanish is a sexy language :D

It is also interesting that words can mean different, like what you said can get you in a quite embarrassing situation. I remember my first embarrassing experience in speaking Mandarin Chinese, where the same words can mean 2 different things when wrongly pronounced :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. Well, I think French is a sexy language. LOL. But you can learn some Spanish since you already use some words.

Many words and phrases can put you in an embarrassing situation, depending on which Latin American country you say them. Also, the accents are very different in each country. But I think that happens in all languages.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yes, French is the sexiest language for me lol! But Spanish has it's own charm too☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is important that we know ang speak our own languange, learn english as a 2nd and other languages too if we can.. In life, Echarle pichón or Echarle bolas. ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, That's how it is!♡ The more languages ​​we know, the more opportunities we have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago