Writing prompt #13 : Language

56 190
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

lead and first image: screenshot of one of my lessons in Romanian from Duolingo

We're all writers here on this platform. Even those who only read and comment on articles write out their comments.

We all use language to convey our message, our thoughts, our feelings, our imagination.

Some of us understand, speak, read, and write in more than one language. Some of us may not hear or speak at all and must use hand gestures to sign their message.

There are many types of language. Not all of them are verbal, written, gestured, or official.

Body language

My son. This language is easy: happy and amused.

Body language can emphasize or enhance or belie the spoken words.

My son. I would interest this body language as watchful and observant slightly nervous but not overly upset.

Some one can say, "I'm very happy!" But when they are frowning with their arms akimbo or crossed over their chest, when they are having down with their backs curled we understand they are not happy. They are angry or very sad. They may be afraid.

My son. I read this body language as bored but open to entertainment if it presents itself.

Their body language tells us much more accurately their true emotions.

Love language

My gogeous husband. He was building a corral and a pen for the animals.

Love language is a term often used in psychology. It means how people demonstrate their love without having to constantly day the words "I love you."

I will cook to demonstrate my love. I also give hugs. And make eye contact and physical contact often. My love language is a care giving language. Some people call it nurturing or mothering.

Chicken Piccatta. My husband's favorite. One of his favorites, anyway.

Cooking (and feeding you) is my way of letting you know how much I love you. I take great pride in my ability to cook delicious food. And if I love you, I share it with you.

Black bean and zucchini burger.

My husband's love language is as a provider and a builder. We moved here to this little ranch when his grandparents died.

They had gotten too old to keep up with the chores and house. Our house was not even completely finished. There was no ceiling in the kitchen, pantry, bedroom, and bathroom. The master bedroom had holes in the floor and the walls. The kitchen sink was much too short for me to comfortable wash dishes.

My husband has built me a fairy princess castle. He measured and built the kitchen sink cabinet to my height. He fixed the floor and the walls in the master bedroom. We have 2 huge closets. He put in a ceiling, and rewired all the electrical so I can have a drive and a microwave and a refrigerator, believer, and crock pot all going at the same time.

He remodeled the little bathroom and walled off the big bathroom so it is now the master bath and can only be accessed through my bedroom. He plumbed it with a bathtub that belongs to just me.

He converted one of the back houses that was used as a chicken coop into an art studio just for me.

He built us a deck in the neck so we can sit outside and watch the sunrise.

building the deck

This is his love language.

My mother's love language is spending or giving money.

Can you think of another kind of love language?

Passive aggressive language

I'm not sure what to call this language. It is the opposite of love language. It is the unspoken language that demonstrates, often quite loudly, displeasure and anger.

Slamming doors, angry cleaning, stomping, muttering inaudibly under ones breath, sighing. Everyone knows something is wrong, but most likely none knows exactly what the problem is.

Those who passive aggressively express themselves often do not use words so the rest of the world is left to guess.

Animal language

Bok Tui at just 4 months old.

Anyone who has spent time around animals knows they communicate quite well with humans. I may not speak goat, but I know when my girls are happy, tired, in pain, annoyed, or sick. Sometimes it's in how they hold their heads or move their ears. Sometimes it's obvious when they are leaping around playing.

I know exactly how my cat is feeling when she meows, purs, growls, nips, scratches, or bites.

Barney the barn cat. She was staring down some other animal. Possibly a chicken, goat, sheep, or dog.

My dogs can tell me when they are happy (most of the time), hungry (also most of the time), scared, or feel protective or guilty. Angus is terrified of thunder and refuses to go outside of it is raining. He's also terrified of the cat who communicates in no uncertain terms, "I will fuck you up, dog."

Angus trying to hide from Barney

Self talk

Self talk is another kind of language.

We hear that little voice in our heads. Sometimes the little voice is a big, angry, critical voice. It calls us names like stupid and idiot.

Sometimes our self talk is positive and helpful. "I got this." or "I am enough."

Because of how I was raised, my self talk teens toward the critical. It's hard to silence that inner critic. It takes a lot of practice. It also takes an awareness of our self talk language.

How do you talk to yourself?

I have to argue with my inner critic by sometimes talking back to that voice in my head. I say things out loud so I'm not just saying them, I'm also hearing them.

"You are enough!" is one phrase I say a lot. Also, "You DO enough."

My faithful readers already know I feel ashamed of I'm not publishing every day or don't get the prompt out when I said I would.

Learning

I chose this prompt because I'm in the process of learning a new spoken language.

I'm learning Romanian on Duolingo.

Learning Romanian on Duolingo

If you have Duolingo, come follow me and we can learn our languages together.

My profile picture is my cat.

Barney the barn cat. My Domingo profile picture.

The process of learning most things, but especially languages, is fun for me. When I practice the language every day, I easily learn it.

Basic lesson in Romanian screenshot from Duolingo

As with everything I strive for perfection.

No mistakes! Yay!

Perfection isn't necessarily the best thing for which to drive when in comes to languages. I've learned good enough is often preferable to perfect. Not just for language. Good enough is preferable for parenting, too.

I've had to learn my family's love language and I'm learning my own passive aggressive language as well as how to counter my negative self talk.

Animal language comes to me by instinct. But I've been around animals since the day I was born.

Jj feeling playful as a baby goat.

We had cats, and fish, and a sheep who lived in the house when I was a baby. As I got older we had dogs and hampters and a rabbit. I had a pet spider when I was 5 or so and another when I was a teen. I have my mom a snake for Christmas one year. So she raised nice to feed the snake. My family farm in Kansas always had cows (dairy farm) and horses. As an adult I lived with a family who has parrots. one of whom feel in love with me and would try to mate various parts of my body b feets, hand, or face. Since I moved to Texas, I've had cows, pigs, goats, sheep, chickens, and turkeys, ducks, and a llama.

Marilyn making a funny face. She was happy, playful, and enjoying her food.

Of course I always learn everything I can about every animal under my care, but they seem to be able to communicate with me just fine even before we get to know each other.

I've learned, but not mastered, American Sign Language (ASL) because a friend of mine is partially deaf.

I learned a lot about body language when I was majoring in psychology at college.

So many kinds of language. So much learning.

This week's writing prompt is Language.

What is your native language? How many languages do you speak, understand, read, or write?

Are you interested in learning other kinds of language? Why or why not?

The rules are simple.

  1. Write anything about language

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words so Rusty will reward you

  4. Submit to the PromptlyJonica community (please join us if you haven't already)

  5. Tag me @JonicaBradley and @TengoLoTodo

  6. Have fun!

A few quick notes:

  • Join the PromptlyJonica community here.

  • There are no deadlines or time limits. You can write on any of the prompts any time for ever and ever. To see a list of linked prompts in order go here.

  • It's up to the writer to ensure no plagiarism

  • Please keep Regis testimony and religion to a minimum. Those types of stories are better suited to dietitian communities.

  • All types of writing are permitted: personal essay, poetry, satire, fiction, etc. Keep in mind is you're writing satire, make fun of the idea, not the person.

  • The community has more than one moderator. If you disagree with anything the mods have to say, please let us know in the comments of the article.

As always, I welcome new sponsors and sponsees alike. Let me know if you are in need.

41
$ 14.69
$ 13.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Panky
$ 0.20 from @FarmGirl
+ 19
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I love how your husband expresses his love for you. He even made you an start studio. 🥰🥰🥰 Personal space is everything nowadays and having one is such a blessing. Also, that's a cute llama. 🦙🥰

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Both my husband and my llama are the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love it because how you explain the different love with different person you have it very expressive the way you discuss, I hope you and your family that have always Best situation in your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay this is a good one! Also I love that you are interested in learning a lot of different languages.

I think i am fondest when you mentioned about the animals as I am an animal lover myself :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can't remember but a short time in my life, a few months really, when I didn't have any animals. Then, a friend gave me is cat who I had for years and years. His name was Charlie. The cat, not the friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I see, and from Charlie, the rest is history. Now you have those lovely animals around you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love them but I'm mad a my goats this morning. They were slow to come to be milked and then JJ was walking all over the milk stand like it was a treadmill! The baby goat keeper butting her head into the backs of my legs and get horns are SHARP. And then she kept headbutting the door to the milk barn. She just started doing that a few days ago. BAD GOATS!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've convinced my husband and half convinced myself that if I become proficient in Romanian, it will somehow psychically pump our Ada to $250.

Wouldn't that be cool?!?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s good that you have a great interest in exploring other languages. I also have the interest but unfortunately, I don’t manage my time at all to learn about other languages. Btw, This was a great entry. Good Luck 🤞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, I have set a commitment of 20 minutes a day. I end up studying for hours! I neglect other things in favor of learning this new language.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That’s good that you are passionate about this . Keep it up mate, nice to meet you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to meet you too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your son looks like Justin Bieber po when he's young. Maybe I resemble him through that singer due to his cap and style of clothing. Anyway, I'll try to join on this prompt.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

He HATES being told he looks like Justin Bieber.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I respected that haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's true, though. Especially when he wears his glasses.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Especially if his skin will be darker hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I honestly can't envision Justin Bieber's skin tone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fantastic, I have been wondering when you would do a language prompt, now no excuse for me not submitting a relevant article. I have not used Duolingo for ages, it is an awesome app though. Being a polyglot is what I aspire to be!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Gesundheit! Just kidding. I know what a polyglot is!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I knew you would know ☺️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Barney the barn Cat startled me haha. I could say that he's looking into something shocking or unusual.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

She's very expressive. I have that same photo of her in my RedBubble store. https://www.redbubble.com/people/jonicabradley/works/62440633-shocked-kitty-on-green?asc=u

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a cat lover, I am so thrilled to see your Barney look like that! Mine often asks for food but doesn't eat it. In fact, he does that to capture my attention. Later on he will feast on it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Barney is very vocal. She loves to be brushed and cuddled. She hates the dogs and hides behind a curtain so she can slash at them with her claws when they walk past. She has a definite personality. She's also a thief. She steals things like pens, lipgloss, my Fitbit, and even giant lemons. She takes them back to her lair. her lair used to be under my bed, but it's now in the guest room since my sun moved out

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We can speak, understand and learn every language. But we can't learn animal language with indirect Source. We should remain in contact. Your son body language is quite expressive. And you husbdan love language is also able to understand. I shall participate in this language contest. I hope You shall be able to know more interesting words.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope so, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this new prompt, I like this one. I'll be working on mine now ☺️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Looking forward to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know someone who's love language was word of affirmation. She loves to be flattered by words and to be honest? She's very nice to be with. You can already make her happy by just appreciating her through words 🤗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think most people live to be flattered through words. How does your friend express her love?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Through act of service like cooking or cleaning.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're giving me an idea what to write on my future article that k you for this knee

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Knee?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a wonderful prompt. And timely too. August is 'Buwan ng Wika' (Language Month) in the Philippines, I was planning to write one in Filipino. But I guess I will make an English version for this prompt.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Write both!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like this prompt, I will work mine soon. The cat looks so cute.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

She's a pain, but I love her, even though I'm super allergic to her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love it. I can relate into it. Ill be making my own article about it later..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Can't wait to read it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do love learning languages. Thanks for sharing this idea.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love learning language, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like this prompt word and I am already working on mine to be published soon. There are different kinds of language that should be learned and communicated freely and openly.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I like the theme. I'm curious that you are learning Romanian. Is there any particular reason? I know that it is one of the Romance languages. S​o I suppose that the grammatical structure must be similar to that of Spanish.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My husband and I are always on the lookout for placed to travel where we haven't yet been. Neither of us has been to Romania. So, when we have saved enough $ we'll travel there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best excuse to learn another language, I hope you can make that trip soon!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Waiting for Cardeno (ADA) to go higher!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Finger crossed for that too, here.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I neeeeeeeeeeeeeeed it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This week I can't remember exactly what it was that triggered the word language in my head and I wanted to write about it.

It later skipped my memory but it seem the spirit wants it out instead of getting lost in the midst of my thoughts, so he sends you to let this be the prompt for the week.

So here are we, language it is. My entry will be up soon.

Your husband is a really productive being. No wonder you said he can d anything in your other post.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Her is so smart and good with his hands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got an Idea to write on... Your husband is indeed gorgeous and tall handsome hunk. 👌

$ 0.03
2 years ago

He really is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Language can be seen in different perspective just like what you just explained. We have body language and also some kind of terms used which are seen as languages.

This is a topic that will give me more hours to write and to write to my best ability.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Looking forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago