Success is not Final

36 62
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

This week's prompt is about Success. The word success has a very specific meaning, but the interpretation given by each person can be different. What is a success for me, may not be so for you. But what is certain is that success is not final.

For some people, success is in the perception that others have of them. Today's society encourages us to be successful. Social networks are full of photos of ideal moments and dream lives. In social networks, those who want to be perceived as successful people, don't show obstacles, don't show difficulties, there aren't disappointments and everything is joy and happiness. But is that a reality or a fantasy? A person perceived as successful can have a very empty life. For me, success understood as social recognition is not the key to happiness. It's not the kind of success I look for.

Sometimes, I have my reserves with the use of the word success and I prefer to use the word achievement. The difference from my point of view between success and achievement is that the former implies social recognition and the latter for me is associated with personal well-being. On the way to fulfill ourselves and reach a goal, we can fail. But the important thing is to keep the momentum, get up and continue.

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts."

Winston Churchill

After I read that Churchill quote about success and failure. I started to think about how my professional career has been. And how in certain moments of my career these phrases fit perfectly.

Imagen de Albrecht Fietz en Pixabay 

Success is not final

I graduated as an Industrial Engineer and did a Master's in Finance. My second job was arguably my dream job. I worked for an information technology company linked to the oil industry in my country, which I'll call Company I. At that time, Venezuela was still a land of opportunities. And my career in that company was quite successful from my personal point of view. I had a job that I liked a lot. I was well paid. I had opportunities to travel with my job. In a short time, I got several promotions. And I still had room to continue climbing in the company. But circumstances that weren't in my hands changed everything overnight.

The oil industry is a state-run industry in Venezuela. By the time I was working for Company I, career employees of the oil industry began to show their dissatisfaction with government policies. Meritocracy was replaced by political leanings. And to make the story short, as a consequence of the discomfort, the employees went on a general strike demanding their rights. The president at the moment, Hugo Chávez, in response to the strike decided to dismiss most of the employees of the industry. We are talking about approximately 18,000 people being laid off. This marked the beginning of the end of prosperity in Venezuela, and years later the country is plunged into one of the worst economic crises in history.

As a result Company I, disappear as many other contractors associated with the oil industry. I didn't lose my job immediately. I took part in the liquidation of the company. But overnight, my success was gone. Success is not final.

I was successful in Company I because I got the recognition I expected. And also, my achievements in the economic aspect were very well rewarded.

Making Of - by J Trompiz

Failure is not fatal

After a while, I worked for another company, where I wasn't doing badly. But where I didn't feel fulfilled as in Company I. So one day, I decided that the time had come to take a turn and accept a new challenge in my life. My husband is a filmmaker. At that time, he got some resources from a culture fund to make his first feature film. He has always been good at the creative side. But financial planning and cash management aren't his things. So there was in front of me, a new challenge. One that I'd never looked for, nor had I considered in my life. Executive production of a movie. And I thought the skills were there. Planning, cash management, budget, resource management, all aspects were familiar to me. So I said to myself. Why not?

I won't go into details about the experience. But it was a huge challenge. I made mistakes along the way. And I learned how to correct them. The movie was done.

Distribution in Venezuela wasn't a problem. The legislation protects the exhibition of local cinema in the country. But the international one was a completely different subject. It's a harsh world. The internet is full of stories of independent filmmakers and producers at the mercy of the market for sales agents and distributors.

We ended up with a terrible Sales Agent. Our return has been scant. And although we hadn't invested a large amount of our money, it was a couple of years of hard work. For a time, I felt that I had failed. The film can be considered a success. It was exhibited in theaters here for several weeks. It had an extensive media coverage better than the average local movie. It has been exhibited in many international festivals. But I considered that by having failed in one of the aspects, I'd failed in my task. I tend to be hard on myself. My husband's perception was different. He had made the film. We liked the result. And no matter how good or bad it has been, we had international distribution.

Until one day, I decided that I can't continue licking my wounds. The situation was affecting my relationship and I just looked ahead. I took a challenge and had achieved the main objective. If today, there were a new opportunity to make another film and produce it ourselves, I would do it. And I would be much more prepared to negotiate with the sharks of the independent film distribution world.

Imagen de DanaTentis en Pixabay 

It is the courage to continue that counts

And after my experience in film production, I had to immerse myself in the world of making money online. About this, I could write a book. But I'm not going to bore you with this. I'll leave it for another time. I've looked for a way to reinvent myself and move on. Sometimes, I've received some offers to return to the corporate world. But I think it's a stage that I've already overcome. Now, there are other things that I also value. How and when I spend my time doing a job is important to me. And going back to an office is not in my plans.

Did I fail in my professional life? No way. Do I have the house in the Caribbean that maybe I dreamed of many years ago when I graduated from university? I don't have it. Does it make me feel like I failed? Not at all. Of course, I would like a house with a sea view, who doesn't want it? But I'm satisfied with my achievements.

I think the important thing is to celebrate our achievements, learn from our failures, and have the courage to continue.

Thank you for reading! :)

If you want to participate in the Writing Prompt. You can read Jonica's article on Success here. To participate:

  • Write about Success

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words

  • Submit your article to the community PromptlyJonica

  • Have fun!

My previous articles on the prompts:

P1- Freedom - What does Freedom mean to me?

P2 - Motivation - Why I'm using cryptos? - my motivations

P4 - Darkness - Five days in the darkness

P5- Questions - Too many questions

P8- Nature - A glimpse of nature in my tropical land

To all my wonderful sponsors, thank you all!

Images credit on the caption.

Until next time. :)

July 21, 2021

8
$ 2.22
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.50 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 8
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Its good to learn from our failures,. Go on and bring the learnings with you..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed, that is the way to go! Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have achieved a lot and learned a lot. That's what is important. The stages we have gone through and we go through are necessary for our own growth. You may have failed but you have gained a lot more.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Absolutely, I think like that now. I value all the experiences that I've had. That has made me who I am today, and I'm glad with myself. ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad that you're glad :D That's matters a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this Eliana :) In some ways we are so similar, did the whole oil company success malarky and always open to new (ad)ventures. Mistakes are only mistakes if we don't learn from them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Similar, huh! ;) I had the impression that your (ad) venture was wilder than mine, haha. But seriously. I agreed, mistakes are to learn from if not they are just a s ** t. I'm always open to new adventures. And I'm not afraid to take on new challenges. But I think sometimes, I'm very hard on myself when I have to value what I do. A big teddy hug for you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I do love a good teddy hug. yes I am with you on new adventures, but you young lady I get the feeling are far too hard on yourself!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know and I'm working on it;) You win another hug by calling me, young lady. ;) I even going to forget that you teased me with a headline of a grandmother playing Pacman, haha. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe the pacman playing abuela 🤣 keep them hugs coming

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, everyone defines their success according to their experiences. For me, success is having what you have now and enjoying it with the people you love. I feel graced and blessed and like a successful woman. I think others may not see it that way. But it is my reality. Now I am going for other achievements. And the best thing is that I can tell them here.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Agreed my friend, sharing the achievements with our loved ones is already an achievement in itself. And the greatest success we can ask for. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about your job but life has changed for many of us. I spent 3 years not working in my profession and writing back and forth on the platforms. Until I came here and stabilized a bit. Now I have started again in my medical practice and have a light at the end of the tunnel. But that doesn't make me think I wasn't successful. Now I'm getting back on track. I think you did it too and we are going for second chances.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed, we've been through many changes in our lives. But also agreed that we are still successful. We've looked ahead and moved on with new challenges. Glad to hear that your path has stabilized. I love writing here, even though I don't receive rewards from you-know-who. Read has returned my blogging mojo. Expressing myself and receiving feedback here for me at this time is priceless. ¡Un abrazo y feliz día!

$ 0.50
2 years ago

I didn't know that. But patience is a virtue and has its rewards. at some point you will have your surprise. A hug for you too.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, my dear. I hope so too!♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fell inlove with your genuine writing style. I learned a lot from here, so I'd love to see more of your works. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words.♡ And for stopping by. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very correct. Success is not final. We shouldn't say because we have achieved a milestone stop aspiring more or aiming high. An achievement made is the beginning of others.

And I'll love to congratulations you on all achievements you've made so far. More to come.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, my dear! That's right, achieving our goals is an ongoing process that shouldn't have an end. If not, we would be falling into conformity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brilliant Eliana! I agree with your perspective 100%. I guess that’s why it’s so easy for us to get along. Even learning to walk we fall many times, so failure in all undertakings is inevitable to learn. Lessons learned through failure are priceless 💙

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, my dear! ♡ You are right. What we learn when we fail is priceless. But sometimes, the stubbornness in us. Focus on failure and try to stop us from move on. XOXO

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true. I fell for this trap many times in my life. We live and learn (or sometimes not 😅). 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all fall into these traps sometimes. 😅 But if we realize we fell into a trap, I think we're already having some learning. And over the years, I think we get wiser. Hehe ♡

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Plus we have each other as a reminder 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Completely true. Love you for that! ♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love you too 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Small achievements or big achievements, still achievements. When the going gets tough, it's great to hear that progress is being made. Congratulations on your achievements, Coqui!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, my dear! That's it. Small or Big achievements are achievements, and we must celebrate them all. ♡

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're welcome, Coqui. And I do agree with you. Cheers to that!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I definitely agree with your title alone and this:

"I think the important thing is to celebrate our achievements, learn from our failures, and have the courage to continue."

You hit the right spots with your above statement. And yes, congratulations on your achievements, past and present.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend! Along the way, I've learned that we should celebrate all of our accomplishments, no matter how small. That is sometimes difficult for us to understand. However, we are the best at perceiving our mistakes bigger than they are. But the years and life teach us to point in the right direction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome. You are full of wisdom and I always feel privileged being able to read them here so thank you too❣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, it's also a privilege to read you. I love how rich is the exchange of experiences with some users here. You included, of course. :) xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you☺ and yes that is true. It's why I love here too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago