A glimpse of nature in my tropical land

26 67
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

The topic of this week's prompt is Nature. I love being in contact with nature. And even though I live in a big city, Caracas is a privileged place as far as nature is concerned. A few days ago, I made a post on Noise.cash about 5 things I love about Caracas. All of them referred to its nature.

But this time, I'm going to go further. And I'm going to show you a bit about the nature that my whole country has. And although, the song that comes to mind at the time of writing this, is a Brazilian one, País Tropical. The first stanza is perfectly suited to Venezuela as well. I live in a tropical country, blessed by God and beautiful by nature.

But going to the subject and without going around the bush. Venezuela it's located in the North of South America and is bordered to the north by the Caribbean Sea. Now, I will tell you about the diversity of its unique natural landscapes.

Amazonia

The Amazon Rainforest or Amazonia is the largest tropical reserve on earth. It's spread over 9 countries, and Venezuela is one of them.

In the Amazon region of Venezuela, it's located the Canaima National Park, land of tepuis, rivers, and waterfalls. It's the second largest national park in the country. Some of the areas of this vast national park can only be visited by flying overhead in a small plane or navigating one of its innumerable rivers. In Canaima, is find the highest waterfall in the world, El Salto Ángel (Angel Falls).

Salto Angel Photo by toomas järvet- Freeimages

You may not have heard of this waterfall. But surely, you have watched the Disney Pixar movie, Up. The landscapes in that movie are inspired by this region.

This region is of high biodiversity. With very exotic species like the wild orchid in the photo.

Wild Orchid in Canaima - Photo by my hubby

In the Amazon region, there is also the Gran Sabana. Located on some of the oldest rocks in the earth's crust, called the Guayanes Massif.

Gran Sabana, Bolívar, Venezuela Photo by Freddy Clavo on Unsplash

This is one of the debts that I have with myself, visiting the Gran Sabana.

Plains

We also have plains, extensive savannas that are lost on the horizon.

Los Llanos, Elorza, Venezuela - Photo by Jean-Luc Crucifix on Unsplash

Plains, estuaries, lagoons, and many fauna and flora characterize this region. And a sample of the fauna is this Baba (Caiman Crocodilus) that unfortunately has been threatened by indiscriminate hunting. Because its skin and meat are well prized.

Baba en Guanare, Venezuela - Photo by my hubby

Beaches

But if you tell me, you aren't a jungle or plains kind of person and that you like the sea better. Venezuela is your place.

The Venezuelan coast is 3,726 km along the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. But we also have lots of islands and islets. So you will not be short of beaches to choose from.

One of our main family vacation destinations in recent years has been the Isla de Margarita. In Noise, I've shared photos of its different beaches many times.

Sunset at Playa Zaragoza, Isla de Margarita, Venezuela - Photo by me

But if paradise exists, it must look a lot like the Los Roques Archipelago. There are more than 300 islands and keys in a protected area. With white sand beaches and a marine ecosystem that makes it the dream destination for those who like to dive.

When I went, it was many years ago, and I have no photos to share. But I got this free of rights. If you are curious, google Los Roques to see what I'm talking about.

Los Roques, Venezuela - Photo by Serena Mottarella from FreeImages

I could spend hours talking to you about Venezuelan beaches, but I have to continue. There's still more.

Mountains - Los Andes

We also have mountains, and many times in Noise, I've shown you those that surround Caracas, the Ávila, our natural lung. But this time I'm going to tell you about Los Andes. The longest continental mountain range in the world that goes along the western edge of South America. It covers 7 countries, and Venezuela is one of them.

In the Andes is the Sierra Nevada National Park, and the highest point in our country, El Pico Bolívar.

Mérida, Venezuela - Photo by me

This region has large tracts of crops. But also vast expanses of moorland. Where the characteristic vegetation is the Frailejón.

Páramo, Mérida, Venezuela - Photo by me

One of the star fauna species in the region is the Andean Condor. An imposing bird that is unfortunately in danger of extension. This photo is from several years ago in a refuge in the State of Mérida for the condors called Mifafí.

Cóndor in Mifafí, Mérida, Venezuela - Photo by me

And this, my dear friends, is just a little glimpse of how kind nature has been with these lands. And there is much more, but I'll save it for the next time.

And now the other point that Jonica mentioned at the prompt, human nature.

El venezolano - the Venezuelan

I'm going to tell you about the nature of Venezuelans. Most are good people. They are friendly and cheerful.

If you are coming to Venezuela for the first time, and you are used to living in societies where you don't use to speak to strangers, I warn you that you may suffer a great culture shock. Here, if you are in a line anywhere, it will take less than 2 minutes before the person in front or behind you looks for a conversation. The same will happen in a waiting room.

Here we hug each other when we meet with friends. The greeting isn't just a handshake or a kiss on the cheek. We love to hug, and we also kiss, hehe.

The Venezuelan likes to make friends. They are funny and optimistic. Sometimes very wit. And love to celebrate, any excuse is good for a celebration.

But Venezuelans nowadays, sometimes have forgotten about our nature. We've been so burdened by the problems of the country for so many years. So divided and polarized that we sometimes express ourselves in a derogatory way.

But people from abroad when coming here, they use to fall in love with the country and the people.

Venezuela and its people for years welcomed immigrants from many countries. Most of us have a friend with Italian, Spanish or Portuguese grandparents. The inhabitants of other Latin American countries with political and economic problems in their own countries at the end of the last century, in Venezuela, found a home.

Among my Venezuelan friends. There are descendants of Lebanese, Armenians, Hungarians, Spanish, Portuguese, Italians, British, Germans, Argentinians, Colombians, and Chileans, to name a few. German blood from one of my great-grandparents runs through my veins. But that has changed today. We no longer receive immigrants. Now we emigrate. And that has affected our nature a bit in recent years. We are the second country with the largest number of displaced people in the world after Syria, according to UNHCR figures.

The political process that we've lived through in recent years has exhausted us. But our nature is there. We just have to nourish it with positive things. We cannot ignore the bad because we cannot hide the problems. But we cannot let those problems nurture us to the point of changing our nature. And this is a self-reflection. ;)

As for my nature, I'm a bit more introverted than the typical Venezuelan. I'm optimistic, and I like to help others. I like to see each day as a gift and a new opportunity, even if I don't always succeed.

If one day you dare to visit this corner of the world, here we will welcome you with open arms.

Thank you for reading! :)

Read Jonica's post on the Nature prompt here. To participate, these are the rules:

  • Write about Nature

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words

  • Tag @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun!

My previous articles on the prompts:

P1- Freedom - What does Freedom mean to me?

P2 - Motivation - Why I'm using cryptos? - my motivations

P4 - Darkness - Five days in the darkness

P5- Questions - Too many questions

To all my wonderful sponsors, thank you all!

Images credit on the caption.

Until next time. :)

July 14, 2021

9
$ 1.95
$ 1.00 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.50 from @fantagira
$ 0.25 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 3
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

I'm out of words. Those are fantastic sceneries. I love the plains, I can imagine myself running wild there. And that white sand beach, man, I miss the sea.

I'm sorry about what happen to your country. It is sad to know that the once bubbly nature gone because of problems. I hope things will be okay soon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked the sceneries. And thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for taking me for this virtual tour around your country. It is so beautiful! I love the animals too, just saddened to hear that people hunt them.

I have met 2 Venezuelans in my life - both in salsa and both very much fit your description of Venezuelans nature. Very bubbly and extremely friendly and love people 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed the quick tour! And surely if you met Venezuelans dancing salsa, they fit the description I gave. Venezuelans love a party and dancing, hehe. xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They sure do! But also very friendly and loyal 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Omg the Amazonas! Take me there now, please!!! Sad about what happened in your country politically😟

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are always welcome! Come, and we'll go together to the Amazonas! ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am on my way, Coqui!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im not really on Natures. But as I started blogging in other platform I feel inloved with it. Me and my boyfriend loved to go on trips just to witness the beauty of nature. And Im sorry I cant show it here since I've already posted it in another platform. Maybe later or one of this days, I will show some of the natures that were going to visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even if you have published on another site, I think you can publish here by changing the texts a bit. I've seen other people do it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? If that so. Its great. And I will try it soon. Thanks for this information :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With those sites and natural resources, one can easily fall in love with your country. It has been my dream to visit the Amazon or at least see a glimpse of it. That waterfall did remind me of Up.

It's disheartening to know the political nature of your country had affected the people so much so they have to leave. I hope soon things will be back to normal.

I'm more of an introverted type but now knowing the nature of your country, I know I will be at ease :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Here you will always be welcome. :)

Many people have had to leave the country, some for political reasons, but the vast majority for economic reasons, government policies have devastated the economy, and young people don't have many opportunities nowadays. But it is still a country with many natural beauties and friendly people.

Maybe one day you can come to the Amazon :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Praying that things will be better soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nature is sweet. Venezuela is one of the countries I pray I visit some day. And with this description you gave, the Venezuelans seem like very friendly citizens and I love them already.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! I hope you can visit someday! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Venezuela and Pakistan to be precised. I have met friends from both countries online and I must say they are just too kind and nice to make friends with.

You have got beautiful places to visit in Caracas. I would want to come over to these places perhaps if God make my world works out to visit different countries in the world.

If you had asked me which country I want to visit first, then it would be Pakistan first then Venezuela to be my second country to visit.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love that you want to visit Venezuela. ♡ You'll always be welcome here! Saludos! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful paradise you live in! I love the tour, it was like going around my own tropical country😊 The heavens has indeed blessed us with these beautiful nature.

And it's really nice meeting you here, you are such a warm soul :)

And hugs are good, I love them!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! I'm glad I've met you too! Hugs :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome Eliana, what a beautiful country. The picture of the Cayman Crocodile brought back memories. I remember in Africa, it was my first weekend after arriving for work, and they decided to go down to the beach. So I was a passenger as we go through the jungle then a swamp to get to the beach. Well the guy driving our truck broke down in the water, he went too fast as the water was deep, it floods the engine. The truck in front shout to us, to put a rope and they will tow us out. So I got out through the window and jump into the water, get a rope and then go under the water to tie the rope around the bumper of the jeep. Once I did that I get back up and see of the guys in the back of the truck with their machetes out, telling me to get back into the truck. I did so and asked out guy the driver what the problem was. He said look, I looked and saw a Cayman Crocodile where I had been in the water 😂. So started a series of adventures where I got the nickname Eddie Wildlife haha, thank you for the memory Eliana.

As always a wonderful article by the little more introverted than normal Venezuelan!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm glad I brought you good memories. On the day of that photo, I was terrified. We went to a farm for vacations. And my husband and a friend couldn't think of anything better than taking the kids to feed the Babas in a nearby lagoon.

I like the name Eddie Wildlife, hehe! And now, I'm absolutely sure of your versatile nature. I'd love to read about Eddie's adventures around here, although some will be in your book for sure. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I can imagine you were terrified, they are scary animals. I guess they don't attack the turtles. Who took the picture, your husband. hehe yes some of Eddie Wildlife will be in the book :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are scary and fast, even if they don't seem like it. That day they ate everything that was thrown at them, mainly dead fish. But the turtles weren't touched. I have other photos where you can see many turtles in the lagoon and other Babas, but in those were the kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I can believe they are fast, and their teeth, just ouch haha I didn't want to be bitten by one of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago