A shade of hope

7 54
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

I never remembered being overly political. Growing up, my parents were not queit vocal about politics. They vote every time but we would never hear much of them talk about the reasons why they will vote the people or we would not even know who they would vote.

So as a child, I never understood the importance of it. I know the textbook definition. I know that voting is the rights of the citizens as part of a democratic country.

When I entered a science high school, my worldview started to change. The stories that I just swallowed from my elementary teachers were challenged. We were taught how to be critical thinkers but never what to think.

How does that work?

It means that we were given the necessary tools we need so that wr can always find the right information, but we were never told what to believe. We were encouraged to think for ourselves based on our research supoorted by facts and evidences from reputable sources.

With these tools, I started to unlearn some harmful things that my elmentary teachers made me believe. I started to think for myself. I started to question things.

And in it, I found my truth.

The truth

The truth I found might not necessarily reflect the truth that others believe. As much as it is easy to judge them, I instead choose to be open minded.

There are people who were never given the knowledge how to equip the tools that some are given. Some may say that we live in an age where internet exists, facts are literally one click away. And while that might be true, disinformation is also just one click away and often, it is deceptively often viewed as facts.

Not everyone is able to distinguish fake news from legitimate news. And in the perfect world, this would not be the case. But in a perfect world, there would be no need for voting as everyone would agree on everything, right?

So the most important truth I learned was that everyone has different truths that they stand by. And sometimes, what these so-called educating would instead look like an attack to themselves so they refuse to listen as they are already defensive.

So while it might not be the best way to live, I learned to just let people believe in what they want.

It is too tiring to take on the weight of the world, trying to stand for those who can not, trying to be a voice for everyone. Maybe some people are made for that way of life. But I am more aligned to just letting people believe with what they want to believe while doing what I think is right.

There is no point wasting time trying to make someone see the truth that you believe in if they are not willing to see other perspectives.

Anyway, I got off topic

The point is that Election Day is happenin right now. Tomorrow, we would know what the country decided as a majority.

It is a historic moment as we stood at a crossroad where the rest of the world have their eyes on us.

I pray for an honest and clean election. I voted the candidates that I believe in. Beyond that, it is a game of trust.

Trust that others also stood for the same truth that I stand for. Trust that the next six years will not be years to be filled with endless debts.

Trust that the Philippines will be in good hands.

Just a shade

My vote might not be enough to change the country alone, but I know that when it is counted together with those who believe the same things as me, my vote becomes a part of a hope.

A hope for change. A hope for a better country. A hope for improvement.

Closing words

As you might have noticed, I have not been vocal about who I voted nor who I endorsed for. Well, not in my own posts but I support those who seems to believe in the same things I stand for. I do leave subtle clues that I doubt many can see.

Anyway, it was done intentionally as I have the belief that each of us are voting with the same hope. I doubt that anyone would vote with the belief that they are dooming the country. I know that all of us just want a government that will change the country for the better.

So whatever the results may be, I pray that we, regular Filipinos, will not suffer for it.

May we have a safe, honest, and clean elections, Philippines! A shade of hope, para sa bayan!



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

April 2022 Articles Summary

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

19
$ 11.04
$ 10.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 10
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

I haven't made it to go home to vote but I'm praying that the next President will lead us and serves well with good intentions and a sincere heart to have a care for all of us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whoever wins, saka support nalang ng lahat ano. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eventually, everybody just want what's best for the country. But how are you to really know that due to the deceptive ways of politicians?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope the candidate with the best intentions for your country wins.

In democracy majority decides the winner that why the citizens need to be adequately informed and be able to distinguish between fake and real news

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you guys get to elect a credible person to take your country to another level.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May God bless Philippines .. ako di naka vote nasa Manila kasi registration ko di na transfer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May God bless our country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago