A World Without Books

58 106
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

I read a novel by Gary Chapman sometimes ago and I was enlightened on different love languages that must be practiced in relationships for happy moment. The five love languages mentioned were; Words of affirmation, Physical touch, Receiving gifts, Acts of service and Quality time. After some weeks, I and my friends were discussing about love and marriage and something led to another which made me ask the question, “What is your love language?”. They were looking at me and there, I knew they do not understand. I went ahead to share my knowledge with them and listed the love languages and also explained it to them. They were interested in hearing more and at the end of it, they were able to understand and shared their love languages to me thereafter. I am sure they will never forget such again.

I was reading Mcyusuf´s article yesterday about this same topic which he got from an email. It was actually a prompt I subscribed to and I also get the daily prompt word, but reading it, I was inspired to write and share my knowledge about a world without books. You can read his post if you haven´t here

Do you know living in this world without a single book can make us ignorant of many things? We can´t always rely on past history´s stories as we won´t be there all the time to listen to them. What of those who have died? How do you intend getting information from them? A world without books would definitely bring about diversity in religions and what we believe in or not just as what Yusuf said.

Information written down in books would give us the knowledge we seek for. Imagine I didn´t read the novel, how do I get the knowledge I shared with my friends from? Believe me, we would all be ignorant of many things as people would keep bringing different information to us and if there is nothing as a proof to back it up, we would end up accepting what they say and many of us would keep living in ignorance forever.

Even in Church, we are made to refer back to the Bible which is our guide in case a pastor says something else which isn´t found in the Holy book. Without book, we would all be led in the same path as a shepherd herding flock of sheep.

Books are important that they help enlarge our horizons and increase the depth of our knowledge. Without book, we would continue to live in mediocre and this book is what differentiate a literate from an illiterate.

"Research has made us to know that using books with no intention or guide will lead to nowhere but when we learn to judiciously value, select, and acquire them by buying, reading them and then discussing with friends, it will help us build priceless habits."

Now, just imagine a world with no books, how do you build good habit? How do you learn other people´s culture? How do you know what is happening in the world? How do you learn things to build yourself? Of a truth, there won´t be any progress, we will just be on a spot.

But with books that has information packaged with lessons to learn from, skills to develop yourself and the histories in the past, you will learn many things and have knowledge too. A world without books is useless.

Books are so important in our lives and they are even divided into two- soft and hard copy. You can choose to get a book or read online. There are numerous books in libraries that could be of help and open your eyes to different happenings especially in our culture and the different beliefs we practice.

Mofif also talked about the importance of books which I read too and she said this;

“Books contain a lot of knowledge, thousands and generations of them. The knowledge passed down from generation to generation in the form of a pen and a paper.” Quote source

This is definitely true and we can´t just ignore the power of books. There are some spoken words that can easily be forgotten or not narrated as it were but with writing it down, it will make it easier to get back to it and read all over again. Also, the next generation would learn from it.

Now imagine the world without book, many information and stories of past histories would have been forgotten or even misinterpreted.

We need to learn to read books because it helps a lot. We explore beautiful things when we read. We build our intellectuals through reading. The educated or higher-class leaders won´t have to control us in their own way, because when we read and gain knowledge, nobody would deceive us into believing what isn´t a fact. The poor are easily cheated by the rich because of the knowledge they (the rich) have acquired through books which the poor do not take time to read.

Thanks for reading from my blog today. I really do appreciate it if you read to the end. I love you.

Photo by: Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

 [January 09, 2022] (No 9 article this year)

 

37
$ 7.74
$ 7.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 23
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Most would have no idea what is going on without books, there are a plethora of subjects to be learned and if man had learned by only information and traditions being passed down from generation to generation instead of through books, he would not know what he has now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a bibliophile myself, I can't imagine a world without books. Books for me are one of the things that keeps me away from the cruel world we lived in. And not just that, it broadens our knowledge into something that we wish to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Learning isn't actually hard, but reading sometimes can be and most of the knowledge are in books, some times I do imagine being born with all the knowledge required for you to live your life, or as you grow, as a stage, the knowledge just appear there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah a world without books might well have been synonymous to going to the farm without a Cutlass, or claiming you are banker and you have never spotted money. So many synonyms. But it must be noted that books widened our reasoning, it made us to be differentiated from all other creatures. Nice write up. Keep it up Sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Any world without books will be forgotten over time no doubt. To know more about time past is the books written over time about time. No matter what the world become through us over time without it written or recorded, we will be forgotten in no time.

Imagine if a man you feed for three consecutive years forgets about your good works in three days, why won't the world forget about you with any documentation of your deeds? Well, what a world we live in...

Books are time retrieval. It is said readers tend to know more than who we see them to be over time.

Peace

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always excellent in writing articles princess. I love your topic always because we learn a lot of different things/topics. I love this one too. It's all about the book.

I love what you've said, "books enlarge our horizons and increase the depth of our knowledge", it's really true. Books help us a lot. It give us a lot of information. We can learn. We can get ideas, thoughts, opinions, lessons and other helping advantages. Book is a must because without it all of us stand to the word of ignorance. It's really important to read a books.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I also appreciate you for always coming around too. We all learn from each other too. We need to see books as important to us all the time. Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree with you dear, books are our great treasure. They let us know about different facts. I enjoyed reading five love languages.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We hold in our hands great treasures when we read books. Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A world without books will be very chaotic, people will end up doing things that other people have done in the past and failed, but they won't know because that experience wasn't recorded in books. But on the other hand, humans will certainly find a way cope without books, we know how to adapt to different conditions

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The steps the past successes have taken are written in books that if the next coming generation do not take time reading, they will keep failing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Books has contributed immense to the world at large, secrets and way of life are packed in books, just like the white man said, the secret of life is within the books, even The Almighty knows the important of books by giving books to the selected prophets He sent to the world

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I totally agree with you. This is why the importance of books cannot just be left without holding firm to it tightly as it has many secrets disclosed into it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no world without book and it is not even possible to have such world because everything needs documentation. It is not possible to go to farm without Cutlass. This is how it would look like.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! You are right. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The world would be a dull and boring place without books and writing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. The world will be dull without books. Hearsays and stories through mouths can be forgotten but books made history live again making us learn everything that happened before

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for reading and commenting to this topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We learn from book and I personally I count book as history from the day I read about king jaja opobo one of the great businessmen in olden day in Nigeria. Recently you’ve been writing articles about love and relationships I think you’re get ready for yours.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really? That doesn´t mean I am ready 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love books! I don't want to ever find myself in a world without them. That will feel like hell

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those already addicted to books cannot live the world without it. They are glued to each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A world without books is just unimaginable. Haha. I wonder how people would keep telling lies everyday of their lives.

But times when I have exams I always wish for a world without books. 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You want the answers to come flying at you without reading? Lazy boy 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"We explore beautiful things when we read" no truer words have ever been said...!!! Nice write up!!!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the truth dear. Whoever stops reading is old no matter how young he is in years. And who ever continues t read will remain young in mind and spirit no matter how old he is in years ☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are absolutely right. There are knowledge to acquire from reading books. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like I always say, next to oxygen books are the most important things in life. We can never do without them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That´s it. Thank you friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once read in books that Reading a book is seeing the world through the author's eyes. I couldn't agree more

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Definitely, I can´t disagree to this statement too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is quite saddening though now that we have this internet, libraries are getting quieter. But I still prefer reading real.books

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we feel since we have it closer to us, why then do we need to go to the libraries? But what we don´t realize is that there are interesting books in the libraries too. The last time I went to the library, I have planned visiting even if it is once per week after I graduate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Books open you to a different world you never know existed. Despite my very busy schedules, I still squeeze in some time to read even if it's half a chapter a day. Reading books increase EQ and IQ. Books are gateways to the soul.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is it! Whoever that is addicted to books will always try to squeeze time reading even when he is tired. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a passionate book lover, I can't even imagine a world without books. Though now we all are enjoying an advanced world where we can read online but yet our e-books can't give the exact pleasure and contentment like thosebbooks which you can touch and feel not only with your hand and eye but also with your heart.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is the difference between reading holding the book in your hand and reading online. Another thing is considering our eyes to the exposure of the screen. It can damage our eyes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A world without books would be a very empty and sad place, but unfortunately kids read a lot less these days and instead spend more time on their phones...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kids should be taught how to read books instead of spending their time watching and pressing phones with doing nothing tangible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes parents should be wary of phones in the house and cover kids in books instead

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A wiseman ones said, if you want to hide somethings from some certain people, put it in a book, not everyone has the time to read books, some just feel like is student thing and the real life lessons isn’t written in books, they forgot that those are some people experience they can learn from.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is the one who reads that gets the knowledge forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Books can help us as to serve as food for our brain 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Reading books helps in almost all aspect of life. It helps us improve our vocabulary skills and many more.

Thank you princess for this article.

Happy Sunday to you!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Reading is very important. I read for fun though... Just novels and stuff I like... Nice write up...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your article, books are really our guide to greater future and successful life, I love reading books and I studied library science in the university......

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That´s great. Your field would require you reading books.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Books is so helpful, we gain knowledge and learned at the same time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm fond of reading books and I'm sure I can't live without books.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also have started reading books a bit lately but I have finished around 30 books by now. And I learned a lot that one time when I asked my girlfriend do I talk philosophy she laughed and said yeah sometimes, but she said its ok

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You really tried. I am also panning getting to a number of books at the end of the year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your absolutely right, books widened my imagination it helped me collect a lot of knowledge that I've never been known before. Back when I was a high school student I always go to our school library to read some history, science, and almanac books. And it became a hobby of mine since then.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is what we do constantly that we would be used to. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Books are like a guide and a direction to our road paths and hence that is the case, it must be applied with the needed caution and followed up with the mindset of understanding what we have read, reaserched upon if we must make the most out of it cos that is the citadel of hidden knowlege

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I did not read throughout break period while I was still on campus, when we resumed I became left out. You are right dear friend

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It would really affect us when we do not read books for a period of time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Books are source of knowledge. Like I watched in a series titled "SEE"

In a village of blind people, it was through reading of books that made a set of twins who can see learn about things. Even the ones they haven't seen before.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There´s no doubt, books open our eyes to see things and help increase our knowledge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago