Filipino On Sunday

88 120
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

November 22, 2021

Happy Monday readcashers! How was your Sunday noizers?

Mine was very good as I got bored and opted to wander around Central HK where I could be a Filipino again. In my entire stay in HK, I felt like a part of me became Chinese already, lol, especially my tummy. I got fed up eating the same kind of dish each day, although I shouldn't have to. But you can't blame me, as four years of eating Chinese food isn't fun at all, and I seldom eat Filipino food.

Filipino by heart and mind, and by tummy, haha, it's me! As they said food is life, but Filipino food is lifer, lol. Don't be confused about the word lifer as it's just one of our expressions misusing the real meaning of the word. Noise.cash posts of Filipino food are so alluring that made me crave for them.

In the heart of HK is where I could find Filipino food and goods, in Central HK. And without hesitation, I stepped out of the house excitedly and thought about what food to buy aside from the daily basic needs I needed to purchase.

Late in the morning, I woke up and so I strolled in the city past one in the afternoon already. I rode a bus followed by a train and arrived at Central HK half an hour past two in the afternoon. And my tummy was already complaining and aiming for Filipino food when I saw the Worldwide mall.

It is a place in HK where you can find any kind of Filipino food and other products as well as affordable merchandise. There are Catholic churches on Central too and little Filipino divisoria.

Ukay-ukay lang sakalam

Perfect combo of Filipino food was what I chose for my lunch. It comprised of my favorite lumpia shanghai (spring rolls), canton noodles, a thin slice of pork liempo (fried pork belly), with a free small cup of macaroni salad for dessert. Then I opted to buy a set of puto cheese and ube, and kutsinta (steamed rice cakes) since I didn't buy rice, and C2 lemon green tea for my drink. Then headed to the IFC Mall rooftop located just next to the mall.

I love the chili and vinegar sauce πŸ₯°

Indulgently, I devoured my food happily, albeit lonely as my friends weren't around. It wasn't boring at all since many Filipinos were there and playing lively music. Some were dancing tiktok videos, some were singing, and some were telling funny stories.

Not all could enjoy the solitude but I am used to it and I love it. It could give me peace of mind and more time for myself. Especially if I'm in a calming place away from the noisy Chinese family, lol.

Over the IFC Mall was where I stayed for a while, enjoying the relaxing scenery of the city. I felt so full after finishing my food. Who would have thought that I could finish them all 🀣. Of course, I ate them slowly until I satisfied my craving tummy.

Sunday is a bonding day for most Filipinos here in HK. They would gather around in one place, at the parks, on the bridges or underpass, at the beaches, mountains, or on the rooftops, and enjoy the food they prepared for the whole group. Some would take out food, some would cook beforehand.

Undoubtedly, Filipinos are practical and would find ways just to enjoy their holidays. Although sometimes they would spend extravagantly as they want to pamper and treat themselves. They, or should I say, we, deserve it as we work hard for our families in our homeland.

Next stop was wandering around the IFC Mall. I felt elated when I saw Christmas decors. I was like a kid happily taking photos of the decors without minding the co-adults around me, lol.

The below decors were from other stores

Dashingly pretty, the only words I used to describe at how the decors look like. Kids and adults liked them much and some were even taking photos with the giant Christmas tree. Of course, I just can't leave the place without taking one too. Yours truly love Christmas decors and you knew it. Aside from IFC Mall, I also wandered around the city of Central and visited the small divisoria.

Excuse my pink shopping bag's sling, lol

After roaming around, I opted to stay until the sun sets. Firstly, I was lazy to head back home early. Secondly, I want to catch the night vendors on the streets, hoping to get affordable pants for winter. Luckily, I got cheaper Forever 21 winter pants worth HK$25 each. That was already cheap compared to the ones in stores. There were shirts, caps, bags, bedsheets as well with different brands but I didn't buy any. Lastly, I wanted to eat Jollibee for dinner and there isn't Jollibee in my place if I'll go back home early. Unfortunately, the place was full so I opted to take out and stayed outside the IFC mall where many Filipinos were staying too.

Yey! My tummy finally exclaimed in joy and became Filipino again, from lunch to dinner, it's all worth it despite the quite expensive prices, lol. I seldom treat myself of Filipino food so it doesn't matter. Before heading back home, I bought special hopia as I craved for it after seeing @Parot's post on noisecash. It's perfect for breakfast with a cup of tea.

There were Dunkin doughnuts, Leche flans, Goldilocks cakes, suman, biko, mango float, Pinoy spaghetti, and other Filipino delicacies but they can't be saved for days so I chose this food as I could eat them for 2 to three days, lol.

(Here are the winter pants I bought from the night illegal vendors, haha).

(Here's the IFC Mall where I stayed the whole afternoon. Behind it is the second tallest building in HK. Pretty isn't it?)

That's all folks. Pardon me if you craved too after seeing these Filipino food photos. Haha.

Thanks for reading.

Feel free to read my other acrostic writings:

Sunday Ramblings ft Acro Y' Stic

I Want To Run Away

Because Of You (My Life Has Changed)

Just So Random

I'm Not Lazy, Just Tired

Love Thy Self

The Will To Write

Β©read.cash/@Jane (All Rights Reserved 2021)

Time of writing: 11/21/21 @7pm 

47
$ 15.68
$ 14.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Infinity
$ 0.11 from @gertu13
+ 35
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Jollibee, all time fave. Haha. Pero di ko inexpect na may ukay ukay din pala ang cute. 😁 Yung part na nag sasama sama mga Pinoy, same na same sa isang scene ng movie ni Kathryn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jollibee talaga everyone's favorite. May mga kabarangay din ako na nanjan sa HK. Pag sunday din nag lilive at nagsa sama sama silang lahat mga taga barangay din naman. Kumakain at umuupo sa sidewalks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang saya tignan, may ukay din pala sa hk hahah. Nong nag work pa tita ko sa hk, ganyan din sila ng mga kaibigan niya, nag tatambay sila every day off. Tas ganyan na ganyan din yung scene sa Hello Love, Goodbye nila kath sa hk. Ang saya, kasi parang nasa pinas lang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, may ganyan pala sa ibang bansa Im sure hindi ka mahohomesick dyan ate kasi there are still filipino dishes at may ukay ukay pa hahaha i am fond of ukay ukay pa naman. Yung food talaga is nakakatakam 🀀🀀 pangalawang food blog na ata tong nabasa ko dis day sign na ba to para kumain charoot hahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Gawa ka rn haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nalaman kong may ganyan sa hk yung sa palabas ni kathryn at alden e hehe kung san nagtitipon tipon mga pinoy pag sunday. Anyway, iba parin pag sa Pilipinas ka kumain ng Filipino foods hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo naman. Totoo yun. Nakita ko rn shooting nla😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow what a beautiful presentation of food, I will have to look for Filipino recipes, that looks delicious.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for touring me around haha. I kinda missed the place. Ang sarap ng mga kinain mo sis! Nag-gaganon din pala mga kabayan hehe. Yung sa sidewalk sila nag stay :) Nagulat ako nung first time na nakita ko sa Central lalo don sa ilalim ng mga foot bridge.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang dami db? Yun tambayan ng mga pinoynhehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis, minsan kakagulat din hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu gigil ako gusto ko makaapak sa ibang bansa? Paano po ba? Hahaha charot.

Answerte nyu naman po sa buhay. God bless you more po

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's the same for me. Your food I've never tried but seeing the pictures make me want to eat Filipino food. How nice you have indulged yourself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Just seldom to happen haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No food like home meals. Most people that are abroad, usually look for Africa made meals to eat so they won't feel lost

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's one thing about living abroad; you will hardly eat your native food and even when you do, It's not the same as when you eat it back in your country.

Your Sunday was really filled with fun and yes, lots of food 🀩 My stomach growled in anger as I looked at those pictures of food you posted πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true. It's not the same anymore as how we eat it in our country . Actually, some taste different as the ingredients aren't Filipino-made.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung ukay talaga eh hehe. You surely had so much fun ate Jane. It's evident naman sa eyes mo oh, happy na happy hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You had a great Sunday and it seems you had fun. I've never eaten Filipino food and would love to try it ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Why not. You can even cook one 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have started eating this food right from noise.cash I didn't know they are more here . I am pained that there is no how we can download food from the internet I would have downloaded all this food.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay bongga ng gala, ako kaya when hahaha. Puro shopee nlng ako eh, Grabe ang mga foods ah, nakakagutom, now ko pa tlga nabasa sa madaling araw. πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Morning madam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You and your camera are the best of read.cash. Thanks for this wonderful virtual tour!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Jollibee and all those delicious foods, just as well I just ate lunch. I am glad you had a good time Jane and had some homely reminders 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. Thanks.yes I had fun yesterday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nalang at maraming Pinoy sa HK, parang dala na din natin doon ang culture. Sabi nila parang Pinoy-town ang ibang lugar sa dami ng mga Filipino.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sa central every Sunday..prang tambayan ng mga pinay yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This gave me the chills… I’m happy with this as I got full already without eating anything and that’s just strange πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ thank you for a lovely food trip dear

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Albeit virtually πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ansasarap naman... with all the walking, deserve mo yan!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God! I enjoyed the read so much like I was just there with you. Hahaha I could feel the thirst from not having to take our native meal because even some part of our country they take some kind of different meal and there are general ones too.

Enjoy your time ma’am. You are looking pretty 🀩 to make me crush on you over and over again.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. You are a naughty kiddo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!😲 Ganda naman sa Hongkong miss Jane. Naalala ko tuloy yung movie ni Kathryn na every Sunday daw nag tipon-tipon daw yung mga Filipinos. Nag crave ako sa lunch mo miss Jane.πŸ₯°πŸ€€

Yung mga snacks then yung Hopia talaga ang sarap. Thank you sa pag tour miss Jane. Nakakagutom lang yung mga foods.😁🀀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hopia lng sakalam 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing shopping alone and forget about sister? Hahha You know what i love shopping. We had a gramments shop shared with another person.
I used to go and pick all good stuff to wear lol Secondly, i love food too, you are making me hungry by showing these food stuff.

I was thinking that Philippines is average country but it look modern. It is beautiful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's HK 🀣 not Philippines

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh sorry πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While reading po, iniimagine ko yung movie ni Kathryn Bernado na "Hello Love Goodbye".hihi May mga scene kasi na same po, lalo na yung mga kababayan natin na nagtitipon-tipon. I enjoyed reading at nagrereklamo ang tiyan ko sa mga foods. Lalo na yung Jollibee.hihi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay jan mismo sla magshoot dati sa Central. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved the virtual tour. It brings back memories. Your plate of food, spectacular πŸ€—πŸ˜Š

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Have you been here in HK?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, in China a few years ago.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh foods 🀧🀀, me want. Nakakamiss naman talaga yang mga iyan ee. Dika nag buy ng biscuit? Like Bravo? Haha Hansel?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hindi madam.. More on gluten yan. Enough na yung hopia haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

andaming pagkaing pinoy at nakakamiss nga naman talaga ang hopia...ang ganda nung mall madam aigoooo na enjoy mo talaga yung day off mo ...buti naman kung ganun

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehem minsan lng gumala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems like I was visiting Hong Kong already just by reading your post my friend. Sometimes I wonder how it feels like to live in another country. Not to mention you crafted the article nicely.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa wakas ate you pamper yourself😊 Halata na you enjoy your whole day😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Half day lng . late na gumising 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was around Janey. I was waiting for you to call me but you had to go and enjoy that meal alone? Looking all that pretty? You made the headlines for causing traffic and that's how I found out and reading this post now.. oh well.. what a treat πŸ₯°πŸ˜

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣🀣 you didn't tell me that you were waiting 🀣🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ I couldn't resist watching you from afar. Kinda cute 😍πŸ₯°β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aigoo. Thankyuu πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❀️πŸ₯°πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜πŸ˜ when you always look adorable... You make it look effortlessly. You are doing well...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I ate breakfast few minutes back, but i might go back to the kitchen after reading this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Cook some spaghetti Chef Valour 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can call me that againπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha . oh you love that name haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see you and I understand that you have spent a lot of time happily. I think if I go around a lot. I also want to go to this HK city. Because there are different types of food available here. I like to eat these foods. Besides, shopping malls look very beautiful.The problem is you always go alone, don't tell us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Don't worry.. I would inform you next time 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh myyyy. Na iimagine ko if na sa HK din ako, panigurado lagi akong nasa Central every rest day ko hihi. I can't live withouy Filipino cuisines πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayun alam mo na san pupunta next time 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to get to know another culture. Food attracts me 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Food is life haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you miss home food lng din ang tatapat tsaka ung makita at marinig ang tagalog or ur very own dialect would make you forget na ur not alone... Ung hopia, sana meron din dto sa tabi kaso sa bayan lng abeylabol e...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Makasalamuha mo lng mga pinoy. Oks na. Prang nsa pinas lng hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww such an amazing place hope i could go there hehehe.. Sarap sa eyes namn kahit ukay-ukay lang sakalam but the quality was worth it. Good destination and a perfect place for vacation πŸ’–

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure nice meeting you here :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I kinda like your country. I hope to visit when I get enough BCH

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not mine. Im just working here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow sana makapasyal din ako jan soon no ang ganda talaga ng mga products jan, pahingi nalang ako sa mga foods mo sis hehe sarap eeee. Salamat sa pa tour ate nakakita din ako ng magandang view hehe nagutom pa hahahha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In the future.. Malay mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No doubt that there are lovely things to sightsee in HK and I could see the beauty of it. I wished I could taste some Filipino foods with you 🀭🀭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can cook one.. Watch YT videos how to .haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para na din akong nakarating sa Hong-Kong salamat sa pag iikot hahah,miss ko na din kumain ng mga Filipino food nakakain lang ako pag pasko or pag pumupunta sa embassy, wala kasing malapit na kainan or tibdahan dito sa may amin

$ 0.02
2 years ago

San ka pla ulit? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito sa Kuwait

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit puro food to?..ahaha..nakakagutom!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I intentionally went there to shop pinoy foods 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I intentionally went there to shop pinoy foods 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh, the food!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Have you been to IFC mall before?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Craving for it 🀀

$ 0.01
2 years ago