Traditional Northern Ireland's Broth

18 32
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Hello Food Lovers!

Our menu for today: Ulster Broth

This is Northern Ireland's traditional comfort food. It might not be as well known as the "Ulster Fry" but this warming soup is just what you need on a cold day. This is my Mum's(87 years old) recipe. You should know her from the article that I posted recently. It's my husbands wish for me to know how she did it so I can make it myself when Mum is not around.

It's been raining lately and I'm not feeling well. So this is the best time to have our hearty broth!

These are the ingredients that we need:

  • Marrow bones/boiling meat

  • Soup Mix Packet consists of pearl barley, red split, lentils, green split peas, yellow split peas

  • Carrots (2 pieces medium cut in quarter)

  • Parsley (chopped)

  • Leeks (washed and cut half an inch)

  • Parsnip (2 pieces cut in quarter)

  • Onions (2 medium onions, quartered)

Let's start cooking!

Boil the meat for a quarter of an hour together with one cup of soup mix and a half cup of dried peas and the onions. Add some salt on it.

We always use boiling meat that we usually get at the butcher's. The bone marrow, the fattier the tastier it will be. Bone broth is rich in minerals and helps to strengthen your bones. It's also rich in fatty acids, healthy nutrients and amino acid.

Use a non-stick pot as much as possible. And make sure you check it time to time if it's sticking. Don't let it to get thick. Keep adding water if you needed too.

Keep boiling until you get this colour and texture. That means this is ready for the vegetables. Take out the boiling meat from the pot.

Then add the remaining vegetables: the leeks, carrots and parsnip.

And then the parsley.

Keep stirring. Don't let it stick or you might burn it. Like what I did the last time lol. Cook this for 20-30 minutes until all the vegetables are well cooked.

Try your own, all you need now is wheat bread, plain bread or baguette! Whichever dear!

Bon Appétit!

I hope you can give it a try! And tell me how delicious it is!

Back home in the Philippines, our comfort food is what we called "lugaw" or "rice porridge" some call it "congee" and "sopas" or our American version of "chicken noodle soup" That's what we always craving when it's wet outside. It's better than a blanket!

THANK YOU AGAIN FOR READING!

❤❤❤

Check out my Travel Articles

La Paz Sand Dunes Adventure in Laoag

My Unforgettable Trip in Morocco

Baluarte Zoo and Safari Gallery in Vigan

Go back in time in Vigan

Why I love Pattaya, Thailand

Jeep Safari Adventure in Turkey- Part 2

Jeep Safari Adventure in Fethiye(Water Fighting and more) -Part 1

My First Scuba Diving Experience in Fethiye

Staying at the Garcia Resort and Spa in Oludeniz, Turkey

12 Island Boat Trip in Fethiye

Airport Transfer Service in Turkey that You Can Book Online

The Best Turkish Bath Experience in Hisaronu

How to Apply for Turkey E-Visa Online

Tips on Flying During the Pandemic

Remember to SUBSCRIBE if you liked my content! Hit LIKE and COMMENT for more! ❤️❤️❤️

P.S.

I created a travel community named "Travel Around the World" if you have any travel post please feel free to use this community so we can all share our travel experiences. Thank you!

9
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @idiosyncratic
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

So that's chicken noodle soup? Or something similar to it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a great dish, I hope to be able to cook it, however, my chances are small because I always make a mess in the kitchen, I give myself small chances, but I will try for sure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I just subscribed you now. Thanks to your bedtime snack post, I now got an idea of what to take at night instead of rice lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That looks good 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Excellently written recipe with detailed instructions on how to prepare this delicious dish. It’s on the menu at my house regularly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear. Really appreciate it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always choose to eat home-made traditional food than any kind of fast food. The dishes seem delicious ^^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, and wow glad to know that you prefer home-made than the fast-food one and it's definitely better!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's so green and healthy! I like vegetables, especially tomato, then comes other such cucumber, make salad of them. Don't eat bread..just that and little cheese..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! Really healthy and delicious. Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

looks delicious!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks pusher!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting recipes and delicious and healthy, thanks for sharing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you love. I hope you're keeping well!

$ 0.00
3 years ago