Things I want to learn

6 47
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Education is something that I value. For me, I think that knowledge holds more power than anything in this world. Of course, I know money might seem more powerful, but with knowledge one can find a way to make more money than ever.

However, today I will not be focusing on things that need formal education nor things that will generate money. In this article, I will share the things that I want to learn for fun.

Master a musical instrument

Note that I use master since knowing how to use a musical instrument is a bit achievable.

Exhibit A is me. I know how to play kalimba. But I am not a master at it. It means that I could play a few songs but only the basic ones.

When I first got the kalimba I played it everyday but it had been months now since I last held it.

Sad thing is that I bought a new kalimba as a gift for myself when 2021 ended. But I have yet to play it.

So I want to master it.

Mindfulness

This is actually a part of the book that my psychologist recommended me to read. It was a component of a therapy known as DBT but I was stuck.

Even after reading the idea behind the exercise, I find myself so lost. After all, I have been living life with so many things running on my mind at once that the idea of fully focusing on one thing is a bit difficult to grasp.

I still want to learn it since I feel that it would prove to be a nice experience.

Risk management

A part of bipolar disorder is impulsivity. So I know that I will always have struggles with risk management. But I want to learn how to better manage risks despite my impulsive nature.

I do not want to be too conservative as a risk taker since chances might slip through my fingers. But I do not want to be too much of a risk taker to the point that I will gamble on the losing side.

Actually, my past investments were a major reason why the psychiatrist was able to see that I do not have just major depression but rather I am bipolar.

Planning

A good daily routine is something that I struggle with but it is something that I desperately need. As I mentioned, I am bipolar so a structure is needed to help me become stable.

Being as go with the flow type of person is not a good thing for me as this has led me to many impulsive decisions that brought negative consequences.

So being good with planning is something that I really want to learn. By a good plan, I want to be able to establish a routine that I could stick with.

As of now, I am still trying to find a good routine but I hope that I will be able to find the right one for me soon.

Self confidence

I think that I have a heathy amount of self confidence but that changed.

I already started to have a low confidence when I got cheated on. Then the decline of my self confidence continued as I gained weight during the pandemic.

My self confidence recovered a lot since meeting my partner. But my self confidence also suffered since I got my bipolar diagnosis.

I am still in the process of building my self confidence but I want to make it so it will never be broken down again.

Therapy is helping me a lot in this aspect. It is difficult since it opens up memories I would rather forget but I appreciate the insights I gained during each session.

Closing words

Most of the skills I wanted to learn are related to managing my disorder. Well, I do have a lot of other things I want to learn but these are just some of them.

I do have things that I wanted to learn even before my diagnosis but I will just share it in a different article.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

June 2022 Articles Summary

May 2022 Articles Summary

April 2022 Articles Summary

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

12
$ 4.34
$ 4.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @WanderingMedStudent
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

Manifesting sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Playing musical instrument helps a friend great deal in coping with his depression. Before it was termed manic depressive and now known as bipolar. Glad you have found a good support system with your partner. A sudden crashed of your self confidence that usually at it's highest are triggered by mishaps on your past relationship. Really wish you the best my dear , i know how hard it is. Hope you find an activity that would give you peace of mind and a heart that will feel happiness even in simple things.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This articles of yours made me wanna think of the things that I want to relearn than the things that I want to learn. Although, I still have some things that I want to learn but I think I might just focus more on the things that I want to relearn.

I can also relate in the Planning, I want to create a routine where I can follow it and not get exhausted everytime that I couldn't do all of the tasks that I planned to do.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I want them all too. Does that mean I have a bipolar disorder too?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No haha. Bipolar is a serious disorder that needs to be diagnosed by a psychiatrist

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko din yung musical instrument sis. Gusto ko yan matuto. Gusto ko yung piano sis tyaka guitar. Mama ko kasi marunong mag gitara sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago