Prepare to travel with pets

9 32
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Pets bring a lot of happiness in my life. They can be a source of stress sometimes but their cuteness make the inconvenience worth it.

Last May 20, my family and I decided to go to the province. Well, we did not decide it on that day since it was planned a month ahead.

As we were planning these things, I was worried about the kittens since I just got them back then and they were so tiny. I thiught my parents would tell me to just leave them in the care of someone. I was not fond of this idea since the kittens had to be handfed back then. But as they grow more and started to eat by themselves, I thought that it might be okay to ask my youngest sister's cat lover friend to look after the kittens for 3 days. Of course, I will give payment for that and provide all the materials needed for the kittens. What I did not like about this plan of mine is that I do not want to be away from the kittens for that many days.

Fortunately, my parents allowed me to take the kittens along. The only condition is that I have to look after them.

I was also worried for Moshi but not because of the idea that she might get left behind. I was worried since in her last travels she vomitted during the ride. It was probably due to motion sickness. We do not have our own car so we did not manage to let Moshi get used to travelling in far places

The preparation I made for our travels included mostly of mking sure that Oreo, Presto, and Moshi will be comfortable. They will be staying at an unfamiliar place after all so I wanted to help them as much as I can.

I made a bit of a checklist to ensure that I will not forget anything for them.

For Oreo, and Presto

  • Wet food

    I included this since I do not want the kittens to just eat dry food with no wet food mixed in. I read that it is better if they would eat more wet food than dry food as dry food can make them overweight. Wet food also helps in ensurin that they get enough liquids during the day.

  • Dry food

    I am not rich enough to put the kittens on a pure wet food diet so I included dry food in their things.

  • Food bowls

    I brought 2 bowls for them. This ensures that if they start fighting each other when sharing food, I can have an extra bowl on hand. If they eat in only one bowl then the other can be used for water.

  • Portable water container

    This one is something that I actually ordered for Moshi but I still included it here since the also drink water there.

  • Litter box, and plastic bags

    I wish I could leave the litter box as it takes up a lot of space but I included it in the list since it is better to ensure that the kittens will not have accidents. I needed plastic bags for when I scoop out their poops.

  • Pet wet wipes

    Since they are still young (and they are kittens), they have yet to take a bath. I use et wet wipes to make sure that I can help in keeping them clean.

  • Carrier with their bed

    I brough a carrier given to me by my sister's bestfriend's mother. It had enough space for the kittens. I also put their bed on it so they are surrounded by a familiar scent.

For Moshi

  • Dry food

    Moshi ran out of dry food. She finished eating her 3kg of dry food and I could not be any prouder of her. So I asked my sister to buy Moshi dry food since it is her dog after all.

  • Wet food

    I also packed some wet food that I bought for Moshi so it can be mixed with her dry food.

  • Food bowl

    She needs somewhere to eat so I brought her food bowl. I only brought one since she has a portable water container. And she also drinks frpm her food bowl if needed.

  • Portable water container

    I originally bought this one for our daily walks but my sister got a new schedule and we could not keep doing our daily walks. But the portable water container is still useful for travel.

  • Poop shovel, and plastic bags

    I brought this along so that when Moshi does her business, it will not be left all over the pkace to be step on.

  • Pet wet wipes

    This is useful in keeping Moshi's paws clean. It is also helpful in wiping away her saliva during the ride.

  • Leash (2)

    My sister bought Moshi a super lon leash that she wanter Moshi to use when Moshi swims. I brought the leash that Moshi use for her walks.

  • Clothes

    I brought clothes for Moshi since she is such a spoiled princess so she needs to look like one.

  • Towel

    My sister packed a towel for Moshi since we planned to let Moshi swim.

  • Anti-motion sickness tablet

    This is the most impirtant thing in this checklist for Moshi. Good thing that my elder sister brought one for Moshi. It was useful in making sure that Moshi will not struggle so much in the travel.

Before we travelled, my sister bathe Moshi so she will smell nice.

Closing words

Preparing to travel with pets is a lot of work. But it is enjoyable to see their reactions when they reach a new place so the tiredness from the preparation is worth it.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

April 2022 Articles Summary

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

12
$ 3.47
$ 3.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @akagaminoDneloy
+ 1
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

There are so many responsibilities in owning a pet, that's why I haven't gotten one for myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually, traveling with pet(s) is quite discomforting for me. I brought my pets once but it didn't result good. I hope they are behaved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakainspire naman sis. Dapat ganyan yung preparations before mag travel with pets. May natutunan kami dito sa article mo sis. Nagkaroon kami ng idea.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'd really like to see a pic of how grown they must be looking now, maybe in your next article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have managed lots of things for your pet. You are taking them great care. I have never been accompanied with pet that's why I don't know much but it's really can be stressing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So many things to prepare for them, I don't have any pets at home, but I like them a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm thinking about other peoples, what they'd told you after seeing this kind of stuffs. I don't have pet but soon i collect one from street😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hassle yan but for the love of our pets. Kakayanin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I tried traveling with a puppy before but it was just 6 hours. He was asleep most of the time so it was not a problem to me. He was so still in a box hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago