Dating and Academics.

66 148
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

A lot of people, especially students feel a relationship isn't for them. Some even think they can't combine both but I beg to differ. Well, this approach might not be one size fits all because as individuals, we should know ourselves better to know what works for us and what won't work for us. Some people get easily distracted and would never want to have anything to do with relationships of any kind and that's okay. Know yourself, that's the keyword.

Have you ever had a situation where you are writing an exam the next day and there was this complicated part you were trying to get over but as you were racking your head, a text message just came into your phone and it reads "I miss you. I wish you success tomorrow." How would that make you feel like a lady or guy in love? Confess hahaha... You would smile and it might be a fresh of breath air to some which would encourage them but to some, it might be a distraction and they won't be able to read anything again as they keep reading that text over and over again instead of the textbook.

Your academics and your relationship are both important and they both require your attention and seriousness. Who wouldn't want to have things going smoothly for them - having the best of grades while being in love with someone you love and who loves you back? If you are the type that needs to figure out how to balance both, then maybe you might find one or two things to learn from this.

This is life and a lot of things about life would want to get your attention. Things would drag you left and right but having the understanding of how to manage situations would put you at an advantage and that's what we need in life; to be in control of things while going after our goals.

Image Source.

Schedule:

This is the first thing I would recommend for anyone who wants to balance their academics with their relationship life. You need to plan out your schedule and be intentional about it. Allocate time for the things you need to do, starting with your lectures, assignments, eating time and a time with your partner. Put your partner in your schedule but you have to be committed to this schedule because it is easier to forget it when you get distracted with the butterflies in your tummy. Making time for your books as well as your partner would be appreciated by both.

What do you want to do during the day? Factor your partner into that equation. The truth is those who truly matter to you and those you matter to, creating a bit of time for them should not be a problem. Most people hide under being busy SOMETIMES when they are trying to avoid you. It's never about the length of time you spend with each other but about the quality of time you share together.

Most people say they are spending time together and when they are with each other, they pull out their phones and text others or play games. How do you even bond together? This problem might be an issue when the only thing both people share together is just bedmatics, nothing deeper... No daily chats, no sharing of gifts or even encouraging words.

Your love life shouldn't be a distraction for your education because if you and your partner are on the same page, with the same ambition to do something worthwhile in this life, then you both have all the time ahead of you after that important phase of education is over. Yes, work-life would be there but at least you would have each other to come back to. Your education is a strong basis except your line isn't about education and that's totally fine. Not everyone would go through that line.

When you are with your partner too, don't let your studies hinder your time together except there are things you needed help with regarding your studies and he or she can help you with it. This is why having a schedule is important so you can balance both sides without distractions.

Image Source.

Do It Together:

If you are in the same institution with your partner, then try to study together but pick an open space. It's more tricky when you are both in the same room, enclosed within the walls, distractions are bound to happen and you will end up spending more time loving up than you should for studying.

It helps easy bonding and of course, helping each other in areas of weakness when you both study together. I once shared a post a few days ago where I said that most people don't find time to bond together and all they do is "bedmatics" which makes it harder for them to know the tiny details about each other.

It's like killing one bird with two stones when you study together because it means you are both spending time together as well as prioritizing your academics. It's never a crime to do both but as I have said, understand what works best for you.

...to be continued...

Let me stop right here and would continue from here tomorrow. How is the new year treating you already?

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

31
$ 6.08
$ 5.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 23
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

For those not focused, dating can affect their academic work. But if able to plan and strike a balance, they can run both. Hahaha. I dated while in school, I still graduated with good grade and got married to the same guy. None suffered. 😂. Besides an understanding mate will help you succeed in your academics, not distract you with shows, night parties and all that are not worth it

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha you seemed to have balanced it well and you are an example of the fact that both can be achieved with focus and an understanding partner. This is sweet ❣️❣️❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another very well written and composed post Olasquare. This post was obtained through Dreemport.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spending time together isn´t as spending quality time together. Many people do not actually know how to balance their relationships and academics together. You find some giving all their 100% into relationship and leaving their studies at stake, it shouldn´t be so but to make both work at the same time. I believe planning out their schedules is very important if they want to achieve the best in their academics, likewise their relationships.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's spot on, KP. That schedule is important and it takes discipline to stick to it. It becomes easier when you have a like minded partner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's just as you said, it all depends on the individual. While some persons are able to handle dating and academics, it is not the same for others who let romantic relationships to overshadow their academic life

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's so true...for those who can't handle it, they should just focus on their academics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back when I was in college I could not study if I am with my boyfriend. I got concious😂, I always got.distructed..that I is why i dont want to see him if I have an incoming exams

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha at least you understand your kind of person and that's good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know, dating and academics can really go together. But the potential for it being abused is high. That's why it is often advised to stay clear of it especially for youngies.

But dating during your times at school sweet sha. Especially when you're broke. She is your first line of contact when hunger wan use your destiny play ball.

All thesame moderation is gold.

$ 0.03
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

Lmaaaaaaaao. You made me laugh and you are right, youngsters are told to stay clear because it's easy to get distracted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes na😀. Relationship na their mate!

$ 0.00
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

Lmao!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel everyone is different. From my experience, I would say it’s not balanced for some people including myself. The lady get distracted in some ways while the guy might not. I started dating last year and I would tell you I got really distracted by it, because I haven’t been serious with anyone as I am with this person. Everything he does count to me. Balancing it for a lady is not easy especially if she’s serious with her education. So, last semester my boyfriend was doing his I.T while I was writing exams, we agreed not to see, but I don’t know how we couldn’t adhere to that.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am sorry it didn't quite work out for you but it's not even about the gender now but mostly about the person. I know of a guy who got distracted too and the lady seem to do okay. It's about knowing your kind of person and having someone who values the things you value and would help push you towards your goal. Like mind helps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dating while studying is so much stressful hahaha but I love it when there's a person who supports you and always there beside you ahhh I always imagine having someone and we review and study together. I have a soft spot on people whos willing to accompany me even they hate studying hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha, I feel you on that. It's important to find someone who is like-minded like us to make it easier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah but it's more fun when both of you have different personalities and views on things but if you both really want each other then you wil learn to like those things for each other.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bring like-minded isn't to be the same but more of having the same goal to prioritize their education.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've done that before, I'm in a relationship while studying. Some others thought it was a hindrance but for those whose perspective is the motivation that can be brought to the relationship to study more is the best thing to succedd to both.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Fantastic and that's why we need to get someone whose goals and visions align with ours. Some can multitask and compartmentalize while some can't. For those who can't, they should stick to one thing at a time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. That's the only option they have, they might choose love and Abandoned their studies just kidding Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha I hope not. I hope they prioritize their education.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah it is very crazy move if they choose that over love, but who knows if they truly love the person haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh well...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, some students might have good intentions towards relationship but might decide to hold on because of academic stress. They wouldn't want a situation whereby their academic or relationship might suffer since kind of people are 100% committed into whatever goal they wish to achieve.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right... I mentioned it also that some people want to devote their all to their academics because they won't be able to give their all to relationship because that one demands attention too but for those who want to try and balance things out, then they can try the aforementioned points.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually relationship experience is also part of education. And if one does now learn it while in school, then when? School is not mainly for academics, we are supposed to learn of different aspects of life. But those aspects should not override the main purpose which is academics.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right...academics should be important which is the main purpose of being in school any way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You didn't know how helpful it is. Well I'm in my first relationship right now with mahh badii and also just shifted to engineering course. And allocating time is kinda hard especially when you're both affectionate person. Despite that's we're also responsible to our actions and so we can manage our time very well she's my study badiii. Though she's on entrepreneur course

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am so glad this helps and yes, for those who are affectionate and would always want to be around each other, those pointers would help. I am glad you found it useful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wise one from the great man of words. I find myself guilty of combining both because once I tried it I realized I am kicking myself to a pit of danger in my academics. But now I have gotten to a stage where academic are minimal then I can focus on relationships and money. The battle between both is quite interesting and would also create a bond between us too 😂 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha he said the battle between both hahahaha. I feel you on that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already did that, I mean I have my boyfriend and also did my studies and actually went well. I strive hard to got a good grade but I never forget that I have to spend time with him too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's amazing. You seemed to balance it well and that's a good testimony that it can both be combined.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Studying and making love at the same period won’t work it either one’s leave one for one but both are important and have different time. There’s time for study and as well there’s time for love.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The way you said the making love made me laugh. Yes, there is time for both.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a wonderful Text quoting " I miss you. I wish you will be successful tomorrow" ..if these message came to me...I would rather make the exam easier and understandable..very provocative motivation thanks to you author 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely...to some it's motivating and to others, it could be a distraction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes...we might do the wrong way...sir..but thanks I've learned a lot from this article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Deeply appreciated. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome....😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a student in a tertiary institution I believe college is the best place and time to try out and practice relationship. But using myself as a case I don't have a partner 😅. Hopefully this year.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lmao! I agree with you, that's the best place to do both because it's preparation for life outside school when job would come and you still need to be in a relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think people really don't want to date while studying because they believe it will distract them, but I think if you're serious with it, you won't be distracted another thing is that, they believe when they finish and make money, they will find the right person.. I always find this sense of reasoning marveling

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha people do what works for them. Some can balance it while some can't. Some can compartmentalize while others find it distracting. It's good to find a partner we can be on the same page with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well that's true, in my finals and I have a girlfriend, a very understanding one and I can balance things, also I would like your opinion on my recent article., the bible and the quran

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great article.

Knowing how to balance both studying and relationship is a great idea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article has caught my attention. I'll be waiting for the continuation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad it did. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a very good thing to know how to balance the equation between relationship and study because they are both important

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely...they are both important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a tough one trying to combine both because it comes with lots of distraction but the case when you both are in the same institution, it can be very good because you will both understand what each is going through with academics and it might make the relationship demands easier.

I met my lover in school and I can't tell you what it looks like. About studying together is good, it helps a lot because you get to spend time together reading and it can be complicated if both sides can't resist each other sexually.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha yes, that sexual tension and that's why it is advisable if their plan was to study then they should both do it in an open space or the library that won't call for whispering and engagement. It helps both to be focused on the job at hand.

Yes, reading together especially if they are both in the same institution helps and they won't be able to place unnecessary demands especially when the other person is struggling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just as you have rightly said. The best word to use is "know yourself well and know what works for you best." I know of a guy who in his final year dropped from being first class student to second class because he got distracted by getting involved in a love twist. Another person might successfully combine two irons hence the need to know what works for individual.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow... I feel for the guy. It's important to know what works for you especially when you are in school that demands your full attention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything must be fair 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, balance it is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helping each other in subjects one of them don't understand issa bae. 💯

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely... One stone for two birds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those in school really need this article... Very sound advice... Thanks for sharing friend...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Imma little bit smile at the phrase, do it together, wherein you're right they must study in open space, or else nothing studying happen. As for me, dating and studying are okay it's just a matter of time management.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly... It is about time management which is why they need to stick to a schedule.

$ 0.00
2 years ago