Just Play With Your Shadow

62 111
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

September 25, 2021

Time of writing: 2 pm 09/24/21

Are you familiar with this quote of Lady Gaga?

2nd to the last floor with lights on is our flat 🀭

Turning back the hands of time, when I first noticed my shadow behind me, I got scared and curious at the same time. Many questions formed at the back of my head, just like how it was formed and why it kept on chasing me wherever I go. I even thought it was a monster that wanted to eat me. I even touched it but it's intangible that made me more curious about it. It happened when I stood below the shining sun and its rays started to cast a shadow behind me.

But as time went by and I started to gain wisdom, I learned why and how it was formed. Then I began to play along with it. It keeps on changing shapes as I move an inch or farther. It keeps on following me wherever I go in different directions. It's changing its direction as well depending on the time and position of the sun. But as I enter a room, it disappears. When the sun is off, it is nowhere to be found as well. However, when there is some light shining through, my shadow appears again.

Even if we wanted to remove our shadows, we can't eradicate them because they are part of our lives. They will follow us wherever we go, whatever we do, and expectedly appear whenever there is light, even in the darkest hours.

However, in a deeper sense, if we don't appreciate the surrounding lights and play along with our shadows, they become bigger and bigger, until such time that our shadows stay permanently even without any presence of light at all. The shadows of life could create dark days in our lives, turning bright days into gloomy ones, and covering the white fluffy clouds with thick dark clouds.

And oftentimes, we let the shadows stay longer instead of eliminating them from our lives.

When my heart suffered too much pain, a huge shadow clung to me for a long time and it even spanned so far that I couldn't reach it. And even how hard I tried to stab and step on it, it would still stand strong and indestructible.

When my father committed adultery and betrayed my mother, shadows of different shapes were formed inside our home. I can't even call it home back then as things were shattered into pieces, the once whole house was deformed. Along with the shadows were the whimpers and cries, each night during the silent hours when everyone hit the sack.

When I got no results for my job applications in Manila, shadows started to form, and fear, uncertainties, and doubt tagged along. I questioned myself, "am I good enough?" Seemed like days were as dark as my shadows. And even if I went to a brighter spot, the light would always cast a darker shadow behind me.

When homesickness and depression followed me abroad, the shadow that I once buried in oblivion appeared again and even darker than ever before. It would traverse so far and become uncontrollable and indestructible.


But after overcoming a tribulation, I would sit in the corner of my darkroom and would mull over the matter and would ask myself,

"What's the purpose of my shadow?"

There are different reasons why we have shadows in life. And perhaps, one of the reasons why I am having shadows in my life is to let me grow physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. And instead of attaching myself to the shadow, I chose to step closer into the light.

My shadow can span so far and I could reach the same length as well if I would allow myself and perceptions to be stretched. I shouldn't be afraid to grow because it would make me better and stronger just like my indestructible shadow and even how many times I step on it, it would remain strong and unbreakable.

I just have to play along with my shadow and have fun with its varying dim figures and accept the fact that it would always appear at any point in my life. It is not any shadow that matters here, but the appreciation of the surrounding lights. Although it is unavoidable to be affected by the shadows of life, I have to constantly remind myself to always stand in the light rather than focusing on its menacing silhouette.


Those pain, fear, uncertainties, doubt, rejections, drawbacks, and depressions form shadows in our lives. We can also see different shadows everywhere, on the walls, streets, even inside our houses, caused by intercepting the lights. They will form at any point in our lives and will attach to us wherever we go because they are inevitable.

However, those shadows can be diminished if instead of focusing on its intangible dim figures that brought dark clouds into our lives, we have to look at the positive perspectives and notice the purpose of the surrounding lights.

Remember that behind those thick dark clouds is the sun that would reappear again once the rain receded. And shadow would appear again at any time, BUT, we just have to play with it and DON'T allow it to darken our entire life.

If you are currently having a shadow in life, that only means that you are stepping into the light. And if you are standing in the light, that only means that you are on the right path.

So keep going and notice the surrounding light. Let it light your way until you see your ideal destination.

You're a badass, so keep fighting. Don't let your shadow ruin your dreams. πŸ˜‰

This article was inspired by my noisecash post https://noise.cash/post/l42zg248

If you don't know the meaning of badass, then ask @FarmGirl πŸ˜‰πŸ˜

Thanks for reading.

Articles worth reading:

We Are Pretty Liars

Shine Like Gold, Sparkle Like Glitters

Fall Like A Feather

Endure And Let Go Of The Pain and You'll Be Far Better Off

Make All Aspects Balance

We Are All Beautiful, It's The Character That Makes Us Ugly

Don't Be Envious, You'll Be Toxic

Whoever Dies The Labor Enjoys The Fruit

Living In A Labeled World, I Want To Be Unlabeled

Don't Wait For The Perfect Moment, Take The Moment And Make It Perfect

40
$ 16.60
$ 15.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @eommaZel
+ 26
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Well From this anime title,kuroko no basketball A quote from it says, the brighter the light, the darker the shadow, shadow can mean a lot, but in the anime, it meant something good.. I remember playing with my shadow and my mom is always pissed about it..... You're always amazing with your write up master jane

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Shadows remind us that there are good things outside my dear friend. We must be sure that when shadows appear, it means that lights are around

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Excellent relationship between shadow and light, whenever there is light your shadow will appear, you just have to face the light to play with your shadow. Starting to follow you on Noise and Read. Happy day to you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It seems we are the have broken family but in different ways. I learned that we should keep moving ni matter what happens. Our shadows is Always there and we don't need to focus on it because it may cause to make us broken.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

buti nalang your father chose the right path instead of going the other way. Kasi I can relate as ganyang situation eh, kasi yung papa ko dati may babae din eh, ilang beses ng umiiyak si mama dahil sa kanya, kaya nga ayaw ni lolo kay papa eh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Jane, I think this is the first time I have commented on an article of yours, and I must say I am your fan. Today I have read dozens of articles, yours is the best I have seen for different reasons. The quality of the photographs is impressive, you have a spectacular talent. I have no adjectives to describe them. Writing is special in every word you write. Full of self-confidence, even though the shadows have hit you hard, you have always decided to stay in the light. I'm very sorry about the way you separated from your parents. It shouldn't be that way, it makes everyone suffer in an unthinkable way. Goodnight friend!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My father just had a mistress, but my parents didn't separate.. Our family became intact after he followed the right path..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm very happy for you then. Forgiving is a gift, and it is highly valued these days. Family comes first, and you have to fight to keep it together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our lives are marked by so many terrible events. They cannot be erased from our minds, but we can overcome the traumas left by them. As we learn to move on, so we learn to live.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And learn to seek for the light πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hard when the shadow of ourselves haunt us, it seems like it carries a burden for us to hold. But when we seek out light, our shadow vanishes that it doesn't bother us anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True.. But there are good shadows too.. They accompany us to wherever we go so we won't be alone πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After the rain the sun will shine. When the shadow is casted doubts set in. But with dedication one will overcome it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes we need to hide on our shadows but most of the times we need to not too. Happy to hear okay na yung Family mo sis. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a masterpiece writing. When you visualize your daily incidents into uplifting motivation, it becomes awesome.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Our shadow is our bestfriend that ever leaves our side through ups and down. We may think shadow leaves in darkness but it didn't leave. Shadow is forever with us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

my baby was scared when he found his shadow... hehe wala lang share ko lang din kasi natakot ka din nung first time mo makita ung shadow mo...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The very first insightful article about shadow that I've ever read. So interesting, the use of shadow to represent whatever's haunting us: could be the pst, our mistakes, our hardships, depression, and more. But you are right, and so is Lady Gaga. Shadows are there only when there is presence of light.

We can get rid of shadows by staying in the dark, but staying there also means hiding the truth, and not opening to possibilities. That's worse.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

So better step out into the light .play with the shadow and get rid of the bad ones

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have a shadow that comes out when the light shines on us, its naturally placed there but in reality it really does reflect our good and bad influences.....the choice is ours to make, do we stand firm on the right path or choose to remain in the dark.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Indeed.. There are always bad and good in everything... It's up to us which one to follow..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like how you have drawn shadows here. ;) We think of shadows as something that overshadows our lives. But you are right, if we have shadows that mean we are stepping into the light. You are a badass, hehe!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a great perception and real life experience madam❀❀For me shadows have two different meaning, if can be a shadow of light and shadow of darkness, I can say that it's shadow of light for the reason that, it became our companion whenever we go, It never abandoned us and silently accompanying us on battle of life, as long as there's a light the shadow of light is always there to tell us where not alone even though lots of people already abandoned us, I also said that it's shadow of darkness, like what you've stated, it's a symbolism of darkness. It's a shadow that resembles problems and struggles that tear us into pieces.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's a great topic for another article.. Mind creating one? I like the message there.. There are a lot of forms of shadows with different perceptions..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw ang sweet lng ntong sinulat mo Jane hehe. Buti at naging okay pa ulit yung family nyo. Yung samin malabo tlga, ngtry ng ng try pero wala kaya broken tlga.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Natuto rn cguro si papa at narealize na pamilya lng nya kakapitan kpg magkasakit sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti pa yung parents mo willing tlga sla mgbago. Yung samin kasi pera at pride kaya wala, pag nagkita parang magkakagyera. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Hndi nmn ganun sla.. At ang bait ni mama.. Haha. Natukso lng yun si papa sa kampo.. Retired na kya stick to mama nA πŸ˜…πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So we can say that shadows are necessary in our life because they make us mature and learn and move forward with a new thought and approach.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's it.. It make us better persons

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha nung may mga horror dati about shadow kahit ako natatakot narin sa anino ko e 🀣. Pero don ako sa your a badass. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a badass. I won't let my shadow cloud my day or torment my future.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha... I know you are

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even on darkness I still have lights on me and that my shadow is always there lol ano daw haha.

I remember an animated image about this shadow, the animated guy looks bad guy in his appearance but his shadow is in an angel form. The lesson of it was never judge a person based on appearance because we'll never see their soul or their shadow, because that shadow represents our soul.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True..some are being judged because of physical appearance without even knowing his/her real identity...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry about your father, that must have been a heart breaking experience to your Momma and you guys. I cannot imagine being in such situations. You are such a strong empowering women, I'm actually very proud of you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But he came back and our family is whole again.. He chose to follow the right path.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank god, that's amazing to hear.. original is always original

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lady Gaga is right, having shadows means we are standing in the light. So many people are scared of the shadows in their life, but that simply means there's light behind them. Every cloud has a silver lining and every bad condition in life won't last forever, after every storm the sun will definitely shine. Great article ma'am Jane πŸ‘

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Indeed.. The sun is always there to give light to our lives. We just have to look at the brighter side 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You shed a light on shadows, thank you for this. I never thought of them beyond what my eyes can see. But you are right, shadows can represent many things in life, good or bad, depending on how we perceive it. You are one badass soul indeed :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you.. You're a person who is always standing in the light 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww! I'm flattered naman πŸ€— thank you though :) Bka mag iba pa isip mo kaya tanggapin ko na😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha . totoo naman 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inspiring. Our shadow is us, who we are. It's the reflection of ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most people we call friends are like Shadows. Let's keep watch

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What if it's the shadow that keep on hunting your very soul? The shadow that you try hard to burry because it is one of your dark secret that you want to remain a secret forever and will bury it along with your grave? May ganon diba, mga nakaraan na pilit silang hinahabol, that kind of shadow. Wala lang naisip ko dahil sa shadow haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So deep madam.. Then if you are not ready to let go of that shadow..better burry it in oblivion.. However, it is much better to have lighter baggage and no heavy feelings at all because of those dark shadows you are trying to keep inside.. Your journey will be much easier 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, true but letting it go is very hard so I'd rather just bury it along with me. Chorrr ahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. May pinag huhugutan ka madam? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaya dahil dito may topic na me ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun.. Sabi ko na nga b gagawan 🀣 I also like chikakiku perceptions of shadows πŸ‘‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga nabasa ko nga, haha magaling talagang bata yan bukod sa tirador ng bata. BWAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our shadow is a part of our life and we cannot get rid of it. We can avoid it though by not staying in the light but it is still with us even unseen. Let's all play with our shadow and make it our Friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Make it our friend by dealing with them.. But never let it stay for long in your life ,πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's lovely ms. Jane.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes shadow can be seen if there's a light and thats the proof that our life depends also to our shadow that reflects our daily life living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this article Jane. I am crying while reading this as I am not okay now. Daming Kong shadows ngayon e.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Sorry, madam... Care to share? Still about the burdens you are currently carrying right now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, this was so deep I cant believe you used shadows to explain something so intense✌ you are amazing!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago