We Are Pretty Liars

73 112
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

September 22, 2021

Time of writing: 1:00 pm 09/21/21

I'd be a hypocrite if I say that I haven't told any lies in my entire life. Because we all lie since we were kids. And we've been fooled and lied to a plethora of times and we can't believe that we have been fooled easily. That's a shame actually, especially if we really know the truth but we opted to believe the lies, lol. Because of what? We don't totally trust ourselves, I guess. I'm not even sure about this, and I'd be lying if I tell you that I have high self-esteem and confidence. Because an introverted person doesn't have one.

And why do we lie? Obviously, to misshape the truth.

But there are good lies though, that can even motivate others just like what I've said to @gertu13. We can't say ugly words to a kid who asked if she looks beautiful but literally looks like Betty La Fea. So instead of telling the truth, we opted to say beautiful words not to upset a kid. We give encouragement to motivate her to stay beautiful despite the ugly world she's facing. Because a true beauty will only glow once a person appreciates her own beauty and embraces her own flaws. Besides, we are all beautiful despite the flaws in us. It's the character that matters.

Do lies really motivate us? That sounds absurd. Because the meaning itself is already negative. But sometimes, we tell lies to motivate others.

I remembered when I was a kid, my mother used to praise me when seeing me drawing distorted shapes and writing with odd penmanship, lol. She's good at drawing and her penmanship is pretty. And every time I saw her doing my art homework, I used to copy her as well and would draw what she was drawing. And she'll say,

"Very good. It is pretty."

When I grew up and babysit my little siblings, I used to look after them when doing their work. One day my younger brother showed me his artwork. It was pretty ugly and I can't even identify what it was but I just said, "very good" to keep his mood positive and continue drawing. And today, while writing this article, I realized that those praises I received from my mother were just lies. Perhaps, she did it for me not to be offended if she'll say the truth. But her compliments made me improve my art and writing skills. I am not sure though if I improved my penmanship, because it is still ugly, lol.

Sometimes we lie to protect ourselves. Do you still remember when you were a kid, you accidentally broke a glass but did not admit your sin? Am I the only one here? I doubt it. Whether it was glass or anything, I am certain that you broke something that you did not admit when asked by your parents to avoid getting painful whips and pinches, lol. I am also certain that you ate the milk powder and milo powder in the storage but did not admit it when asked by your mother, haha.

We also lie to protect others. One day I was tasked to look after my boss's daughter so she won't play on her phone and continue doing homework. But I pitied her for being so toxic in studying so I allowed her to play on her phone. When her mother came back, I was asked if she played her phone, I just said "No" so she wouldn't reprimand her daughter and hide my disobedience as well, haha.

A mother also lies when her kid is caught red-handed. To protect her kid from getting the punishment and to prevent her family from getting a negative reputation in the community. An older sibling would say the dog knocked on the glass door where in fact, it was his younger sibling, lol. You can relate, right?

Sometimes we lie not to be mortified by our boneheadedness or save our *ss from being humiliated. There was one day when I was told to buy something since I was at the market that day buying my food. Only when I stepped home did I realized that I forgot to do my boss' favor due to busyness in writing articles on readcash and making noise on noisecash while walking on the street. These two are truly distractions. The family was at home so I don't want to be humiliated if I say I forgot about it. Instead of telling the truth, I just said it was out of stock, haha.

One day the Chinese kid asked me about how to solve certain complex math questions. Upon checking the equations, I was dumbfounded as I don't know how to answer them. My bully mind asked me, a lady in her 30's and who graduated from college doesn't know how to solve a math equation of a secondary student? To save my boneheadedness, I just said, "I graduated more than a decade ago, so I already forgot how to solve it." Phew! Pretty liar, when I can just say, I don't know how to answer the equation, lol.

We also lie to flatter others. Turning back the hands of time, I have this humorous uncle who likes calling me pretty when dressed decently. But remembering my childhood photos made me conclude that he was a pretty liar haha. Have you also been asked a favor by your boss to do something after receiving flattery words from him/her? For sure, you did. Some will even throw flattery words just to befriend us. Am I right? Or fool us just to get something from us. That's being clever!

We lie not to disappoint anyone. Way back in the Philippines, my high school classmates would always invite me to join their getaways or weekend road trip. As a person who doesn't like going out and socializing with others, especially with the people I'm not comfortable with, I always refuse their invitation and would lie, "I wish I could go, but I have work that day." The truth is, I don't like talking with some of them the whole day and I prefer slacking in my abode with pajamas on. Moreover, I felt intimidated by some of my high school classmates who become successful in the field they have chosen and I felt like they are too ahead of me.

We lie to hide our real emotions so others won't worry about us. This is so common and we all have done this before and continue doing this even up to this date. We tend to lie when we are asked by our family if we are okay to make them not worry about us or tend to avoid answering them with a dialogue that will only make our feelings worse. But sometimes, if it is our bully friends who are asking and it is blatantly obvious in our expression that we are not fine but they will still ask if we are okay. I mean, hello, isn't it obvious? Then we'll just answer, "No, I'm fine?" With a question mark at the end, lol. A sarcastic one.

We tend to lie to boost ourselves. This is, I guess, the most helpful white lie here. Even though we know by ourselves that we can't make certain things or pass challenges, we boost ourselves by saying, "I can do this!" Just to make us feel good. We are born to be a fighter so, despite the obstacles that hinder our way, we always try our best to push them and think positively even if we are already at the edge of the cliff because we don't want to just suddenly give up.


There are many reasons why we lie, some are bad, some are good, but the truth is, we lie because we don't know if we can handle the consequences of our actions. We want to control a situation or not disappoint anyone or be humiliated so we tend to divert the truth and follow the lie.

If only the curse of Pinocchio is real, we all probably have long noses by now, long noses not pointed noses, lol, because lies snowball. It is frustrating hearing a lie or being deceived by liars, yet, we have to realize the motivation behind those black and white lies, whoppers, and fibs.

However, we have to learn to be more honest to live in this world more effectively, and learn that our life won't end if the truth comes out!

So this is my entry for the prompt: #18 Lies who initiated by @CoquiCoin for this week since Jonica isn't feeling well.

Thanks for reading!

39
$ 12.58
$ 11.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 22
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Oo, tama, lahat nagsisinungaling.. every minute of the day we lie talaga. Like ako, iniisip ko minsan "oh today wala akong nasabing kasinungalingan ha. Umamin ako sa mga nagawa ko and all. I've been good today.." Then marerealize ko na may nagtanong sakin how I am, sinasabi ko "I am okay". Even I am not. Then boom, nagsinungaling na naman pala ako. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Same..madali lng kc sabihin ang word na okay πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga.. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bahala na daw liar ms. Jane basta pretty hahaha charot! True, we do have reasons to lie. Di naman tayo magsisinungaling kung walang rason pero mali parin talaga magsinungaling hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha . nice.. Pro mas mganda kpg honest haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one madam. Andaming reasons din why a person lies eh and you covered it everything. Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have a good track record of lying lol. now I don't know whether to continue believing what you say my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣 all of us make lies as well. Those were just examples..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we all lie. We just have to confess and keep on lying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes the truth actually hurt but also it's sometimes to just tell the person the truth instead of them finding out on their own. And yes, lies can actually motivate someone to keep doing something and even when they find out later, they will still appreciate the gesture

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Seems like truth is harder to say than lies lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also lie to myself to escape some task like telling a girl I like her. I would just tell myself β€œshe would say no", without me even trying. Therefore I avoid meeting the girl since I have lied to myself she wouldn't agree.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's another part of the story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's true. kaya nga yung salitang masakit ang katutuhanan ay minsan sinasabi pag totoo, so instead of saying the truth? We lie, para lang di masaktan ang taong kausap mo. hehe kahit nga nanay ko, sinasabi gwapo mo talaga anak, kahit di naman :D haha para lang di ako masaktan, that's the good side of a LIE. but there's some lie that our life complicate, and those lie from people who are insecure to us. That's dangerous LIE.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lie that can harm others . of course, I never do that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a three year old daughter and now I know what seems pretty obvious to us it is not for them. As simple as clapping our hand it is easy for us to do and we don't even think we had to learn it. Whatever action they do or draw, it has to be good otherwise they will be discouraged and lose interest. The more you praise them the more they do it. They are proud of themselves and they want to show off. That's how they learn all the time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are a good father 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan mga sugar coated lies at flowery words yung aking mga sasabihin para hindi siya masyadong offensive pakinggan HAHA. Pero ngayon, I can say na I'm good at lying HAHAH

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Minsan mga sugar coated lies at flowery words yung aking mga sasabihin para hindi siya masyadong offensive pakinggan HAHA. Tas dati talaga naniniwala ako sa kasabihang " Kids don't lie" pero ngayon, ay ambot. Mga bata ngayon ang lakas magsinungaling lalong lalo na mga pamangkin ko hahha. Ako nga dati takot pa ako magsinungaling kasi nga daw bad sabi ni mama HAHAHAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahann ngayon. Kids always lie 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes , lahat Naman Tayo liers sa ibat ibang aspeto ng buhay. Yung tinatawag nilang white lies pero lie padin. Yung pagsasabi natin na okay Tayo kahit Hindi. Hays

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Nging part na ng life natn yun at hirap na mabura haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all constantly lie to make excuses for ourselves and others. But you are right that we should try to be more honest in all senses. Although, I think there will always be some truths that it is better not to say.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. And we are lying again in that part trying to hide the truth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung mga parents at kamag-anak mahilig talaga magsinungaling sa harapan haha. Mahilig magcomplement imbis na itama ang mali.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay oo.. Pra sa knlng kapakanan lng iniisip

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not lying to you if I tell you that I loved your article. Ahah. Lying is something we do from a very young age. It is something that is in human nature. Many times it can be to help someone and others to completely distort the truth in your favor, and in an evil way even. The ideal is never to lie. Would you dare to spend a single day without telling a lie?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course.. I did spend days without telling a lie.. It's not difficult ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guess lies really is evident in our daily life. Whether we meant it for the better or for the worse. To be honest I do lie also, sometimes to save myself or others. Or to completely fool myself when the truth is really heartbreaking to believe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Yeah that's sad. Especially when it comes to love. Even if we know the truth. We choose to be blind and lie to ourselves

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's what they called being a "martyr". Which is how most of us usually react to the truth all in the name of love haha. I had experienced that one in the past.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays telling lie has become a fashion. We couldn’t resist ourselves from it. We are now forced to tell a lie. Why? To have better job, better earning, sypmpathy and what not?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We aren't force to tell a lie, it's always our choice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good said well... yes its true we are all lie.. me too i am liar with my family lol.. kasi nga diba kailangan natin gawin minsan ang pagiging liar pero not all times we need to do lies. Just do it in a nice place lalo na pagdating sa bf lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Araw araw talaga ako guilty dyan ate haha pero white lies lang , meron bang black? hihi charottt. Kung si Pinocchio lang ako edi sana matangos na yung ilong ko ngayon lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You seem to do justice to this topic, Janey. That's true, sometimes we lie to change a narrative so we can feel good about ourselves. Haha I have lied many times too, from white lies to covering for a friend and to make someone feel good too. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the present days, I have lied mostly to my son hahaha to boost him to do good in his studies...and it is true that sometimes we lie about being fine even though we are not...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always lied about my emotions that's what why I'll just write it here hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same. It's easy to write them down than to express out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pretty liars sukem hahahahaha yung "I can do it" kahit sobrang putla na and pawisan mapanindigan lang ang "kaya ko to" hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tapus yung "he loves me" kht lantaran na paglalandi sa iba 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagkalat na yan ngayon hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I'm pretty good in lying LOL, I can make serious face and can control my emotions. πŸ˜‚ another asset of mine yeyaaa. And also yeah when I was kid I do lot of lying too, stubborn kid protect his self via lying... πŸ˜¬πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Lahat ata tyo nung kabataan ganun 🀣 I am good at lying too in hiding my real emotions. I can say I'm okay but deep inside I am broken.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh lies, ilang beses din ba akong nag lie noon para sana payagan maka attend sa gathering sa school, in the end di pa rin napayagan. At same sa white lies, nag lalie din talaga ako kasi ayaw ko lang masaktan si ganito ganiyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hala oo.. Haha..naalala ko nung high school pa ako.. first-time ko mag overnight sa town.. Sabi ko CAT members need mag vigil sa gym kc pageant nun..haha.. Hndi pla ako ksama sa list 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha, ay hanep pero natuloy kapa rin naman ata ee hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang kaakibat na ng pagiging tao natin yang pagsisinungaling.. Kahit sa sinpleng paraan, nakakapagsinungaling tayo.. Example, nahuli ka ng anak mo na ngumunguya ng junk food, since ayaw mo sya na kumain din nun, patago mo ginagawa.. And then nahuli ka nya.. Usually ang sinasabi natin, wala naman tayong kinakain or whatever na kasinungalingan para hindi tayo mabuko.. Simple situation pero nagsinungaling pa din tayo

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nkasanayan na kc kht simpleng bagay itatago .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are all indeed liars whatever type or kinds it is it's still lie. Lie depends on the intention of the heart and whatever it is by that we are judge.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We sometimes lie to make ourselves look and feel bigger than we actually are. Lying is a part of us, it's our nature and nothing can be done to completely eliminate it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmmm, I guess lying is bad!! But there are situations that require it. Like your example on the girl that asked if she was beautiful. I would rather be a liar than ruin someones esteem. It may not be good to lie but it is always good to encourage others!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course, lying is bad. ..but sometimes it saves us from humiliation haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lies are part of our lives ever since we were kids kaya mahirap na iwasan. Hahaha! Feel ko yung reasons na nandito kung bakit tayo nagsisinungaling. Pero harmless lies naman. Ang delikado yung lies na nakapatay or something na related dun

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay yun ang mahirap haha.. Papatayin ng konsensya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko tuloy yung current situation ko kung bat ako nagsisinungaling lalo na yung what I have learned sa modules. May mga insights na po ako sa topic na ito, but I guess that it would take a lot of time para po maprocess ko siya ng mabuti.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lahat naman tyo nagsisinungaling.. Kya ireflect mo nlng sa experience mo haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, galing ng rason mo sa batang tsino, LoL! Buti hindi ka pinilit haha. And yung sa boss mo na nagpapabili. Mas okay na yon kesa pabalikin ka haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hndi namn papabalikin.. Isipin kc hina ng utak lage nkakalimot..haha. Kaka cp

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, good reason though, out of stock haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lying is bad but sometimes we just have lie to keep peace reign because some truth can destroy people's life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha hindi na talaga mawawala yung pag lie araw-araw madam. I lie rin para sa iba at para rin sa sarili ko lalo na kapag may nakakalimutan akong bilhin. Ayaw kong mapagalitan. 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sabihin kc ulyanin kpg aminin ko 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA at ayaw rin bumalik para bumili ulit 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have summed up every reason why a human being lie. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We lie to save others from embarrassment :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Lies day in day out We are used to lying You gave me another inspiration to write again πŸ˜‚

Even the teacher that teaches us in class would always tell us not to tell lies. But deep inside her she know she do tell lies πŸ˜‚

Those moments of encouragement from lies. I can relate well. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Teachers are the best liars haha. Especially in making examples of their topics haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol that’s true. I remember some songs they do sing for us then. As if they are not into those things before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a pretty good liar then madam! 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lahat naman ata tyo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago