Have you wished you were someone else?

37 94
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

03/27/2022


As I read my article yesterday, a line from there lingered in my head, for some reason.

Source: Unsplash

Don’t wish to be someone else. Yes, that’s true, because you are YOU, and you should be proud of that. You are perfect just the way you are.

I didn't mean it literally when I say you are perfect “Just the way you are”. That does not necessarily mean you’ll just stay contented with your current abilities, when you can become a better version of it. Why settle for less, when you are meant for more? The point is, you should not wish to be someone else, because you are not them. It’s just that. Others have their own beauty and strengths, YOU DEFINITELY HAVE YOUR OWN, TOO.

I agree that it is oftentimes difficult to see the good in yourself. I can definitely relate to that, trust me. It’s much easier to see the good in others, like how her eyes look mesmerizing, his shoulders broad and wide, and even to non-physical attributes, such as how others are good in a particular subject, how confident they are, and many more. And the bad thing is when we start telling ourselves the opposite immediately, “I am not”, “I don’t have that”, or “I wish I had that”, and anything else, that may have different wordings, but still point out to what became like a normal habit of the most of us, if not all—comparing ourselves to others. Low self-esteem. Envy.

I have read years ago in one Instagram post a quote that goes along the lines of these:

“Somewhere, someone out there wishes he/she has your eyes, or your personality, or your looks. Someone out there is mesmerized by you, and wishes they have what you have. So, be confident.”

It’s hard to believe, but yeah, it’s true. Like what I said above, most of us have the tendency to wish to have what others have, be it about the physical and non-physical attributes, or material things, or whatever it is, and others may feel it towards you, too! Don’t take it in the negative way, though, that you only gain confidence because somebody envies you. Use this as a reminder to yourself that you are beautiful, that you should also see the good things in you that others do.

I can attest to this because I experienced it, too. There was one time I opened up to my friends about how I feel insecure about my body. I did not like my body which was “not slim enough”, my calves, my arms, and other things. Then at least two of them told me something I didn't really expect. They told me they want my height, that I have a nice body proportion, actually, that my weight looked normal and healthy, actually ideal, and that it’s suitable for any type of outfits. All these compliments, that I, without any lie nor understatement, DID NOT see in myself, ever. I was quick to point out my “flaws” that it’s hard for me to absorb what they say. I am telling you, that very same night, I looked into my photos again, and I started appreciating the good points my friends made. It’s as if what they said is just a new discovery to me, a discovery to appreciate my own, unique beauty.

There are still days, though, that I still look at others and wish I have their hands, their small waistline, or other things that affect my perception of myself. But I can say I am definitely improving now, because before I get into the rabbit hole of envy, I start to tell myself good things, and remind myself that the most beautiful version of me is the REAL, unfiltered ME.

Have you also wished to live others’ lives, too? My, I am not exempt in this area, as well. Admit it or not, whenever we are having a hard time in our lives, we begin mentioning some people, commonly the rich ones, and whine how their lives are easier than us. I remember that one time in my highschool days, actually, where I wished I was born rich, so I won’t have to struggle with food nor allowance anymore. I thought back then how unfair life was, and questioned why others have it easier.

While I transitioned into adulthood, I soon came to realize that everyone actually struggled, at least, once in their lives. Just wishing to live others’ lives just meant having a different set of trials, or difficulty, maybe. I think so.

Let me say this, though. You may still think of some certain people who definitely are lucky in life, until now, and did not seem to encounter any hardships in life… and wish you’re them. I can’t blame you, because, again, I sometimes do that, too.

Well, here’s the thing. Just thinking these saddening thoughts doesn't really help the situation, right? If I just went on wishing I was Taylor Swift now, would it happen? Will I just wake up one day being the multi-awarded phenomenal artist like she is? No, unless I work for it, maybe. But no, I am not Taylor Swift, and I am never gonna be Taylor Swift.

So please remember these whenever you feel like wishing you’re someone else. First, see the good in you. I know it’s hard, but if you try hard enough, look further enough, you can find the best in you, even without others’ help. You can start with the small things, until you feel better and a little bit more confident each day. Did I make someone smile today? Did I do a good job at work? Oh, this shirt really looked good on me.

Second, take action, so you can be that person you want yourself to be. And I hope that person is still YOU. You can have other people as inspiration, but always see to it that what you see in your future, is still yourself, not patterned from others’ story, nor copied from their own blueprint. Instead work on it in a way that you build your own path towards that version of yourself that you want.

I am not saying this will be easy. If it was, then no one’s gonna have insecurity issues by now, right? It’s hard, but it’s not impossible. I hope we can do it, too, like how others were able to overcome their own low self-esteem, until they became the confident, 'unbothered' people we look up to today. These people may or may still have their insecurity issues, but the difference is they are working harder in getting rid of and managing this tendency. And thus, they become an inspiration to us.

Be strong, my friend. And if you are, continue to be. You don’t know whom you are inspiring right now. –Unknown.

Ps. I wrote this, because I am feeling extra ugly today. Insecurities are overwhelming me again, and honestly, it's hard to fight negative thoughts. But I am still fighting, that's what's important. I will win this, absolutely. I will.

-Elle❤️


What do you think about this article? Show some love! Feel free to leave a like, comment, and share it to your friends! If you want to support me in a different way, be one of my sponsors! This user loves sponsors! 💯

Start worthwhile journeys:

❄️ Read Next!

#Club1BCH

Lead Image is a photo I took right before I started writing this.

To GOD be the glory.

25
$ 15.40
$ 14.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 25
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I have never related to a title before not until this one. But after reading this, i want to be the best of myself. Thank you for this article.

$ 0.03
User's avatar Hap
2 years ago

I am also thankful for you visiting here. I hope it really made you feel better. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty of wishing to live someone's life, especially when I saw how gifted such person is, it seems to have a perfect life. But you know what I realized? That her journey isn't as easy as I see co'z I'm pretty sure that person is dealing with problems.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes! As they say, much is given, much is expected. 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you look at your video, you get a chance to look at yourself from others' viewpoints. In my opinion, it is one way of self-assessment of your presence in the real world.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You mean, I take a video of myself and watch it again? This is a nice idea, I will try this sometime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Watch your self video and analyze it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really would. Again, thanks a lot! 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even I am not perfect I never wished to be someone else because I know we are all different in our way but I have wished to disappear like people will never remember that I existed, something like that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What you have said is also sad. please don't think that anymore, I am sure there are people who love and treasure you dearly. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As far as I can remember, I have only wished to become an anime character or the fictional character that I'm reading. But I am insecure. I have been insecure since I entered college. My confidence in high school was gone for a very, very long time already. I tend to shrink whenever I'm surrounded by intelligent people. Their presence overwhelms me. I was not like this before. It took me a very long while to pinpoint the cause, and until now, I've been trying to fight it and make things right. It's hard; the process will be long and hard. As for comparing, we should learn how to compare ourselves with our yesterday self. Don't be the best, but instead, be better each day.

Thank you for sharing this, by the way. You can do this. We can do this! Fighting! :)

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I love the string of thoughts you provided here. thanks a lot. This is what I am working on—becoming better than my past self, rather than becoming better than everyone else. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there's also a saying that you must be careful what you wish for... looking at other people's lives, we may feel like they have a better life but then they got their own set of things to worry , things that we don't want to worry ourselves so why wish to live their lives?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. Everyone has struggles, we just have different ways dealing with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

many feel the same sometimes indeed we do not feel like others more than what we have from the appearance of the body but when other people see you they want something from you because looking at it is attractive. This is where humans always want something perfect and your assessment of your shortcomings is different from other people who judge your strengths. just be grateful for everything, consider the shortcomings we have are our strengths.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree. Others' strengths maybe our weaknesses. People complete one another. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I don't wished to live someone else's life. Yet, I must admit that I saw myself living it. I realized how I should not be doing such thing. Instead, let's thrive to make ourselves better than what we think is perfect. In that way, we can genuinely say we are happy.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is the right thing, to work on improving ourselves, so we don't have to envy others anymore. Thanks for sharing your insights. :) Good to hear from you again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Ellehcim! Glad to come by your article too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No worries! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have done this many times and later, I realized others are trying to be like me too which I started valuing myself more than before. The truth is that we must learn to be satisfied with who we are and understand that we are unique in our own ways.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Very well said, Princess! You are indeed worthy of the appreciation. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think all of us has that point in our lives that we wishes to be someone else. Were just humans who felt insecure sometimes, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes, spot on, Lhes. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wished this before. Yong time na sobrang higpit sakin nI mommy at gusto kong mag hangout with friends sana kaso di ako oayagan. Nakakalungkot dahil lang jan naisip ko yan. Ang babaw ko pala noon. Pero kasi, yong feelings ko kasi noon yong parang inaapi ganern. Mapapahiling kana lang talaga ma sana hindi ako to, sana nasa ibang buhay ako.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hindi ka naman nag iisa dyan. Ako minsan din napapaiyak nung bata ako kasi pakiramdam ko wala akong karapatang maging masaya, wala akong kalayaan, ganern

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yang mga ganyan na isipin talaga non, grabi ka strict kasi nila tsk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though, alam naman natin na habang tumatanda tayo, lumuluwag na ang kanilang strictness. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think every normal people could really have that time comparing ourselves to others, that is given normal. That's happened to me back then especially when I was still some kind of ignorance ape haha. But now I compare but in a manner of being inspiration na.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same here. Minsan lang talaga di ko maiwasan mapa-sana all. Nakakairita din sarili ko minsan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, yes. Many times lol! Especially those who earn in different platforms, how smart and intelligent they are about them :D

Physically, I'm not that confident with how I look but I've learned to accept it.

I remember an fb friend who posted about how others were complaining about not being able to lose weight, that they are fat and all that. I guess this friend got fed up and posted that she can only wish that she can fatter for she is really thin and has a hard time gaining weight. I think she has a medical issue but I'm not certain.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Right? :(( It's hard to fight the nagging feeling, and there are really days it's strong, it sometimes causes random emotional breakdowns. But what's important is we try to fight and conquer it everytime it comes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many times I wished to be someone else. But then again that someone else isnt loving her life too and wishes to be someone else too. That is when I started accepting the life is generally fair and that we should accept our status and limitations as the rich also has problems and struggles.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right about this. Even the people we admire have their own insecurities, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wished that too before...yung tipong sana iba na lang mga magulang ko 😂..or sana kagaya nlng ako ni ganito na magaling..haha.. But later on, I learned how to appreciate myself and become better than before..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha, di lang pala ako. Minsan hiniling ko din maging anak nalang ako ng mga businessman na mayayaman haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good not to want to do things the way others do it but we should emulate good success

$ 0.01
2 years ago