How K-Drama Influenced My Life

30 63
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

The first-ever Korean drama that I watched is the "Boys Over Flowers" that was aired on our local TV channel, ABS-CBN, and it was in Tagalog dubbed. I was just around Grade 2 or Grade 3 at that time.

Then in 2016 when I was in Grade 9, a lot of great k-dramas came out such as "Descendants of the Sun", "Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok-Joo", "W", "Legend of the Blue Sea", "Let's Fight, Ghost", etc. I watched a lot! And that's the time when I really became a k-drama fan.

So, last January 24, I read an article of ate @Eirolfeam2 about the influence of Korean dramas in her life. And as someone who is also fond watching Korean dramas, I also want to share on how this influenced me as a mere viewer.

How K-Drama Influenced My Life...

It makes me want to travel to South Korea and other Places

Even before I become a fan of k-dramas, I was already a k-pop fan and because of that, I already have a desire to visit South Korea someday. But because of k-dramas, my desire for this increased. It is because the cinematography of k-dramas are just aesthetically pleasing and it makes the viewers wanna visit the places featured whether it's within the country of South Korea or Crash Landing On You's Switzerland, or Goblin's Canada.

I want to try Korean foods and drinks

I haven't tried Korean foods that much yet because they are expensive for me. Hahaha. But let's be honest, Korean foods on every kdrama just looks so delicious! The Korean foods I remembered that I have tried already are ramen and jajangmyeon. I don't remember much.

The Korean foods that I wanted to try someday are samgyupsal (oo di ko pa natitikman bakit? lol), tteokbokki, kimchi, kimbap, and bibimbap. I wanted to try those classic ones. And believe it or not... I haven't tried soju yet, the famous Korean liquor, so that's on my list to try as well.

Inspires me to work harder

There are Korean dramas such as "Start-Up", "Doctors", "Law School", "Itaewon Class", etc. that I really found inspiring. It inspires me to keep chasing my dreams and to work hard for it. In fact, because of some of these k-dramas, I have some favorite OSTs added to my Spotify playlist and I play it whenever I need some inspiration and motivation. My ultimate favorite OST is "Running" by Gaho, it is one of the OST of Start-Up.

My standards in guys

I guess every girl who watches kdramas or at least 90% agrees with this one. For some reason, the male characters in kdrama heighten our standard when it comes to men. It is not just based on physical appearance, but more on the personality of male characters (not everyone though). The number one thing is how they show respect. Respect to the girl, the parents of the girl, and other people as well.

One of the ultimate boy crushes I think is the character of Jung Hae-in in "While You Were Sleeping" as Han Woo-tak. He's just the second lead there, but I prefer his character so much over Lee Jong-suk. Hihi. He's very respectful and thoughtful and doesn't ask or look forward to anything in return. 😍

Closing Thought

Kdrama has different influences on every viewer. In my case, those are the 4 major things that influenced me. Maybe there are still some but I haven't thought about them yet.

How about you? Do you watch kdrama? If so, how does it influence you? Comment below to share your thoughts. ✨

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


My Other K-Drama Related Article

Get to know me more on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: April 26,2022

16
$ 8.31
$ 8.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @cmoneyspinner
$ 0.05 from @HardworkingStudent
+ 6
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

Ako be di ako gaano mahilig sa mga kdrama na yan pero kinikilig ako kapag nakaka nood hehehee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same with meee,dahil sa kdrama talaga ang dami kong gustong gawin like travel din, learn their language, maghanap ng Oppa at itry lahat ng street foods sa kanila na lagi ko lang nakikita sa mga kdrama. Nakaka curious kaya. Tas dahil sa mga leading man dun, nataas na din talaga standard ko sa pag pili ng lalaki. Like dapat sweet din 👉👈🥺🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uwu super same tayo ate. When kaya makakapunta dun noh at magkakaroon ng oppa? Hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My First k drama was Empress ki. Same as you share thought That Kdrama also influence their audience towards their country to visit And You are absolutely Right K dramas make our standards high in men

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's my first time to hear about Empress Ki. I'm glad we're on the same page haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Boys over flowers talaga pinaka favorite ko sa lahat, 2nd year highschool ako nun. Inaabangan ko talaga yan. Galing sa eskwelahan yan agad ang inaatupag

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First ko din napanood na k-drama ay ang Boys Over Flowers, ate ko ang may kasalanan kasi bumili talaga siya ng cd tape na full episode. Hahaha, araw² talaga pinapanood kahit natapos na from the start hanggang sa huli. Hindi kasi nakakaumay ang palabas.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cute naman. Kami naman ng family ko noon, inaabangan lang namin Boys Over Flowers sa ABS CBN. Kahit sobrang gabi pinapalabas, keri parin. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehee,nice family bonding sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayyy...Oppa!😍 Haha.. Mapapatanong nalang ako, "Ano kaya skin care nito?" Ang kinis-kinis nang mukha talaga. Tas ewan ko ba, Ji Chang Wook talaga bet ko. Ayy! Bat kinilig ako bigla. Gusto ko din ma.try yung mga korean foods sis tas if given a chance, pumunta sa Korea din. At totoo yun ha, may mga inspirational K-dramas din na talaga namang "a must watch."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pogi po talaga ni Ji Chang Wook! May bago po yun na kdrama yung about magic. Ang ganda ng trailer kaya parang gusto kong panooring <3 Agree!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nayy!😍 Pretty excited na ako for that...Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like reading Wattpad books we use to have the ideal man that is perfect looking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not perfect looking all the time though. It's the personality for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a k-drama fanatic as well! I can't remember what's the first kdrama that I've watched eh pero the one that really got me so addicted was the Dream High - with Suzy and IU 💖 tapos sunod sunod na. Makagawa nga rin nito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG. I love Dream High also, yung nandun si Suzy and IU. Ganda rin ng mga songs dun at nakaka-inspire to chase our dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyyy talaga nga naman sis nakaka inggit talaga mga pagkain nila no, at yung mga view Hays talagangbgustong guston natin puntahan ang korea nako naman pagnagkataon soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True po. Nakakacrave mga foods nila. Sana nga makapunta rin tayo dun soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same tayo sis Boys Over Flowers din talaga first Korean series na sobrang naadik ako. Halos bumili na ng mga sticker dahil diyan nung elementary pa ako. Oo sis totoo yan dahil sa Korean drama naiinspire ako palagi. Iba talaga yung hit ng Korean drama sa atin kaya maraming naadik.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sis! Elementary pa lang ako nun stickers and parang postcards din binibili ko nun na mga Boys Over Flowers tapos nilalagay ko pa sa mga notebooks ko. Hahahaha. Adik yarn?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think kdrama influenced me the way they had their fashion as well as their way of living in the house.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah! I forgot to mention the fashion too. Their fashion style is great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakanood ko ng k drama naiintindihan kona mga ibang korean words HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same! Napapansin ko din pag mali ang subtitle hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napa cool din kase talaga nang Kdrama no rated spg 😁 marami ka matutunan na lessons

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukbang ba yang spg? Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Anong rated spg ate? HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

first ko din napanood yung BOF hehe, dun ako nagsimulang mangarap ng badboy na magbago para sa akin.. 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bad boy na mayaman hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes haha, dun nag start lahat kay Go jun pyo 💚💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago