Best K-Dramas Of All Time

22 51
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

I started getting into korean drama when I was in Grade 3 and I was maybe around 8 years old at that time. Yes, I was that young. The first korean drama that hooked me was Boys Over Flowers. It aired late at night around 10:30 PM. Me and my family really waited for each episode every weekday night and we watched it together. It was also such a hot topic back then that when I went to school, me and my classmates talked about it. I also bought postcards and put them in my notebooks, in my file case or somewhere. That’s a little history on how I started to like k-dramas.

As someone who likes korean drama for quite a long time now, I have only finished around 30 series and the rest was unfinished. I personally have only 4 k-dramas that I rated 5/5. K-dramas that I think are the best of all time and that I highly recommend to everyone. Whether you are a complete beginner in watching k-drama or you’re an avid k-drama lover, these must be checked off on your watch list.

This list is in no particular order.

4 Best K-Dramas Of All Time

1. Weighlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo

Genre: Romantic Comedy, Sports, Coming-of age

Starring: Lee Sung Kyung and Nam Joo Hyuk

Storyline: This series is about the main character, Kim Bok Joo, who is a young woman working on her dream of weightlifting in an athlete university. Later on, she develops a feeling toward Jung Jae Yi who is a doctor and an elder brother of Jung Joon Hyung at the same time. Initially, Joon Hyung keeps on teasing Bok Joo and even helped her to get close to Jae Yi. Those times are when he started falling in love with the charm of Bok Joo. This is about the group of college athletes experiencing and finding love, and are working hard to achieve their goals.

I watched this when I was in Grade 9. That time, there are so many good k-dramas popping out such as Legend of the Blue Sea, While You Were Sleeping, I'm Not a Robot, Goblin, Strong Woman Do Bong Soon, Hwarang: The Beginning, and so much more. Yet, this is the one that stood out for me. This series made me laugh so hard. I like the lightness of the story line and the castings for me are great. Lee Sung Kyung and Nam Joo Hyuk have a lot of chemistry. I fell in love with Lee Sung Kyung because of this series. It has superb cinematography, and I also rewatched this from time to time and I still get the same positive vibes. Swag!

Watch this if you want to laugh and feel more light. Or if you wanna take a break from a stressful day. You won’t regret it. Swag!

2. Reply 1988

Genre: Family, Comedy, Romance

Starring: Lee Hye Ri, Park Bo Gum, Go Kyung Pyo, Ryu Jun Yeol, and Lee Dong Hwi

Storyline: The story revolves around five friends and their families who live in the same neighbourhood at Ssangmun-dong, Dobong District, Northern Seoul.

I watched this last year when the world was in a total lockdown. I was binge-watching a lot of k-dramas at that time to keep me sane but this series stood out among the rest. Honestly, the first few episodes are kinda confusing and have a slow storyline, like nothing much is happening. But as the story progresses, you will slowly have a certain attachment to each character. There are so many relatable everyday real-life moments that this series has shown. Like playing with childhood friends outside, sharing food with neighbours, mothers that are gossiping around or making chika, and so on. I feel like 80s, 90s, and early 20s babies are more likely to enjoy this series, will feel more relatable, and will feel very nostalgic all throughout the episodes. Reply 1988 is gold!

This can be watched perfectly with family and friends. Watching alone is also fun, of course.

3. Start-Up

Genre: Drama, Romance

Starring: Bae Suzy, Nam Joo Hyuk, Kim Seon Ho and Kang Han Na

Storyline: The series revolves around Seo Dal Mi who aspires to become a great entrepreneur like Steve Jobs. She drops out of university and does part-time work in order to help her grandma. Despite having an uneasy life, it didn't hinder her to have a bright personality and be passionate to pursue her dreams. This revolves around her and her love triangle between her first love and another one who is pretending to be her first love.

I finished watching this last December 7, 2020. This is the first k-drama that made me cry so hard within just a few minutes of the very first episode. Literally every episode, I laughed and cried (a lot). This k-drama hooked me so much maybe because it revolves around a group of people who are pursuing entrepreneurship. And I am one of those people who aspire to become an entrepreneur someday. So everytime time there's a montage or simple moments of Samsan Tech squad in this k-drama, it makes my heart flutter so much and I always end up tearing up.

Maybe other people who watched this already were so focused on the love triangle, but personally, I looked forward more to the business matters, family, and friends moments. It's one of the best!

I highly recommend it if you want to feel inspired and motivated to keep on working for your dreams.

4. It's Okay Not To Be Okay

Genre: Romance, Drama

Starring: Kim Soo Hyun, Seo Yea Ji, Oh Jung Se

Storyline: Moon Gang Tae has an elder brother Moon Sang Tae who has autism. Their mother was murdered when they were still young and Sang Tae witnessed it. Since then, they frequently move from town to town. Gang Tae works as a caretaker in a psychiatric ward at every place they settle in. While working in a hospital, he meets Ko Moon Young who is a famous children’s book writer and has an antisocial personality disorder. Circumstances made Gang Tae to work at a hospital in  Seongjin City, the same city where they lived when they were young. On the other hand, Moon Young forms a romantic obsession for Gang Tae so she follows him to Seongjin City. The trio gradually begins to heal each other’s emotional wounds. They untangle many secrets, seek comfort from each other and move forward in their lives.

Unlike the previous k-dramas that I mentioned, this one is a more heavy and dark drama. This is the first k-drama that I watched this year and this is also the first kdrama that I watched that focuses on mental health and mental illnesses. The backstory of this is amazing, and each of the supporting characters are very heartwarming. The OSTs (Official SoundTracks) of this k-drama are absolutely incredible. There’s also a different children's story each episode. Can’t deny the fact that I cried hard almost every episode. Moon Gang Tae's older brother, Moon Sang Tae, has autism, a mental disorder, and so it reminds me of my elder brother who has a mental disorder too.

Hands down to this kdrama. This is a masterpiece! ❤️🥺


That's my 4 best k-dramas of all time!

Have you watched any of these? If so, I would love to hear your thoughts.

And if you haven’t watched any of these yet… which one do you want to watch the most? Let me know.

If you’ve come this far, please smile. 😊

Thank you for reading!


I want to extend my gratitude to my second and third sponsors, @McJulez and @OfficialGamboaLikeUs ❤️ It's such an honor to get sponsorships with the fact that I've been here on read.cash for only a week. This motivates me to improve writing articles and give my best.

Kindly check out their articles also!


References:


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

8
$ 0.16
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
+ 1
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

Best kdrama for me is Cloy ( Crash Landing On You). It's not just a happy ending in drama but also in reality. They're married last march 31 2022. I really happy that my wish before been granted. Happy for both of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh I totally missed my Weightlifting fairy oh my gosh!! Gonna watch it soon again hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's worth the rewatch. Same feels parin kahit ulit-ulitin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't seen any of those. So many movies/series to watch but not enough time :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should try any of those 4. Just watch on your free time. No pressure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe I should when I find the time :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May alam kang more on law sa kdrama?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Law School. Bagong kdrama po try nyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

K-drama lover here too friend. Lahat po ng iyan ay napanood ko na rin. Nakaka kilig at may nakakaiyak rin. At ito sis e rerecommend ko sayong panoorin mo at sigurado akong madadag dagan iyang mga best mo. (Penthouse at Vicenzo)😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sa recommendation. Nakekwento na din sakin yan na Vicenzo at Penthouse. Try ko panoorin next time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige go sis. Push mo iyan. Promise maganda siya.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang gusto ko ituloy yan Vicenzo :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go push mo iyan friend. A

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Boys Over Flowers din yung una kong napanuod haha. Agreeeee ang gaganda ng mga kdrama na yan, hindi nawawala yung tawa, inis at iyak ko. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe yung hype ng Boys Over Flowers noon no hahaha. Oo yung mga kdrama na kahit panoorin mo pa ulit, tawa, inis, at iyak padin. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo grabee haha. Ang nakakatuwa nga yung habang umiiyak ka tapos bigla kang tatawa 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo yan. Hahaha. Nakaka-miss ilang buwan na akong di nakakapag-kdrama ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako diiin haha nakakamiss kaya last week nanuod ulit ako, ayun tawa, kilig, iyak at inis nanaman hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anong kdrama pinapanood nyo ngayon? Try ko din kung sakali.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doom at your service. Hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't heard of that yet. Watch ko po muna trailer. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, ongoing pa din kasi. You're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago