Why K-Drama is Popular Internationally

19 54
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

If you've been reading my articles, you would know by now that I am a k-drama fan. I really love watching k-dramas on my spare time and I already wrote 2 articles wherein I talk about my highly recommended k-dramas. Here they are:

Best K-Dramas Of All Time

K-Dramas To Watch Before You Die

Photo from Asian Wanderlust

For this article, I want to discuss my perspective on why Korean dramas are very well-known not just in South Korea, not just in Asia, but internationally. 🌎

Chemistry

One of the things that makes me hooked in watching a k-drama is the casts, not just the main roles, but also the supporting characters. I have questions made up in my made like...

Do the protagonists suited their role?

Do the couples have chemistry between them even if they are not doing anything romantic?

Do the antagonists blends with their supposed character?

Do the second leads and even the supporting casts can give justice to their given role?

Questions like that helped me identify in rating a k-drama if it's really good or just fine.

Casting is important for me as a viewer. And most of the Korean dramas that I've watched, I noticed that they really give value on choosing their casts for each role.

My personal examples for good castings are the "Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok-joo" and "18 Again"! In "18 Again", even if the main leads are 30s/40s woman paired with 18 year-old guy, I can still feel so much chemistry! >.<

Cinematography

Aside from the good storyline, I love how k-drama looks aesthetically pleasing because of the cinematography, especially if it has a light storyline genre like romance and comedy. I would notice sometimes that they consider having color palette that's happening all throughout the episodes. Example is the Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok-joo wherein most of the colors are soft-tone or pastels.

Of course the cinematography always depends on the genre. I also even like the dark cinematography when it comes to thriller, mystery, and the likes genre. A great example is the "Sweet Home" (photo attached above). "Sweet Home" is on my list on K-Dramas To Watch Before You Die. It's just really one of the best for me and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Productions

It is so obvious that they put a lot of effort to the production quality of almost every Korean dramas. But, high production quality also entails mid to high range of cost.

An example k-drama with a high production quality with also a huge budget is one of the best action k-drama, "Vagabond". According to TatlerAsia.com, Wikipedia, and other articles online, The estimated cost for "Vagabond" is 25 billion Korean won or ~20,862,280.00 USD.

Many cars has been used and wrecked in the drama and the setting was also overseas that's why the cost was that big. Other k-dramas with a huge estimated cost are "Kingdom" seasons 1 and 2 with 35 billion Korean won, "The King: Eternal Monarch" and "Sweet Home" with ~30 billion Korean won, "Legend of the Blue Sea" with ~22 billion Korean won, "Crash Landing On You", "Vicenzo" and "Hotel Del Luna" with ~20 billion Korean won.

Source: 10 Most Expensive Korean Dramas To Make | Tatler Asia

OSTs

I have a Spotify playlist particularly for k-drama OSTs that I really like when I watch k-dramas and there are a lot of it now. I will definitely add more to my playlist along the way as I keep on watching new k-dramas in the future.

I have tons of favorite but here are some of my favorite OSTs... "Find the Difference" by Kisum & Seulong (in "Uncontrollably Fond") and "Say Yes" by Loco and Punch (in "Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo").

In my opinion, k-dramas having OSTs that fits certain scenes tend to make the drama more dramatic and so the OSTs are most likely to be engraved in the mind of watchers which makes the k-dramas more memorable for them.

Suave

I can't find a perfect term with this one. But I read somewhere where her term is that k-drama is "more family-friendly". While my term is "suave". According to Google, "to be suave is to be smooth, polite, and a little bit cool". What I mean by this is that korean dramas are not aggressive compared to other dramas such as hollywood. The romance stories, the flirting stage goes very smoothly, and the sexual tension is suppressed.

I think those who are reserved or conservative or who prefer slow and smooth romance stories instead of aggressive ones tend to prefer k-dramas more (just like me) 😅. That's just my observation, guys. Hihi.

To those who are like me, watch this link below because it's relatable when watching kdrama with kissing scenes vs watching hollywood films with kissing scenes. Hahaha.

https://youtube.com/shorts/48NZY08US_g?feature=share

Those are my 5 reasons why I think Korean dramas are known worldwide. If you have any other thoughts on the reasons why they are so popular, feel free to share it on the comment box.

Thank you for reading and until the next blog! ❤️


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: January 6,2022

6
$ 2.60
$ 2.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 4
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

That's right, sis, kasi sobrang ganda ng cinematography nila, hindi tinipid. Ang gaganda rin ng kwento nila kasi yung iba nakabase sa culture nila. Mas lalo sila nakikilala dahil sa magagandang shows.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka hook yan talaga sila ee lalo na di ka magsasawa sa kwento kasi iba iba talaga plot. Bukod doon ay di nila pinapahaba, unlike pah dito satin aguyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trueeee! Saatin umaabot ng taon hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May alam kang mga horror kdrama sis like zombies or any basta kdrama? Naghahanap kasi ako pero wala akong makita, napanoon ko na yung metaphysis or blabla diko alam spell. Tas zombie napanood ko narin, gusto ko sana ng horror

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung "Sweet Home" sis, di sya zombie kaso, monsters sya pero super fave ko. And "Kingdom" zombie yun. And yung "Happiness" din maganda raw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natapos ko na sil sis, tas after nunwala nako mahanap HAHAHAAJ jusko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah ganyan pala mga type mong kdrama sis more on dark genre. I suggest yung Flower of Evil, mystery and thriller sya, walang zombie eme pero sobrang ganda din ng story <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

San mapapanood sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa Netflix ako nanood nun, pero meron din sa dramacool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Andaming site ng dramacool, diko makita yung pinakamain site nila 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

https://www4.dramacool.sk/ dito ako sis nanonood hihi. sabihin mo if okay yung website ha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not so fan of Kdrama but I do watch movies and yes, the cinematography is the one that catches the people to watch, also the best scenic place so do. Over all the main attractant for sure is your Oppa hahaha. That's given

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree. Although I disagree with the main attractant is my oppa. Haha. It still depends on the storyline and other factors. I kinda hardly give a 10/10 rate for kdramas. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Korean Drama a lot sis. Yes you're right sis the chemistry. Oh my! My face will be on redness. One of the best I've watch is "Legend of the Blue Sea" because I am super fan to Lee Min Hoo and Jeon Ji Hyun.🥰❤️

I love the flow of story too sis, mostly of the Korean dramas has an amazing story. Yes I agree the songs. The reason I am addicted because of the OST's. Korean Drama is the best.❤️🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup! Lee Min Ho's kdramas are really great! Love ko din yan na LOTBS sobrang nakakatawa at nakakakilig. Hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang gusto ko sa K-Dramas ay yung Chemistry nung main characters. Yung kahit magtitigan lang sila pero feel mo yung connection nila. Then hindi din boring panoorin yung mga eksena

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Kahit hindi magka-dikit or what nakakakilig na agad hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, kahit yung simpleng tinginan lang, naku kinikilig na ako, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhuhu. Same >.<

$ 0.00
2 years ago