My Christmas traditions #1 - season's first ham bread

68 100
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hello, hello beautiful people from Read.cash!

The first half of November has already gone and every day Christmas is closer. In Venezuela, this time was always happy and very celebrated, but due to the economic and political crisis, this season isn't anymore what it used to be. Many families have been separated since many of their members have left the country. A few days ago, my friend @gertu13 talked about this in her article Christmas is here. In my case, although my only sister and her family are still here, many of my cousins ​​have left and of my closest friends, only one still lives in the country. So the celebrations and gatherings aren't longer like before. But we always try to keep some of our traditions. And in Venezuela, Christmas traditions always have a lot of food involved and also some drinks.

Before, by this time many people had started making their Christmas decorations. But these days, so far I've seen just a few balconies and gardens illuminated with lights. I usually do my decoration the first week of December, I use to have everything ready for my birthday. But now, I don't decorate as much as when my son was little. Some ornaments, lights on the balcony, and a nativity. In Venezuela, Santa is a commercial figure we have adopted but Baby Jesus is the important symbol of our Christmas. He is the one who brings the gifts on Christmas day. And speaking of that, in this photo is my oldest Christmas ornament, I have had it since I was a little child.

My sister and I, each had one of these. We used to put them under the Christmas tree along with our slippers to show the Baby Jesus where to leave our gifts. Mine doesn't have my name but my nickname Cocola that many already know from Why Coqui, eh.

Now, going to the title of this article. Yesterday, I ate one of our traditional foods around this time. It's always present in our Christmas celebrations, the Ham Bread. When the month of November arrives, almost all bakeries have it among their products.

Ham bread is a typical Venezuelan Christmas bread, filled with ham, raisins and green olives with red pepper.

We use to eat it with our most traditional Christmas meals, but it's so, popular that the truth is we can eat it at any time these days.

Its origin from what I have been able to research and according to gastronomy scholars in the country, dates back to 1905 in a bakery in Caracas and in its origin, it only had ham.

The following year, similar products appeared in other bakeries. And over time, they were adding the rest of ingredients to have the bread that is so popular today.

Over the years, ham bread has evolved. In some bakeries, they make them with turkey, others have made versions with puff pastry. I remember some years ago, in a small French pastry shop that I mentioned before in an article for their strawberry and blackberry tartlets, they even used to make a version with puff pastry and salmon, then they stopped making it because it was very expensive.

Yesterday, I ate my first slice of ham bread of the season, which will surely be the first of many. At home, we've never prepared ham bread, we always buy it at the bakery. But who knows, maybe this year I dare to make one myself. And you, my dear readers. Do you have any special bread you eat exclusively at Christmas?

Thank you to my awesome sponsors. You all rock! And today especially thanks to @Eylz2021  for renewing her sponsorship. And to @Diana_ for her sponsorship.

To you, my dear readers. Thank you so much!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

November 17, 2021

28
$ 14.07
$ 12.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 27
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Me and my friends used to takes champagne party with DJ. No special plans for Christmas. It's really looking so fascinating that you’re having quality times with ham and bread.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, well is just the bread we served with the meals but it's very tasty :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not yet had the blessing of tasting a bite of that special bread that reminds me of Christmas. I will buy one soon, God willing. Greetings

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Saludos, amiga! I hope you can enjoy a ham bread soon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really can't wait for Christmas too cause it one of the time of the year the family is completely gathered together in one place

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, there is very little left for Christmas, thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ham and Bread will always be on the table every Christmas and new year. Just like us in here, it's been our culture to have foods served at a table along with our family gathering around. Number one is the ham and bread, but we also have this keso de bola, a red circle cheese every Christmas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That keso de bola sounds interesting, I'll go google it, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the way Christmas traditions bring families together. I hope soon enough you and your friends and family are back together

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for your wishes :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know that in Venezuela, your exclusive christmas food is ham bread. It's quite different here. They don't put olives in the ham here. It's just plain, juicy ham with a sweet, delicious sauce. It's paired with queso de bola. Then we just slice the cheese and ham then make a sandwich out of them or add them to macaroni salad. Those combinations are always present here every christmas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ham bread is just the bread we served with the meal we have plenty more dishes we do on Christmas and I will talk about some in the next few days. We also eat sometimes Honey Baked Ham at Christmas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One more month and Christmas will be arrived. It becomes our tradition that every Christmas the family must be together.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Enjoy Christmas with the family is the best :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your nick name is sooo cute, and the bread is looks sooo delicious,😋 Indeed, few more weeks and we can celebrate again the Christmas ,and I can really feel the spirit of it.❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is waving. I didn't try that ham bread yet but soonest I will. I looks yummy!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's yummy, I hope you can try it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Craving for that ham bread

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happy to see the Christmas celebrations have been started everywhere, but I am amazed to hear that there is a special food served on the occasion of Christmas which is Ham Bread.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's the bread we serve with our Christmas meals but we make many other things that I will talk about at another time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! First time seeing the bread, and by the looks of it, I also want to try it! That's some generous amount of ham stuffed inside the bread! 😋 That would be best with some maple syrup (in my opinion). ♥️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I've never eaten it with maple syrup but I'll try it next time, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to meet you virtually, I love to read you🎁🎄Merry Christmas🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, you are very kind! Happy Christmas to you too. Saludos :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That Ham Bread Coqui looks delicious. But I am sad I can't even eat it as I do not eat raisins that much. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My son when he was little used to take the raisins out but now he loves them;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is waving indeed. The same is observed around here too, my friend. Not many people have decorations or Christmas lights. Times are changing :) It seems your birthday is coming up sis?

Your ham bread filling is interesting, I am sure I could eat that :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's coming sis, hehe! Ham bread is really good, I'm sure you would like it. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks delicious that ham bread wheel, I recently announced that I am going to publish the ham bread recipe as I made it for the first time, it is nothing like the one I make now because of the cost of the ingredients, but it was a very delicious bread.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh well, I will look forward to your recipe. I want to try to make it for the first time this year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not too many comments here, just that the bread looks pretty delicious and... Well, I am still flattering because your real name is not Coqui, c´mon, it´s when parents say Santa does not exist.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

LOL, it doesn't exist?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know that now they also sell mini ham bread. I don't know if the bakeries in your area make it. I have bought them here and they are very tasty. I like Christmas because in spite of all the things that are as bad as they are I get ham bread, dulce de lechoza and hallacas. Only my family and closest friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think I have seen them also but have never tried them. I will make hallacas maybe the first week of December. And I love the dulce de lechoza.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A mi me gusta todo lo de navidad. Yo haré mis hallacas después del 15 de diciembre. El pan y el dulce lo espero de regalo.a

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jeje! espero que te regalen mucho. Ya de tanto hablar de comida navideña me provoca una hallaca con ensalada de gallina.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bon appetit hehehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow! I love the ham bread! Looks really sumptuous! I want a slice, i'm starving reading this at midnight lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sorry for making your starve, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That ham bread looks delicious. In our country, there are burger stands that are selling hamburgers but without green olives in them, It just doesn't know if it is the same ham that you are using there or this is more likely the cheapest one here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh wow, this looks so yummy. Now, I am starving. Haha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can try to make it, hehe ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really have to make something similar coz it looks amazing and my Christmas has just been the same for years maybe with this I could diversify and make my self happy… I loved every picture, it really drew me closer to it 😅😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you like it and you would like it more if you try it, hehe. Thank you Gozie :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks so mouth watering except that meat hehehe... I wanna taste it, espc after you mentioned olives.. my fav toppings :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I should think in a veggie version of it ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The celebrations and excitement has already began. Best wishes to you dear.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, Luci. Best wishes to you, too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww give one slice of them friend, that bread looks delicious and i am now after for it. How i wish i could try some of that Venezuelan Christmas bread. Here in Philippines for my 20 yrs of exist i never had that kind of bread, cause if ever we had that here ! There's no way i won't taste it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will try to make one at home to share the recipe. Maybe you can make it. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would be happy with that friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome sis! That ham bread looks so tasty 🤩🤩🤩 and that cute little ornament.. take care of it.. it has so many stories to tell over the years 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It sure has a lot of memories to tell, sis. xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The ham bread looks so delicious..I am not sure if we have a version of that here in Pinas. We only have bread or "tasty" as we call it for our bread during Christmas hehe..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh but "Tasty" has any special ingredient?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just plain sliced bread my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my goodness, that ham bread looks so good, I would love to eat it right now. Here in Venezuela a few years ago it was difficult to eat it because everything was scarce, but this year I hope to eat a few pieces of bread. I am glad that our traditions in spite of everything are not lost, thanks to the internet we can be with our families and celebrate virtually.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yes, my friend, we maintain our traditions despite difficulties. And the ham bread was so delicious, hehe. I hope you eat one soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yes the bread ham, Frankmart mentioned it in a comment to me. It does look tasty Eli. What a cute wee Santa, and is great you still have it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ham bread is so yummy! You would love it. I keep that Santa as a wee treasure. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it looks good, and the salmon with pastry version I used to make that and it is delicious too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Know I want to see that version of pastry with salmon you make ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Got me hungry now with that ham sandwich. Same as Carolinacardoza in the comments, I also want to eat one like that right now!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I would love to send you one, hehe. But maybe, if you like to cook you can make one at home ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This year's Christmas would be a good one for me since I already make plans to make this one special.btw you can bake the ham for these years Christmas and it would be fun throughout.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, maybe I will try to bake some this year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago