Christmas is here.

67 81
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

These dates bring back memories, the times when my family was complete come to my mind but many things have changed in the family, in the country and everything is lived in a different way.

It’s November, many years ago this date had an atmosphere of joy. The avenues were radiant at night, as much as in the daytime, the stores, malls, houses, buildings, even the trees did not fail to show their Christmas decorations, sparklers everywhere.

I loved that about Christmas. The difference begins with the deaths in my family, over the years things become the same at home. Gone are the typical meals, the family gatherings.

From unsplash

Then both the family and the customs continue to die, the country becomes fragmented. There are changes in the way of thinking that take over the minds of the common citizen. Their needs are not met, it’s necessary to emigrate, family members leave, friends leave.

Those of us who stay try to live the best we can. Those of us who have faith remain firm in our belief that at some point things will change to give a feeling of rebirth to all of us who remain.

For one reason or another many people decide to stay and move on with their lives. Just as I have decided to, many have as well, we are giving our best to help a country move forward in such chaos.

In my house I used to put up the Christmas tree with all the ornaments in updated motifs and colors for the moment. Together with my son we would get carried away by the Christmas mood and fill the house with Christmas decorations and motifs. Santas on sleighs, reindeer in frost, Christmas decorations for bathroom sets, kitchen sets, bedroom sets, appliance sets.

Everything had to do with Christmas. I also learned from my mother how to make a nativity scene. We made a cave out of paper that we then painted. We placed corn plants that we previously sowed and germinated to serve as grass around the manger, we placed chestnuts and nuts throughout the cave, simulating stones and rocks from the road.

The three kings were not missing either. They were placed a little far from the manger and then when the days approached when the kings would appear in the manger, we would raise the figures of the kings and bring them closer to the child.

from unsplash

I lost the habit. Both of the tree and the manger. Because we always traveled to the family in the country and there we stayed from December 22 to January 2.

But that also changed. The pandemic, the isolation and the gasoline shortage arrived and in the end we could do nothing... we had to stay cooped up to this day.

But we still have no tree, we have no manger, but my son and I continue together. With friends and family, we get together on the 24th and 31st in the evening for dinner.

The best thing is to be together and hope that everything will change at some point for the good of all, in the meantime to enjoy life as best we can.

Material things are not what bring happiness, memories bring us the longing for times past. But as long as we can be reunited with our loved ones the Christmas season will always be special.

I like the Christmas customs in relation to meals, preparing hallacas, a typical food made with corn flour dough, it’s made like a kind of baseball ball and then flattened, and in its interior a minced meat is placed, previously seasoned and cooked to the chef’s liking. Then olives, capers, pickles, potatoes and sliced eggs are added and it is closed, wrapped in a banana leaf that gives it the final flavor.

from unsplash

We also have the traditional ham bread, chicken salad, baked pork or pork leg, green papaya candy and the tasty black cake. In some places the paneton is eaten and the usual drink is the delicious cream punch and champagne wine.

No matter where we are, there will always be someone somewhere who offers a piece of their hallaca with a little bit of their favorite accompaniment.

And how are your Christmas celebrations?



Thanks to my readers and sponsors for their constant support, I love you all.Thanks to my readers and sponsors for their constant support, I love you all.

30
$ 19.13
$ 18.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 22
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

I just despair with what has happened to Venezuela, a country that was rich in so many minerals and resources. Christmas in the UK is turkey meal, but even here it is not the big deal it used to be with families getting together for big celebrations. Traditions change in time, not for the better.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

But we are still a rich country, only very poorly managed. The riches are there and they will never leave, that is why the evil leaders will never leave either. We are here doing the best we can to get by giving our best. Until we can do no more. I have faith that something will improve. Here we are not so fond of eating turkey, but in some cases we eat it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes when I worked in the Oil Industry I very nearly took a job in Venezuela years ago, but went to Africa, and there the same things happened, many riches but corrupt leaders destroying the people and the country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, here's hoping. Thanks for the moral support.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally identify with you, although we try to keep the tradition, everything has changed, my son had to leave the country, I remember that he arrived with his friends for those holidays, some spent the 24th, others the 31st of December, sleeping on the living room floor, others playing "play station", the doors open, it was wonderful. Well we will have our hallacas and ham bread, it is up to me to make it, even if it is with a slice of ham, hahaha, or spray ham.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Where are you from? I spent several years without a job. Only with what I earned on other platforms. And I still did what you say. I made my hallacas with a mini chicken breast and a little piece of beef. And some dressing from my garden.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From Cumana, we have also been hard hit these last 2 years, I am planting in pots, chili, eggplant, we also took a patio of a house and cultivate there, although I do not attend much, I spend more time on the internet, looking for a little more income.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well here you are on the best platform you can find these days. It is a pleasure for me to read that you are Venezuelan and see what you have to write. I will be stopping by to sponsor you anytime soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You seem to be missing your good old days during Christmas. True indeed, more than material things its the memories that lasts. Do enjoy with your son and make it more memorable.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My son and I have been through a lot and together we have made it. We are now balanced and enjoy being together much more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always miss the old tradition we do every Christmas season, today is less fun but it's okay the important is we have our family and God to celebrate the most beautiful day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen and may it always be so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, my friend

We also celebrated Christmas, a tradition inherited from our parents. But not anymore. To the extent that we were discovering and understanding the sinister behind the apparent spirituality that it tries to symbolize.

Well, I respect the beliefs of others, but the lights no matter how beautiful they are, no longer move me. In fact, I now understand the deep emptiness after the holidays.

Now that I do not celebrate them, I am happier than before. It is not that he is at odds with the universal brotherhood. Of course not. It's just that something good can never come out of a lie, and that's Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi. How nice that you are celebrating in your own way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas Day is when my father in law died. It's just sad that it's is a happy day but you still missed that special person on that special day. But we still celebrate together. We just had our decoration shopping last week. My husband will put a Christmas Tree outside the house and it will be a big one as we cannot have a big one inside the house. The kids will be excited once again. The food Turkey and Ham our Christmas dinners are always the same. Then I cook Filipino food as well. Compare to the Philippines, ours is celebrated with much fun and we share food with our neighbours. I always see Paneton in the shop but haven't tried it. Maybe I should. Your food sounds good to me! Very interesting.

It's nice to read an article from you again Gertu!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Where have you been, my dear? I haven't seen you anywhere. Glad you are celebrating Christmas with your loved ones. We should remember our dead with the happy times when they were with us. Death is something inevitable that will come to all of us at the right time. We have many traditions with meals. I believe that in other countries it will be the same. The tree for the children are experiences that they will enjoy now and remember forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Darling, since I started working I had a challenging time doing everything. But I was at the noise as it's the easiest one for me to be active. I just feel bad if I write an article and will not be able to read and even comment or upvote others. I think that's not fair. I tried to sort my work out not to work too much. Coz money can pay for my health. I'm really happy to see you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I'm happy to see you too. I hope your earnings at your job have gone up. I haven't seen you in noises. You go out at different times than I do. Hehehe. A hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I celebrate Christmas with my family and we really enjoy that holiday. We also prepare nice food like you do. There is something interesting. We prepare bread with a coin inside that we break and then everybody has his own piece of bread and looking for a coin inside. Who find a coin, he will have a luck. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think it will be luck. Finding money is always luck. Where are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From Serbia. Yes, finding money is always luck 🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had some friends from Serbia. But they never came back. And I learned a lot from their beautiful stories from Serbia. Welcome to my blog. And I look forward to reading your stories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much, I am glad to hear that. Best regards from Serbia.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This has made me nostalgic for the Christmas celebrations we used to have. For me now they aren't the same either. The enthusiasm for decorating isn't the same and although I usually put some decorations in early December before my birthday. I haven't had a Christmas tree in a long time. And sometimes I make Hallacas but with the nostalgia that nothing is the same as it used to be.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I think you have expressed my sentiment. Apart from the fact that I thank God for allowing me to be reunited even with my close relatives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Christmas mate. We don't celebrate Christmas here. I would love to see your preparations. Have a blessed night.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have other habits. Thank you for not offending ours and respecting our customs. It is commendable in you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s my pleasure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Christmas, our Christmas is just a simple one. Just a few dishes and some desserts and that's it. We don't decorate our home also. No Christmas tree and some things just on Christmas light and that's that. But no mattwr what, we are together celebrating it and that I think is more important 🎄🎄

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the most important thing about Christmas. To be in family united in love and sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a few similarities in celebrating christmas. We also start with the decorations and the manger and christmas tree will always be present. Ham is always present in meals too. The difference is how early we celebrate it here. When the "ber" month starts, the spirit of christmas is already here. Christmas songs start to olay by September. I also agree that it's not the material things but it's the memories that count in this season. The material things we receive from people are just the tangible form of memories they leave us.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We realize over the years that happiness is in the memories we hold in our hearts. That happiness is being with our family and together celebrating love and Christmas.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I really love that but of a skill acquisition you got from your mom. It's awesome and I wish you a happy Xmas in advance

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Merry Christmas to you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing like Christmas celebration. Trying to decorate everywhere especially the birth of Jesus in a manger being decorated in the home. I love celebrating Christmas and I am looking forward to traveling to my hometown to merry with other families.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I wish you well in making your trip and joining your family members for the celebration. Merry Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas provides a lesson for us that the love of the Lord Jesus for this world is very real, everyone who believes in Him always longs for these times, sharing with others regardless of background is a mirror of Christians. Congratulations, we welcome Christmas this year, may there be peace even though we are facing a pandemic. 🎄🙏

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is true. A date commemorating the birth of the salvation of our lives. It gives us happiness to gather with our loved ones and celebrate the nativity of the child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is a special time of celebration that all world the world are very happy to see the day, to feel the joy, love, happiness and more.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes. We love to see each other as a family get together. The preparations. The meals. The sharing. The whole spirit of Christmas pleases me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like the Christmas celebration. Although I have never been able to participate in such an event. But I really like it. I saw it on TV. I enjoy it. I want you to perform this ceremony in a very beautiful way. Have a lot of fun.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I will. Thank you. This time I will go with my closest family since I can't go to the countryside. Too bad you can't celebrate. Where do you live?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The usual Christmas celebrations or traditions have been affected by economic situations and this pandemic but I love that you and your son still get together with your friends on Christmas eve and New Year's eve. We do the same, with our families, and just like you do, we cook variety of food. No matter the situation, it's still good to celebrate it with thanksgiving :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It doesn't matter how poor we are because our heart feels so joyful to be reunited with love that the celebration becomes great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, sis. It makes us feel rich when we are with the people we love

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is definitely the best time.. thinking that Jesus came to this world is what it is all about... i love to meditate on that truth every Christmas

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is a date to commemorate the birth of Jesus, who came to save us. It gives us so much joy to gather with our families and show our love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas, ate Gertu! I always love this season. It feels different. 💗

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I totally agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry christmas maam in advance❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Same for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't feel it here. Maybe in my country. Or maybe they'll decorate HK in December 😅 Christmas is always the best season of the year for me. Full of happy memories

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Just the thought of the family being reunited brings so much love to our hearts. I hope you will decorate in December there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't do witjout the happiness of expecting the xmas celebrations or its expectancies. The joy and happiness such a day brings to us is not quantifiable at all. Happy xmas in advance dear

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's like this. We love the love and peace that these holidays bring to our hearts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advance merry Christmas Gertu, same here we already have some Christmas decorations as well.. time flies so fast.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It went by very fast I agree with you. I love the Christmas spirit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas my friend! I hope you have a good time with your family. Now that we finally see a light at the end of the tunnel, with this pandemic that has affected us so much in almost 3 years now

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is true my friend. We have some clarity. But we still have to be alert. Let us not be careless. The evil strains are modifying very fast and we go from one variant to another. Happy family reunion to you and yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas to you my friend! It's the same as your celebration but for now, I'm not sure if I can go home this coming Christmas. How I really wish I could

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Let us make friendly prayers for the angels to carry our petitions to the King of Kings. May He do His work and may you be reunited with your family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had some similarities in celebrations, yeah December 24 at 12 AM was the highlight where we will be eating food in the my grandfather house, we are all complete for the Christmas as the clan then followed by the new year that will be the free time where my cousins could go anywhere they want LOL. Christmas is really magical.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I agree about the magic that the Christmas atmosphere awakens in us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is the most unique celebration of the year, a season of joy, peace and hope, the way we celebrate it while we are young is much different from the way we celebrate it now that we are older.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. The way I celebrated when I was young is different. Now I enjoy it more. I get more satisfaction from sharing with my family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas, my friend. Our celebration of Christmas really changes over time. And it gets sadder and sadder.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

But Christmas is in you. Everything changes outside as I wrote but don't let it change inside you too. Enjoy with your family even if it is very limited supplies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago