MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.30 "Medieval Darkness"

0 42
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Midnight, Gems, Trip, Journey, ...

For those of you that are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs that might have slipped your mind....or never even reached your ears and tonight the latter might very well be the case.

We are going back and not to the 60´s, 70´s or 80´s ......no tonight we will go back about a 1000 years. As I might have told you I played alternative gigs, but also goth and folk & medieval is part of that scene.

I think it started with Enigma and Enya, but I truly fell in love with the genre when I discovered Loreena. It does not matter which song, even her Christmas album is great. This next song is one of my favorites, but for tonight I think it will paint the pictures I like to see at the start of this journey.

1. Loreena Mckennit - Highwayman

Look for me by the Moonlight during this midnight of medieval madness......these babes were probably the second band that really pulled me back to my roots. These voices are magical...sugary sweet....but close your eyes and remember those days a couple of lives ago.

2. Mediaeval Baebes - Erthe Upon Erthe

This album (Worldes Blysse) from those babes is amazing....a good glass ...a dark night and some candles. They did an amazing version of the next song as well, but they tend to color within the lines.

Those lines are fully blurred by this next group. I have heard a lot of versions of this next song, but never have I ever heard it like this.....take another glass close your eyes and enjoy!

3. MUSICA FICTA - Gaudete

This night is getting darker and so will the music on our little trip. These guys triggered my dyslexia I always read the burned kids of Eva instead of the banned kids. So the truth is a little less dramatic, but you would not notice listening to this next song.

4. Die Verbannten Kinder Evas - Brief Even as Bright

There is this great link between darkwave and medieval/folk and one of those bands that fit perfectly in that little dark niche is Inkubus Sukkubus. We are entering the witching hour so if you start seeing things moving in the corner of your eyes....there are things moving trust me.

5. Inkubus Sukkubus - Aradia

Hope you are enjoying our little trip? We passed the darkest point of our journey and will now visit probably the best folk/medieval band from the Netherlands. I wish I had these guys play on my wedding/handfasting ....oh I did have them....it did not save the marriage but it makes an amazing memory.

6. OMNIA (Official) - Morrigan

Did I say the best Dutch Folk...I did then there is a little competition from this next band although they are again closer to darkwave with some folk influences. They make a great bridge between songs 6 & 8 and definitely deserve a place in this list. I think I have seen them live twice, but this song live is pure darkness.

7. Malochia - Resist

As you know I always try to put a cover in the end and today was an easy one....this is such an amazing version of Alle Menschen werden Brüder which fits perfectly in our little trip If you ask me.

8. Tanzwut - Götterfunken

That would have been a great closing song, but there is one more band that I would like to shill before we take our last zip and close our eyes. It´s in Flemish but I will provide you the translations, these girls are amazing even if you do not understand a word of it.

9. Laïs - De Wereld Vergaat

The world will come to an end

Friends, it's time to pack your stuff

It's time to pack everything

Try to feel a bit more joy, if you can

Joy and grief stay the longest

Because Earth is already burning out

It seems that the sun and moon are leaving us

I don't force anyone to believe me,

but it's said that the world will come to an end.

 

Some say: It's sad to hear

That mankind will be burned.

Others say: They will smother us.

Both aren't that pleasant

It was darn exaggerated

to treat us like fish.

It's scary, shaky and trembling

to think the world will come to an end.

 

What's the use of washing and shaving?

What's the use of changing into a new shirt?

Just let us drink and smear

Just let us spend all our money

Come on, Jan, you still need to get some chickens,

there are enough chickens outside.

You don't have to pay,

because the world will come to an end anyway.

 

Is there anyone here who wants to buy clothes?

I'll take the rap for everything

I'm planning on walking around in my shirt

Because it's still too nice for the heat of the fire

I'm going to sell my tools because

there's no use in working anymore.

I won't touch them anymore,

for the world will come to an end anyway.

 

Finally, it had to happen.

It was predicted by the star with the tail.

Luckily, I took precautions

and spent all my money, thank God.

I am now forced to go into debt,

they'll kick me out today or tomorrow.

But I laugh, because it can't affect me,

for the world will come to an end anyway.

 

Yeah, the world will come to an end.

https://lyricstranslate.com

What the fluff are midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism I have been wanting to do this for years....Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this slightly confronting wave of amazing music and you still feel like joining me on the next trip as vol. 29 of Midnight Gems is coming soon.

Previous Released Midnight Gems:

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.1 "Shoe...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.2 "Dutc...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.3 "Dist...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.4 " Syn...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs - Vol.5 Vin...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.6 - "...

MidNight Gems Vol.7 - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs - "...

MidNight Gems - Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.8 " This is what Sa...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.9 " I...

The best covers you probably never heard - MidNight Gems Vol.10 - Cove...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.11 "G...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.12 "M...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.13 "P...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.14 "S...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.15 "L...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.16 "D...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.17 "B...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.18 "P...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.19 "S...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.20 "...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol. 21 "...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.22 "F...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.23 "F...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.24 "G...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.25 "T...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.26 "T...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.27 "K...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.28 "N...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.29 "N...

Disclaimer

I do not have any connection with any company I am writing about. I am not being paid to write this article.

If you like my content, please hit like and subscribe. Because more Bitcoin baby Mistakes are coming......

Feel free to provide tips, comments, feedback, anything.....?
Remember that sharing will improve life in general!

Direct Donations are always welcome to keep me going:

BTC: bc1qdsrg7qaefxvel6hn6mjemjd4c8jjs40sasyvkp

ETH: 0x4216fEC23Ae7A7d9c46143Ce56C3e8f301F9868c

Bitcoincash:qqesav8kuwcrhl4y8qs9zfjg90cf8dnlkyz43u9w6u

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Midnight, Gems, Trip, Journey, ...

Comments