MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.2 "Dutch Diamonds"

3 51
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

What the fluff are midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

Midnight Gems will be a series that will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed, or might have been forgotten.

Today I will go back to my roots, both as a DJ and a Dutchie starting with a cover done by Nightwish Singer Floor.

1. Alone - Heart (cover by Floor Jansen)

This song represents how my DJ career got started as I played 80´s parties and Goth Gig´s in the same startup period.

That takes me back to the origin, the true start of that female-voiced ethereal goth trend. And no it´s not that other Dutch band (I will cover that one in song 4).....the origin for me is

2. The Gathering - Strange Machines

If that is a bit to much for you. The singer Anneke grew up and made this little gem.

3. Agua De Annique - Come Wander With Me

Are you still able to keep up with me switching between 1st and 6th gear, because here we go again?

4. Within Temptation - Ice Queen (lyrics)

I knew these guys back in the days, the guitarist often visited the bar dancing where I was working as a DJ and bartender.

They performed this song prior to the single release at the Mundial festival (2001) in Tilburg (Netherlands). They were so proud, they played the song twice and it was even better the second time around.

Okay I will take my foot off the gas paddle now. By the way, did you notice that Floor Jansen´s video setting has similarities with a world-famous album cover......?
That album cover will make us leave the Netherlands, so I thought this song would make an appropriate goodbye.

5. Tori Amos - Little Amsterdam

Oh my goodness, I still so love Tori and it brings back so many memories. Many of my musical memories relate back to ex-girlfriends.....
And in this case, it´s the girl that sang Tori for me at midnight sitting behind me on the luggage carrier of my bike. She loved this next song.

6. Melissa Etheridge & Joan Osborne - Bring Me Some Water

And what is not to love...that is the way that song should be played. Nice & Rough...but sometimes I do play a song that´s Nice & Easy. Like the next song, as this was around the same time that Jewel had her first breakthrough.

7. Jewel - Little Sister

After vol 1. I was thinking about turning track 8 into my cover Fetish track. So let´s see if I can make that work.

8. Kaizad Gherda - Foolish Games

There is such beauty in that cover, his voice takes me to a place deep inside. And once I reach that place I wanna stay there a while and listen to these guys.

9. The War On Drugs - Thinking of a place

Not sure if anybody made it till here, but if you did I hope your trip was as good as mine.

Youtube full playlist:

Now you can find the playlists I create also created on youtube

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLXQdG71WNB5UjNd3wspSL1sbnOYFi63Y8

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having a uncompleted study of radio journalism I have been wanting to do this for years....Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

If you enjoyed this vol.2 please follow me for vol 3. of Midnight Gems coming soon. And I promise that it will be more Pianissimo than Vol.2😉

If you missed vol.1 here´s the link so you can continue the journey

MidNight Gems vol.1

Disclaimer:

I do not have any connection with any company I am writing about. I am not being paid to write this article.

If you like my content, please hit like and subscribe. Because more Bitcoin baby Mistakes are coming......

Feel free to provide tips,comments, feedback anything..... Sharing will improve life in general!

Direct Donations are always welcome to keep me going:

BTC: bc1qdsrg7qaefxvel6hn6mjemjd4c8jjs40sasyvkp

ETH: 0x4216fEC23Ae7A7d9c46143Ce56C3e8f301F9868c

Bitcoincash:qqesav8kuwcrhl4y8qs9zfjg90cf8dnlkyz43u9w6u

3
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

Judging from how I don't know most of the songs here... hmmm... I need to make some arrangements to check all of these out. Let's see!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like that I am the same ...hope you enjoy more to come soon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sure! Have a nice day!

$ 0.00
3 years ago