MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.11 "Guilty Little Pleasures"

2 44
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
2 years ago

For those of you that are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing covers and we will do it a little different tonight....

It´s guilty pleasure night.... as 11 is a bit of a foolish number I thought I would give you a bit of insight in my corrupted musical soul....hence tonight we will be playing my Guilty Pleasures.

As a DJ in an alternative Rock& dance club I always tried to push it to the limits...both sides of the limit. Hence walking the very thin line between to heavy and to popular.....and that attitude was inspired by DJ Raymond . He was the only DJ in that club that new how to incorporate Madonna´s Ray of Light into an alternative set.

1. Madonna - Ray Of Light

Yes ...that brought back memories......and still it´s probably one of her best songs ever. And even though Lady Gaga has done an amazing job becoming the Madonna of the 00´s & Poker face would have been a very nice follow up to this song ..... I hope you forgive me that I am not letting the mix lead our trip.

Today is all about pleasure and there is one song ....by Ms Gaga....Ga Ga that really does it for me:

2. Lady Gaga, Bradley Cooper - Shallow (from A Star Is Born) 

The definition of a guilty pleasure for me is a cheesy or extreme poppy song that gives you that little warm glow inside....and one of the worst is one that lights the fire while you place the flowers in the vase....

3. Our House - Crosby Stills Nash & Young

That song is from a time that I was very little....and I did not have a clue what I was listening too...but years later the song just lights a little candle in soul.

Another song I had to figure out when I grew up was this one.....

As I had no idea what song it was until I was 18+ and found a friend that new which song I was talking about when I started humming...tumm humm tum tum.

Thanks Leroy hope you ever read this!

4. Mike Oldfield ft. Maggie Reilly - Moonlight Shadow 

Leroy and I drifted a part as we both met a girls that were a little bit Psycho....

I hope we will ever meet again, sit down, take a CD from his huge collection and make an other MALE Collection Mix Tape.

Guilty Pleasures can be of all ages....and this is probably my latest one....I still have a soft spot for a girl that´s sweet..but a little bit psycho.

5. Ava Max - Sweet but Psycho

Of course most of my guilty pleasures are coming from my late teens early twenties.....the age of EuroDance....these poppy pumpers still make my flame flicker.

6. Milk Inc. - Walk On Water

The greatest of those pumping songs must be this one, but if you wanna taste the real experience you might wanna try the Tiesto version.

7. Silence - Delirium ft Sarah Mclachlan

Of Course movies or series are a great place for cheesiness and one of the worst has to be this one....I was in love with the original..but maybe secretly I like this one better and luckily we landed at #8 so it´s time for a cover.

8. Lady Gaga, Bradley Cooper - Shallow (from A Star Is Born) 

And now my friends the end in near and so i draw my all time favorite guilty pleasure:

It come from the 80´s ...it was the first vinyl 45 I ever bought..... I was a cold war kid....caught in the middle between the USSR and USA.....afraid that one day they would clash over my head and secretly in love with Nikita´s psycho cold blue eyes.

9. Elton John - Nikita

Hope my selection did make your soul flicker here and there or at least they took you back to certain songs that I did not list...but that came drifting up in the mush we call our memory.

What the fluff are midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed, or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having a uncompleted study of radio journalism I have been wanting to do this for years....Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this slightly confronting wave of amazing music and you still feel like joining me on the next trip as vol 11. of Midnight Gems is coming soon.

Previous Released Midnight Gems:

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.1 "Shoe...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.2 "Dutc...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.3 "Dist...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.4 " Syn...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs - Vol.5 Vin...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.6 - "...

MidNight Gems Vol.7 - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs - "...

MidNight Gems - Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.8 " This is what Sa...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.9 " I...

The best covers you probably never heard - MidNight Gems Vol.10 - Cove...

Disclaimer

I do not have any connection with any company I am writing about. I am not being paid to write this article.

If you like my content, please hit like and subscribe. Because more Bitcoin baby Mistakes are coming......

Feel free to provide tips, comments, feedback, anything.....?
Remember that sharing will improve life in general!

Direct Donations are always welcome to keep me going:

BTC: bc1qdsrg7qaefxvel6hn6mjemjd4c8jjs40sasyvkp

ETH: 0x4216fEC23Ae7A7d9c46143Ce56C3e8f301F9868c

Bitcoincash:qqesav8kuwcrhl4y8qs9zfjg90cf8dnlkyz43u9w6u

5
$ 5.23
$ 5.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
2 years ago

Comments

It's almost same on my draft but no ideas starting to pop up on my mind. Maybe this article is now the sign haha. Thanks for recommending me these bop. Actually I'm 2000's kid and sweet but psycho and shallow is only what I knew.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks that is exactly why I write these and because I enjoy doing it of course as I am very eclectic in my musical taste... I do not have a fav genre or a fav decade....gems are gems!

$ 0.00
2 years ago