The other savings. PHP50 is worthless.

75 101
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago


bbyblacksheep wrote about her Piggy Banks and why they decided to open it. You can read there how much have they saved and for how long. Also, she wrote about how many piggy banks they have.

Before the introduction of real banks, people would save some of their money using jars or other household wares but more particularly a jars made of clay or mud which was called pygg. Later on the the word pig was then born but more referring to the animal.

As early as 14th century, piggy banks are made from terracotta in Java. There were also money boxes as old as 2nd century BC found in Asia Minor.

The word bank on the other hand came from the Italian word banco or bench. Businesses where done then openly in the market wherein lenders would set up a table and bench to do their business. Money would soon fill those benches or bancos.

Source

There are other sources online that you can read about how the piggy bank came to be.

Now, on to my savings.

Let's talk about savings other than your banks, investments, stocks or crypto wallets.

Back when I was studying, I remember saving around PHP300 for 1-2 weeks which is a big amount back then for me as a student and during that time as well for prices of goods and services have not skyrocketed just yet as compared today. From that I was able to buy things that I needed.

Side story: A local celebrity here was once interviewed and she mentioned about having a daily allowance of PHP1000 and she would only spend PHP100 from that. She got bashed of course which is not supposed to be. The intention was not bragging. It is not her fault that she was born in a rich family. What she was trying to say is that she was able to save for as young as she was she already knew the value of money thus she was disciplined enough to save. Why the hate?

I also started saved some coins saving PHP5 and PHP10. I also tried with PHP20 bills and other bills. I'm not sure where all those were spent but I hope it was put to good use.

Late last year, I started with the PHP50 challenge just like what I did when starting saving using bills. I have read once about saving bills and consider that without value. I started with PHP20 back then but was unable to sustain. That is what I did with the PHP50 now. I considered it without value. Every time we have change I would take the PHP50 bills and put it away. So last year I started that and then early this year we had to use all that up. I was able to save between PHP3000 or PHP5000. When a friend was in need, that is what we lent her and although we didn't ask for any interest, she still insisted when she paid it back so we gained some from that.

I started a couple of months ago again. I don't want to count them yet for I might be tempted to spend it once I knew how much was in it. So I'm still considering that as worthless.

This is where I place the bills that I collected. It's a used up container of crackers. We have lots of containers like these. Some were used as pots for plants and others were used as containers for some other things. We really have to repurpose and recycle these things.

I don't know the purpose of why I started doing this again but it is more for emergency. It is good to have some savings like these just in case you can't go to your bank right away and you need some petty cash.

One time I ordered some items online. I was informed of the estimated arrival. It did arrive a couple of days before that and I had nothing to pay for it since I chose cash on delivery. We don't usually have cash on hand for we budget what we have. That way we don't incur unnecessary expenses. I was supposed to go out the next day to withdraw some money and to go to the grocery as well. To be surprised like that I panicked. Good thing we do have coins which was enough to pay what I have ordered. Good thing also that the item was not that expensive lol! I don't like carrying coins when I go out. When we go out, we carry just enough loose change for our fare. That's why we have a container to place our coins.

Since then I paid the items already upon ordering and checking out the items so I don't have to worry about payment anymore.

I always read about how they don't have 1BCH yet in their wallets because they have to spend it. Don't feel down about it. There are things that you need to attend to so that's fine.

Isn't it better that you were able to help yourself and others rather than knowing that you can but you don't want to because you're afraid you will not reach that 1BCH if you spend what you earned?

Remember that the best investment still is taking care of yourself and your loved ones. It's okay to not have as much in your wallet for you know in your heart that you have put to good use your earnings.

So keep doing what you can. Keep doing what you are doing.

How is your day going so far? It's a Sunday but I decided not to go out for a jog/walk and rest instead for now.

Thanks a lot for your time and support.

32
$ 4.96
$ 4.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 14
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Okay din naman na may naitatabi sa bahay kahit pabarya barya.. Ako din mahilig mag ipon ng coins kaya kapag may ipapabili sa mga anak ko, alam na agad nila kung saan sila kukuha ng pambili.. Hindi na kailangan manghingi sa akin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayos! Wag lang abusuhin ng mga anak haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth hahahha..kahit papaano ay hindi naman..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am currently saving so I can buy the laptop that I need when I enter my last year in college. It is a bit pricey so I cannot just depend on my parent's money, I need to help even with just a little amount. I hope that I can control myself to not use it. Hahahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wish you all the best. I hope you get to save enough and more!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kuya I also tried to save in piggy banks when it was still face to face class. Save to yung mga bagong labas na 5 at 10 ang ganda kasi nila sa paningin ko hahaha I save almost 1 and when the time mama had no money for my allownace then the piggy bank save to to attain school for few weeks.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

O diba laking tulong talag pay may savings :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never had a piggy, but entering adulthood I felt the need to save some cash, an endeavor that lasted a few months until something come up at home and I had to use those savings. Now is difficult for people in my country to save money; whatever we get in our currency has to be spent at that moment otherwise the value drops and you lose money. Some people buy USD or crypto and have some savings, but we can compare with those who have been working those types of things for a long time, or have privileged upbringings and have the upper hand. In my time here I managed to provide for my family and start a piggy again, hopefully, it will keep growing. Sorry for the long comment!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I read frankmart's comment above and I can't comprehend the number of zeros. That would have been great if it was on the positive tip of the scale but knowing that is on the downside of things is heartbreaking.

It's great that you have found read.cash and BCH. A lot of us had been helped by this platform. It's only now that I can start some kind of saving again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, savings is for emergency purposes, especially medical aspects. But to lend it to someone in need is such a very kind gestures. Such a good person you are. Sometimes I feel bad whenever I used savings for other things but as you have said we must not feel like that. Because that's the purpose of it especially if we are in need.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

God will provide and sometimes let us be His instruments :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never used a piggy bank sir because it was always opened what I do is just saved a little every month of my earning. I am always glad that I could help my loved ones when in need. So I am not worried if I still don't have my 1BCH

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are such a giver :) Stay blessed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I'm still working i do save and used it to buy our own house. But now that I'm currently a full time mom, i can still save little bit from my earnings in noise cash, I'm still starting to save some from earnings here in read. Sometimes I need to buy something for my son and use my little savings from noise., It was really important to have savings, wether it is small or big.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. We don't know when the need arises so we have to save.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagsesave din po ako lagi kuya pero yun nga hindi ako nakakapuno haha. Kasi pag kailangan ko talaga, binabawasan ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

At least may nadudukot diba? hehe Kaya save lang ng save.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag save din ako dati tig 50 pesos pero kuha rin ako ng kuha haha. Halos lahat ng pera ko nasa e wallet na lang para less contact sa tao. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama mas tatamarin pag d naaccess agad :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isang taon ko lang yata nagawa to 20 everday haha nakaipon din yata ako nun ng mga nasa 3500 rin. tapos nun hiniram ng ate ko binili niya ng cellphone athindi niya binayaran tinamad na ako ulit mag ipon. 🤧😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Try mo na lang ulit. Start ka sa kaya mo lang i save muna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the problem of holding a currency, until when? When will you know that the exact moment is? Whenever it reaches an all-time high, then you think you shouldn't sell it because and does it go up higher? That is why living day by day with one part and the other if you leave it for the distant future. You have to live, eat, dress, help your family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed. The value of money changes every time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A few years ago, in Venezuela, banks gave you piggy banks to save, when you opened a savings account. As a university student I had a university assistantship, with that I had enough for the whole month, if I had collected money, I would have lost it, I explain: 1 Bs 10 years ago was worth 100.000.000.000.000.000.000.000 Bs of today, that is to say, that same Bs, today would be worth 0,00000000000000000000000001 Bs. 2 days ago I was a millionaire, 1.000.000 Bs became worth 1 Bs. The incredible thing is that the $ went from 4.200.000 Bs/$ to 6 Bs/$. It is necessary to save in BCH

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's mind boggling to see all those zeros :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i used to do the type of savings na nag iincrease ung amount...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I did that once before but couldn't do it the second time. Maybe I'll try doing it again :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. This is a sign and a go signal that we should not limit ourselves and our family just because we fear that we are the only one who doesn't have 1BCH in our wallet. After all, we work so we can provide the needs of our family and ourselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. Always save something for yourself :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In most homes we have a piggy bank, i believe. Here small piggy banks, made of mud clay is available in market. Purpose differs. Some of them collect for ritual purpose while for some of them it helps in times of emergency. My collection is i the pringles container (which has potatochips)- a long cylindrical one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wanted to buy those clay ones too but I'd rather use the containers that we have here for they are just piling up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to save before when there's no pandemic, and have notebook which I can check the date. It was so satisfying actually, especially during December; the usual date I withdraw all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'll try and see how long I can save before the year ends :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para masyadong malaki for me Yung 50 haha. Pero nauso dati Yan e Yung Everytime na may 50 ka dirrcho kagad sa alkansya

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yan din sabi ko nun. Parang di kaya ang 50 pero okay naman hehe. Sanayan lang siguro. Depende din kasi sa capacity natin :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit sobrang natatamaan ako nito huhu. Isa kasi ako sa nanghibinayang na i soend tung ipon ko kasi goal ko talaga mag reach ng 1BCH. Pero tama po kayo, mas impirtante parin yung sarili natin 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kung di mo naman talaga need at may ibang means pa, okay lang un pakurot kurot hehe. Depende kasi yan sa tao :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so obsessed with saving too😂😂I am a member of Peso Sense Group on facebook,and I was inspired with all the posts about savings there so I started my Ipon challenge in the year 2019.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's nice :) Anything saved is worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People who have savings tend to have a more optimistic life. Even though the savings are small, if done consistently, it can build a spirit of optimism. By getting used to saving, it means that you can also make your character or personality a more responsible person. Adhere to the main goal, even though there is a lot of desire to spend money.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I never thought it that way and you are right!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me, I believe it is good to save and if we are tempted to spend it for something necessary, it is worth it. It is just that even when we save, we still go there to spend it because we don't have any alternative but we are okay with it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's okay to spend to something that will be good for us especially in the long run.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not sure if I already reached 1 BCH. Actually I never thought of hodling kasi nga I joined here para may pang gastos na din pero if ever na maka luwag2 na saka na ko magsesave.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ganun din ako hehe. Kung may pwede na gastusin, convert agad ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention. 🥰 I also have some coins in an ice cream container. Container for 1 peso coin, 25 cents and another for .10 and .05 cents. But it sure is hard for the .10 and .05. LOL. Thanks for the info about the pygg. Didn't know about that. I thought it was literally because of the pig design.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The cents are ignored here lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha. Sa akin na lang. 🤣 sinabihan ako ng nanay ko noon na "hindi mabubuo ang piso kung walang sentimo". Kaya iniipon ko na din siya. Yung 25 cents madali lang mabuo ng Php50. Yung 0.10 at 0.05 ang mahirap. Di ko alam magkano kailangan ng bank pero sa 25 cents 200 pieces.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! May friend ako na nagco-collect kaya sa kanya namin binibigay hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Nakatulong nga dati yung mga cents ko kasi yung napasukan ko na Japanese resto, lagi nagbibigay ng cents sa pagsukli sa guest. Kaya dinadala ko dati yung naipon ko sa kanila. Kaso ngayon pandemic wala naiipon yung mga 5 at 10 cents. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I just try to save using an online bank app at the highest interest savings acct which is just 3.25% I think. 😆 Oh well. There's a higher one than that but I don't want to open anymore accts. 😅 Somehow it's really hard to save. Whew.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have some savings in gcash app but it's only 2.6% annually lol! I do have some investments there too which were started last year as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pass ako pag GCash daming fees tas gusto monopoly. Gumagaya na rin si Coins PH paunti-unti. Whew. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kay kunti lang pinapasok ko dun hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a good narrator. Growing up money was tight but I couldve been wiser just like the celebrity you mentioned.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Let's save what we can :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You remind me of old days, back during highschool and college days, that we were told to open a bank account and forced us to save the little pennies we had back then. Well, it was a worthwhile experience because I never thought I could actually save some money and double the fund as the year ends. I did come to appreciate the little interest it earned at end of the year. Reminds me to start the same with my kids. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If only they had taught us investments/stocks too imagine how much value would that be now :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahilig din kami mag ipon ng coins sa ganyan. Meron time na yun sa bamboo a namin nilalagay, 5 pesos each. Kaso pansin namin kapag nag aalkansya kami eh may nagkakasakit sa amin kaya tinigil namin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Siguro wag na lang coins. Bills na lang try nyo hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag may itinabi may madudukot po talaga, I don't think I can reach 1bch in my wallet because I always cash out it per month to used in small business. We really need to have savings po for emergency purposes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gustong gusto kk talaga mag save noon ee. Nakapag save naman ako mga coins. Tapos maya't maya din ang dukot. And ending di ko namamalayan, nasaid na pala wahahaha. Naubos lang s apagkain at kaka renta ng pocketbook huehue.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Okay lang yun sis. Di mababayaran yung saya na naibigay sa yo ng foods at pocketbooks.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sa pocketbooks din napupunta ipon ko nun hehe rent at pambili hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pocketbook is life talaga noon. Ang bilis ko makatapos ng isa hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo din pero ngayon ang tagal matapos ang isa haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ika nga Health is Wealth, Health is the most important, Yan kasi ang ating puhunan sa buhay. Savings is important also, kung may emergency man na pangyayari may mapagkukunan naman.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tamang balance lang dapat sa lahat :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last part! Winner ka ijay 🙂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saving is somewhat discipline. Its nice to hear from u articlee that u save even just little amount. For me, when I had work I'll make sure to separate my savings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can start doing it now. No matter how small :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already tried saving too pero hindi ko talaga maipon lalo na pag madali lang kunin. Hehe! That's why I am saving now in my digital wallet kasi hindi ko madali daling makuha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. Ganun talaga matinding disiplina ang kelangan pag madaling makuha hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago