Piggy banks

12 39
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Yesterday afternoon my dad was saying that our Php20 banknote will only be until the end of the year. There is no statement yet from the Central Bank of the Philippines but I am positive that even if it will be until December 31, 2021, banks will still accept it until next year. Even before my dad said that, I know that soon they are going to replace the Php20 banknote with a coin. I do have a relative working at the said bank and she explained to me the reason as why they have opted for the coin and not the paper bill. Indeed, the coin was really practical. I even made a noisy post about it months ago when I first got my Php20 coin. My dad and our helper thought that it was a limited edition coin released by Central Bank of the Philippines but I explained to them that it will be with us for years. Still they wanted to keep the 2 Php20 coin that I got so I gave it to them. @Jeaneth has also made a noisy post about the coin.

Now we cannot put this in an angpao. LOL.

When I last went to do my errands, I received a lot of Php20 coins from the drug store and supermarket. And I told myself that they are now slowly trying to remove the Php20 banknote from circulation. So this morning, I told my mom that we need to slaughter one of her pigs. LOL. Most of you who have been following me here and on noise.cash know that we have a lot of piggy banks. We bought it 2 years ago during the year of the pig. Because piggy banks are so cute, we bought one after the other. The first piggy bank that we bought was yellow followed by green and bought the pink and blue after.

Before I proceed with my story, let me ask you this, do you have any savings? Aside from the BCH that we hodl, do you have any coin banks or savings account? When did you start saving? Growing up, I had a few coin banks that I used and one of them is still with me though I only use as a lipstick holder. LOL. I cannot remember when I started putting small amounts of money on my coin banks but I was really happy whenever my coin banks were already heavy. Unfortunately, the money that I have saved were only good for a few months because there were instances that I needed to buy this or I needed to buy that. Also, I emptied my coin banks when I was already able to open my first savings account. Sadly, I closed it down after many years. I do have 2 savings account as of the moment but it is just a little above the maintaining balance. LOL. I am really having a hard time to save because of my debts but I will really make sure to put in even little amounts soon.

Going back to my mom's piggy banks. Her piggy banks are the yellow and green while blue is mine and the pink is for both of us. At first, we wanted the yellow piggy bank to be just all five hundred peso bill because of its color yellow. But because it was a little big for my mom, she decided to put in different amounts on it. After few months, she bought the green piggy bank and I told her that it should be one thousand peso bill because of the color green. Of course it was much harder for her to have a thousand peso bill. But she was able to put 1 five hundred peso bill on the yellow piggy and 1 one thousand peso bill on the green piggy. We have decided that her green piggy bank would be all one hundred peso bill. Pink piggy is only for fifty peso bill and my blue piggy is only for a hundred peso bill. We just made our lives harder with the color coded piggy banks. LOL. We really do not know for what our piggy banks are for. I know my mom even said before that her yellow piggy bank was intended for my dad's 75th birthday and my godson's 7th birthday and the green piggy was for travel. Well my dad had already celebrated his 75th early this year and my godson will be turning 7 next month. I guess that she would not use it for them already. Then my mom also said that the yellow piggy would be for our Zamboanga trip that was supposed to be mid last year but got cancelled and you know the reason as to why. Now, I really do not know the purpose of her piggy banks and mine as well. LOL.

I hope you can help.me feed our pigs. LOL.

We had our piggy banks around 2019 and I thought that we would be able to put in small amounts come 2020 but then again, the pandemic happened. I was already planning to look for a job that time but I decided to just postpone it again until we go back to normal. However, I am happy to say that even with the pandemic, we were able to save a total of Php6,229 (approximately $130).

I apologize if you will find this as bragging but my mom and I were just so happy that we were able to save that in 2 years. Even if the piggy banks were my mom's, I also put in some small amounts in it if I have extra before.

We just removed the Php20 banknote and started to save again. The yellow piggy would now be for the new five peso coin and the other piggy banks would remain as is. The money that we got from the yellow piggy was placed in the pink, green and blue. Yes, my mom fed my blue biggy half of the one hundred peso bill. Now our pigs are full. Cannot remember the last time that we feed them. LOL. The Php20 banknote will be deposited to my savings accounts.

I also looked for some Php20 banknotes on my old wallets. Have you heard of that saying that we should never empty our wallets? That we should at least leave a bill inside. I do not know why but it has been a habit of mine to keep one small bill inside. After months of no movement on my savings accounts, finally, they would be updated. I started this year by putting Php200 on each savings account every month. It may be small but it is better thanΒ  nothing. I am planning not to use the money on my savings accounts and save it for my future. In case you have not uet started saving up for the future, I suggest you do it now. Do not make the same mistakes that I did before and know the purpose of your savings. Whether it is for your future, travel, dream house, education, know about it so you would be more motivated to save up for that. I do not know who said it but I am going to quote it as my last statement. "Let us work until our bank account looks like our mobile phone number."

P.S. lead image is a photo of our piggy banks

9
$ 5.20
$ 4.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 2
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

I guess I have to get used to the 20 coin. I spend that right away when I receive one for they all seem alike with the other coins it's confusing. I might as well try and write about my other savings :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom and brother have their piggy banks too only it is not a true piggy bank. My mother used an empty bottle of alcohol while my brother uses a can that has an Ipon Challenge covered around it. My father too used to save some coins and placed it inside the plywood behind our room door.

Yes to working hard until our back accounts look like a phone number. Im so excited.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Before we bought the pigs, I was using the small tub from ice creams and chocolates. I am still using them until now for differrent coins. 😊 I also used the bottle from red wine before but I find it really cute for a coin bank that's why I just saved it for other purposes.

Let's claim it. Our banks accounts would look like our mobile number.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay nako madam, parang lumiit din value ng 20 pesos dahil ginawang barya. 😬

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama ka na lumiit ang value. Kasi parang feeling ko si 10 ang di na mapapansin. Tapos si 20 na ang new 10.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala akong ipon sa mga piggy banks sis kasi. Kinukuha ko rin naman after how many days hahhaha. Juskooo, di pa ako nakpag try na mag ipin talga ng more than 3 months. Lagi akkng failed sa aspect na yan hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha. Same na same. Ilang months lang din sa akin before pero ngayon dinidisiplina ko talaga na sarili ko na wag galawin. Kung kaya ko, kaya mo din. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A few years ago when the currency was stable we could save on those piggies. Today it is impossible, what you save will not be worth anything soon, there is a super inflation in Venezuela, which makes it impossible to save, you have to spend everything you earn, it is better to have it in goods than in cash.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is so true. Inflation have increased during the start of pandemic. It is really difficult to save nowadays. It is also very seldom that I get to hold some cash because it goes straight to my debts. But I am really trying my best to save even small amounts. I realized its importance when my mom was hospitalized 2 years ago. My dad was saving money even before. Although after that it was close to zero but he is now trying to start saving again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala akong ipon frenny, kuripot lang ako kaya nagtatagal ang kwrta sakin, pero ang ipunin? Nvm, ahahahaha. Nag try ako noon, High School ung mga barya barya ko, kuuu maya't maya na akong dumukot hanggang sa sinaid ko na nga ahahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha. Actually sa akin din naman nasisimot ko lalo sa garapon lang ng ice cream yung coins ko. Ayun kapag wala ako pera babawasan ko. πŸ˜… pero ngayon gusto ko na talaga yung may ipon. Iba kasi yung meron ka madudukot lalo fot emergencies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't mind making friends!

$ 0.00
2 years ago