Why I Didn't Aim for Latin Honors?

21 71
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

It was always believed that students who are academic achievers seem to have a boring lifestyle — that they're nerds or they enjoy the library more than the outside world. And as someone who prioritizes my studies over anything else since then, I can say that part of this assumption is true.

But no, not everyday is a boring to us. There are moments in our lives that we also set aside academics, and just want to have fun.

As a consistent achiever since my elementary years, I always felt the pressure of graduating with flying colors. I was too competitive, and even joined a lot of extra-curricular activities to maintain my awards.

It came with a lot of stress and pressure, but the satisfying fulfillment happened every awarding ceremonies at the end of the school year. And it became a cycle over the last few years, from grade school to high school.

But when I was about to enter college, I honestly and frankly told my Mama that I'm already tired and done being the apple of the eye. I just wanted to be an ordinary student, with no pressure of whether or not to graduate with Latin Honors.

Maybe you are wondering why or how did I convince my Mama in this decision. But guess what? I am very lucky to have the most understanding parents in the world. Instead of telling me to study hard and graduate with a Latin honor, they told that I should just enjoy the journey and do not pressure myself.

As for me, here are my personal reasons why I did not aim for any academic achievement award in college:

I want to keep a low profile.

Being an achiever means you are the apple of the eye, not only in class but also to teachers. One of the reasons why I did not aim for the latin honor is because I want to keep a low profile, wherein I will only be seen as an ordinary student.

I don't want to feel the pressure.

College years are already stressful and full of pressures, and I did not want to add some more by always trying to get higher grades. As we all know, being an achiever also means you have to maintain a passing or get higher grades to meet the requirements.

I want to enjoy the journey and go with the flow.

And the most accurate reason why is because I just want to enjoy the journey of being a college student and go with the flow. It's because I know to myself that when I push myself so hard to have higher grades, it will surely affect my mental health and my will to enjoy my life.


But to make things clear, even if I did not aim for the Cum Laudes, I still did my part as a student. I have not failed grades, and I always achieved the passing grades for all my subjects, and some were even higher.

I know that this is not something I'll regret since I really had a great time during my college years. Also, despite not having those academic awards, the comments and views of my professors and classmates were enough to validate that I can really and truly achieve it, if I did genuinely aim for it. It's enough to let me know that I am a good student.

Even without any of those Latin Honors, it's still great to finally close the book on my college story in a few months. I cannot wait to be a Degree Holder, soon.


Want To Connect With Me?

Check Some Blogs!

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

Article # : <324>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>
Posting Date : <March 24, 2023>

Copyright ©️ 2023, @charmingcherry08. All Rights Reserved.

11
$ 0.37
$ 0.25 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 2
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

What's important is you have gained knowledge and tools necessary to better yourself. A honor is not necessary to do that. Plus like you said you got to go along for the ride not having to worry about meeting certain expectations.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Indeed. 👏 As long as I am on my way to achieve that Degree, everything is perfect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have told others who get an education. Don't chase the degree title, hold onto experiences that can be used later, hold onto what you learn, and find interest in your studies along the way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also didn't pressure myself when it comes to academics, actually I am doing enough to sustain my grades, getting a GWA of 2 is okay for me, I am happy to get 2.75 rather than 3, I am enjoying my college life not to the point that I abandon my responsibility at schoo, sometimes I feel exhausted due to heavy loads but still I enjoyed it since I have classmates to rely on.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed. This is what I have in mind. I don't want the pressure, but to go with the flow of the journey.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our Grades in University/college are just numbers we should follow our ways of enjoyment.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you! You just hit the point. 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish to have Latin Honors before but then I realized that there is so much in life to achieve. Yes it would give us an advancement for more opportunities but it will always depend on how passionate we are in our work.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's it. Thank you for adding this up. 👏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yey. Congrats in advance. 😍 Can't wait to see your update with you wearing a toga. 🥳

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aww. Thank you so much! ♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me kapag sa college na parent Hindi na kilangan ang Latin honors, cguro bonus nalang yung honors ka, ang importante napasa lahat ng subjects at nakapagtapos ganern lang ka simple, at naging masaya, nice to meet you here on read cash sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hi, nice to meet you too! ♥️ Tama ka, hindi na mahalaga ang latin honors sa college talaga. Tyaga at basta makapasa na yun ang pinaka-mahalaga. 👏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True sis, ang importante ngayon masaya tayo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm sure one day you'll be graduated with good grades and hold the degree in your hands. Good luck dear 🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much! I will. 😍♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan talaga langga nuh kapag consistent yung honors mo since elementary parang dala² mo yung pressure lagi.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo madam. Ganyan talaga ang nangyayari. Buti nalang natanggal na ang pressure noong nag-college na ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo madam. Pag college na matatanggal na. Iba pag nasa elementary ka pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka dyan madam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hirap pag ganun madam nuh. Nasa isip mo palagi. Tyaka may kaba lagi. Parang wala kang freedom.

$ 0.01
1 year ago