Remembering The Journey: My Work Experiences

55 127
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

We did not have a silver spoon when my Mama gave birth to me. She made sure to open my eyes to the reality of life at a young age. Knowing that we do not have the privilege as others do makes me a person who craves stability.

We have our small business at the town’s public market, which was our source of income way back. I can say that it was enough to survive the necessities. At a young age, I wanted to earn money and help my parents. And I started hustling when I was in my early teenage years. Maybe you are curious about my journey, so I wrote it down and shared a story with everyone.

  • I became a saleslady.

Since we have our small business in the market, I already know everyone. In high school, one of the vendors asked me to be her saleslady every summer vacation. I asked my Mama about it, and she said yes. That is when I started hustling for money, and whenever I earn something, I try to give some to my Mama for our expenses.

Also, I even bought diapers and milk for my nephew before. I started to see the goodness and hardships in earning money through working and not being lazy. Even though I have part-time work as a saleslady, I still enjoyed my summer vacation before since I can ask for a rest day anytime.

  • I had on-the-job training in the kitchen.

During my Senior High School days, we had a subject called Immersion, also known as On Job Training (OJT). We had to take it before we could finally graduate. And I had mine in one of the restaurants in Subic, Zambales. When I applied and asked about it, they told me I would be one of the crews in the kitchen. It was when I saw how chefs and other cooks work to prepare good meals for the customers.

They taught me many things, especially in terms of pricing and budgeting, which connect to my strand of Accountancy, Business, and Management (ABM). Also, they helped me understand how fast-food restaurants survive and why some end up in bankruptcy. Even though I was just an assistant of the chef, they still tried their best to teach me something connected to the field I am studying.

  • I am a subcontractor of a freelancer at Upwork.

It all started in January 2021 when a freelancer offered work to me. She explained the tasks that I needed to do and how to do them. I started right away and accepted the opportunity. I became a subcontractor and worked on behalf of her until now.

It has been a year of being in the field, and I can say that I learned a lot, and I am still learning and improving daily. My work is limited to only 25 hours a week, and I am blessed to have this opportunity. It made me aware of the chances of getting employed in an online platform. Also, it helped me enhance my skills and abilities and acquire knowledge that I can use someday.

As you can see, I have been a hustler since I was a kid until now. I will not stop until I achieve my goals and work for my future.


Want To Connect With Me?

Article # : <272>
Category  : <Corporate Blogs>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>
Posting Date : <June 12 2022>

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

26
$ 6.65
$ 6.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 12
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

Can relate to you, bb ko. Me, on the other hand, started naman when I'm 16. It was a summer job (SPES) offered in our municipality so grab na kaagad ~ that's 8K+ din before for just 20 days. Divaa? Then same tayo ng OJT during SHS, though under naman ako ng Home Economics (TVL). Grabe, super nakakapagod at nakakaloka kasi kitchen & office ako that time. Nag-aaccounting din~ but keri lang, nagagamit ko naman until now. ✨

Curious ako 'dun sa Upwork, biee. Hihi

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Diba, maagang nabatak yung mga buto natin sa trabaho at hustle! Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You sound like a hardworking individual and you take opportunities as they come along. Well done!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I don't let opportunities slip away, that's why.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I want to be a freelancer. But with tye job that I have now, I guess I'll not be able to manage my time well. I just hope that our workplace will increase the renumeration for me not to look for more jobs available huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What job do you have po ba? Anyway, you can be a Freelancer and work from home too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anong niche ng freelancer na winoworkan mo ngayon sis? Trying to be a freelancer pero sobrang di ko alam pano mag start eh. Huhuhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Data Entry and Content Writing ako sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

woww, our batch wasn't able to experience OJT because of the pandemic haystt

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sayang naman :) It would have been a great experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeahhh🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

SHS ba? Or college?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

SHS po hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bawi nalang sa OJT for College. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

meron din po pala sa college niceee

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo hehe. Goodluck!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ABM din strand ko nung shs at sa munisipyo naman ako ng aming municipality nag on the job training.

Goodluck on your future goals btw! Padayon! ^^

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello there. Ka-ABM ko pala itu hehe. Anong course mo now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Masscom haha layo diba hahaha nilayuan ko na ang math

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwww. Gusto ko rin ng Mass Comm eh, kaso malayo masyado yung school.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko tuloy nung newbie ka palang Saka si florie e nafefeel ko na talagang magaling kayo e hehe. At Dinga ako nagkamali.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Nahihiya pa nga ako sa inyo noon ate, kasi mas nauna kayo nila Ate Eyb hehe. Thank you po ate. Stay strong tayo dito ano, walang natibag. Team #2Years na tayo this year haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo 2 years na kami this month hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Ako naman sa August ate hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa totoo lang gusto ko mag try maging saleslady pero alam ko mahirap yan. Kaya thankful ako may noise & read. Sana bigyan ako ni God ng ibang raket if ever mawala man tong mga platforms nato.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga eh. Kaya sana wag muna mawala itong dalawang platform kasi ang laki ng tulong nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, that needs great luck and skill to be a subcontractor there, and you have both. I am student now and doing hardworks for making a good future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Goodluck on your studies and your journey as a hardworking person. Looking forward to your achievements :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eto yung legit and certified raketera. Nayssu! Hindi pa ko nakita nung bata pa ako pero madalas natulong talaga ako sa farm. Hirap ng buhay jusko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kailangan talaga ng raket be hahaha. Bata palang ako mukhang pera na haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your mama raise you well I can say that. At your young age you are already independent and hardworking. For sure in the near future you'll gonna have all that your hearts truly desires and you'll gonna get your success.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww. Thank you so much. I really appreciate everything that you have said po :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko rin ate mag-Upwork kapag 18 na talaga ako. Sisikapin ko talaga intindihin yon haha. Parang read.cash lang naman yon eh haha joke. Lalo akong bumilib nung sinabi mong nag-saleslady ka tapos valedictorian ka pa back then. Pinagpalang nilalang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maraming work sa Upwork, and depende yun sa skills mo and yung field na gusto mo, like web designing or writing. As of now, ang request kase ng client is content creating tapos web-designing pa hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really have a good work profile. There are some works and employments that opens up chances to digress in learning and acquiring new skills

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, you are right. I might use these experiences one day, in a way bigger world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No wonder na achiever ka beh kaai bata pa lang eh marunong ka na sa buhay.. Congrats sayo and goodluck sa tatahakin mo pa..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you ate. Bata palang namulat na talaga ako sa reyalidad ate :) At malaki ang pasasalamat ko sa Mama ko sa mga tinuro nya sa akin kaya lumaki akong may magandang mindset sa buhay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At the age of 18 nag saleslady din ako then after almost a year promoted kunwari nasa stockroom na stockholder tgen naounta sa counter as a bagger then naging cashier ,last job ko na kasi nag asawa na ako😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako maaga ako nagstart maging saleslady. Paguran talaga hehe. :) Kapag nga naaalala ko, nabibilib ako sa sarili ko kasi nakayanan ko yun kahit na nasa panahon ako ng kapusukan ng mga kabataan, mas pinili kong maghanapbuhay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like you I also worked a lot till my graduation. Thanks to my parents who are always with me in supporting. You struggle your best through saleslady and crew in College.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww. We indeed worked hard! We are so lucky to have supportive parents, right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A hustling lady, you have got the irresistible charm dear! These early hardships will make you a wonderful women just never leave the hustling club.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will never leave the hustling club, like what you said :) I will be hustling until I achieve my dreams.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First job ko din maging saleslady sa mall sis, I was 18 that time and that's the time I learned that earning money is really hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap, ano ate? Kasi need mong makisama sa mga iba't-ibang klase ng customer. Hirap talagang kumita ng pera.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa freelancing, yan ba yung kay MJ? Mganda yang experience, pwd mo magamit sakali gusto mo mag full time freelancer someday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, ate. Sa kanya pa rin po :) Sana nga po hindi siya magsawa ate hehe. Marami talaga akong natututunan dito sa work na to ate, na pwede kong magamit one day :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey did you get any work in upwork? I left that platform. I wish for your success and I hope you will be a gainer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I got it from a Freelancer, and I am just a subcontractor :) Thank you for the good words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naguupwork karin ba sis? Kasali ako sa group ng upwork pero hirap,ako intindihin if pano sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, nasa Upwork pa rin me. Malawak kasi yung platform, and depende sya sa field mo or skills mo. For example, sa web-designing gusto mong work, ganun. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are you still in upwork? Gusto ko magtry kaso parang di ako confident sa sarili ko na kaya ko yung mga needs ng client. Nagcreate ako before ng upwork account and natakot ako hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes po. Still working sa Upwork :) Try niyo po ulit. Tiwala lang po sa sarili.

$ 0.00
1 year ago