Life with three pets

8 40
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Topics: Personal Blog, Pets
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

This is going to be a very honest article coming from someone who never had to take care of any pets and then suddenly has to take care of three pets.

I would like to preface this by saying that no matter how tiring it gets, I love our pets and they bring me a lot of joy. But the reality of taking care of more mouths to feed is not as sweet as many portray it as.

To provide a bit of organization to this work, I want to divide it into my life before we had pets, and our life now that we have pets.

Before Moshi

Before Moshi, I had a nice routine going. I would wake up then medidate then exercise. After that, I could read or sleep again.

I also explore a lot of hobbies back then such as airdry clay sculpting, handmade paper making, sewing, painting, etc.

In short I had a lot of free time. And nost of my stress were from academic.

After Moshi

The first few weeks were rough. I remember hiw I tried to be tiughhearted then to hopefully convince my elder sister to see that she can not take care of a pet when she is already so tired from work.

But I was unable to ignore Moshi's pitiful cries back then. My elder sister did her best to provide for Moshi's things but as many of you know, a puppy requires more care.

So when Manju went on a vacation for two weeks, I was the one who had to take care of just a month-old Moshi. It ate up a lot of time. And my routine is destroyed.

But in such a short time, I developed a love for Moshi that I find myself smiling at her playful nature. I find myself lookin forward to taking care of her as well.

Before Oreo and Presto

Moshi is already a year old so she is no longer a puppy and does not require much care anymore. Although she does have more needs when it comes to physicl activities since she has more energy. But it was almost natural to adapt to that routine.

I even managed to find some time to restart my hobbies such as crochet. And still hve enough time to grind and do other things.

After Oreo and Presto

Taking care of three pets is beyond exhausting. I was already left with no energy just taking care of myself, and was barely managing taking care of Moshi daily and now two additional pets are added under my care.

At this point, I felt frustration built up on some family members because they think taking care of pets is easy so they keep adopting even though majority of the work falls on me.

But of course, I could not bear to just stand aside and watchthe kittens suffer because no one else knew how to take care of them. So I once again stepped up even though I know it is going to be difficult.

This is what my arm looks like two weeks after taking care of Oreo and Presto. I actually had more scratches before when I was just starting to stimulate them but I did not want to look at it so I did not take a picture.

Now I was able to take a picture because finally the kittens are starting their litter box training so I do not have to hold them anymore and stimulate them.

There was a time I cried a little because the scratches are painful. But I had to keep doing the same thing before and after their meals to ensure they are healthy so I had to push through.

I am not blaming them since I know they can not hide their claws yet at the time.

But that is not all

I had to pay attention to Moshi too so that she will not feel jealous of the two kittens. I was actually relieved when Moshi was not angry upon seeing the kittens which is one of the main reason why I decided to agree to adopting them.

If Moshi had been angry, I would have asked my father to find someone else to take care of the kittens. So it must be fate for me to adopt Oreo and Presto.

However, Moshi is super excited to play with them but the size difference is a bit hard to ignore. Oreo and Presto are tiny so they get quite shocked when Moshi tries to play with them.

This leads to chaos since Moshi is trying to get them to play with her while the kittens try to hide from her.

The kittens are also troublemakers especially when I am feeding Moshi. Even though I already feed them before I feed Moshi, they still try to get to Moshi's bowl, unbothered by the fact that I already put it on top of a container to keep them away from it.

And then there is Moshi who is also curious about what the kittens are eating.

Since food is involved, there are claws and noises involved. I am just incredibly grateful that Moshi is smart enough to know that biting a kitten is bad.

Closing words

Taking care of three pets is taking a toll on me. But I am also enjoying it. Watching them grow up make me happy.

Although there truly is a lot of expenses involved with having pets.

I wish I was a bit more prepared but I do not regret having them in my life.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

11
$ 5.42
$ 5.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 5
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Topics: Personal Blog, Pets

Comments

I have three dogs, all three of them I found on the street and at the insistence of the children I took them home, luckily I have a yard and they have a place to walk. But, wait, I also have two cats that, most of the time, stay in the house. You realize what it is like when everyone meets in the yard ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a pet dog but I never took the responsibility to take care of it instead my family does, I am more on the cats and I am curious if how does it feels like to hang around with dogs. For sure it's really fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They might have broken your routine but they bring out your soft part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having a pet is fun not until it will bite or scratch. We have a cat here, he wanted to play and he loves biting and scratching

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap talaga nyaan naku, kapag pa namam mas ni focus mo ang attention dun sa isa mamya may magtatampo. Yong alaga ni Mama kapag nag tampo ay di talaga kakain. Need pa subuan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have 5 rabbits also that have scratched me and bit me already hahaha. I got the struggle running after them, whenever I let them play in the garden. Every time I open their hutch, I always regret doing it because of the awful smell. Cleaning their hutch is a struggle also. Well, what can you expect from a fur parent 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

omg I felt a huge ouch in my brain after looking at the picture.. Please take care of yourself sis, maybe get them checked with a doctor as I heard some pets might have bacteria in their mouth.. Bless you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when my pets scratched me also my friend. I'm really sad that time but I understand because they don't know what they are doing. I felt the pain of scratches. I love pets my friend. I love them so much. I love playing with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago