If you are reading this, you're a clone

2 49
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

What would you if one day you wake up and read a note in your own handwriting telling you you are a clone?

It seems like a weird prank that you have forgotten you were playing on yourself. But think about a world where you keep getting killed and just get cloned the next day? With the memories of what happened erased on your mind, what will you do?

A hidden gem

This is the plot of one of the webtoon I discovered today. It was in the Top Thriller section and I was curious.

It was a new webtoon so it was the first time I saw it but it is already on the Top 5 Thriller? That means that it is an interesting story. And how could I even pass up on such a story.

Just looking at the title banner gives me the creep. The artstyle is so good for the story, it adds to the creepy effect.

And the title will make sense the more you read.

Never-Ending Darling | WEBTOON

Ha-im Yun lives in a world where people register their DNA into cloning databases, a world where human suffering has basically been eradicated. The brilliant mind behind this cloning technology is none other than Ha-im’s boyfriend of five years, Geunhu Ji. Their relationship isn’t perfect, but they make it work -- or so Ha-im thinks, until she finds a dead body at her boyfriend’s house… and the dead body is hers. The next day, she wakes up with no recollection of the previous day until she finds a note from herself in her room…

“Ha-im, if you’re reading this, you’re a clone.”

https://www.webtoons.com/en/thriller/never-ending-darling/list?title_no=4212

Here you can read the summary of the webtoon. Just from it you can already tell that it definitely deserves its spot at the Top Thriller section.

I will actually not be surprised if it ranked higher as the story progresses.

My thoughts

The summary did a good job in making my mind ran through different scenarios. I was able to put myself in shoes of the main character and it really felt as if I was the one who discovered the note reading:

“Ha-im, if you’re reading this, you’re a clone.”

I made the mistake of reading it with the lights off and now I can not shake the feeling of being watched.

The webtoon started out with intense emotions being awaken. It was a surrise since thriller stories on Webtoon usually try to keep the mystery of the story.

The usual way is for the story to slowly build its thrill and intense emotions as the story progresses. This is why thriller stories usually already have more than 10 episodes when it appears on the Top Thriller, the exception being Shotgun Boy since it is a story by an already known creator. The creator of Bastard and Sweet Home. With Sweet Home already adapted in a K-Drama if my memory serves right.

Anyway, going back to Never-Ending Darling. The Webtoon unveils its bomb in the first chapter and you can hear its ticking as you read the chapters.

With six chapters open to the public, it is no wonder why it ranked with the intensity of the story.

Even now, I can still feel some tremors in my body as I think back about the story. Don't make the same mistake I made into puting myself in the shoes of the character, you will experience such a rollercoaster ride.

Closing words

I recommend this story if you are lookin for an interesting story. It might not be everyone's taste but I am sure that there will be someone here who would appreciate the recommendation.

Let me know if you have read this Webtoon, tell me why you never recommended it to me before, just kidding.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

June 2022 Articles Summary

May 2022 Articles Summary

April 2022 Articles Summary

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

6
$ 0.99
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

Not familiar with this, but gonna save in case

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it will make an interesting story. Maybe I will check on it later

$ 0.01
1 year ago