I need a friend

7 33
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

In difficult times, a friend is someone who can be counted to have your back. They offer their shoulders to cry on or their ears to listen to you venting.

In all honesty, I have awesome friends but I know they are busy with their lives. I do not want to make them worried about me and my condition.

However, this does not erase the fact that I need someone to talk to. Sure, I always have my partner to talk to but like I said,I do not want to dump all of my ramblings to one person only.

Plus I really miss learning new things about someone. I miss the excitement associated to getting to know an interesting person.

The problem

The main reason why I have yet to find new friends is myself. I now have rusty social skills so I do not know how to keep a conversation going with a stranger.

I am okay with people that I know for a while since I have some sort of foundation with them, but with strangers, it is difficult.

For one, I do not know where to start. I have forgotten how to build friendships that last for more than a couple of days. I am not sure how to make myself look approachable nor do I know how to approach others without coming across as FC (feeling close).

Next is that I am not in the mood to reply most of the times. Sometimes, I would forget to reply for days because I haven't been opening my messages. This of course makes for a boring conversation.

I can not seem to remember a time when I talked with a stranger where the conversation just kept going and going. I guess it was probably one of those times where I was still flirting with multiple people at the same time, before I met my partner.

A difficult combination

I am too shy to initiate or act close to anyone, and I am also awkward. I have joined some group chats in my quest to make new friends but I have actually not been active in those group chats.

The main reason for this is that I do not know how to participate in the ongoing conversations. I am not sure how to catch up with some inside jokes that I missed or conversations about each other's daily lives.

I just can not seem to find the right message to send aside from the rare "good morning, guys" messages that I sent. After this, I would usually go back to overthinking how to continue.

Yet I almost always end up just vanishing for days after that. Not because I want to but because I can not seem to understand how everything works.

I feel like a child in an adult's body and everyone else knows the rules already but no one gave me a heads up about what is happening.

I feel lost

I just can not seem to remember how to go back to my friendly self. It is frustrating since I want someone to talk to about random things.

I want to hear about someone's day and their problems. I want to listen to their stories about their places, and all those other stuff.

But I just can not do it.

I am guessing that the reason why I even managed to keep my friends, and partner is because they never take my late replies personally. They know that my social batteryay suddenly ran out but I will always reach out again when I am able to.

They also do not hesitate to double chat me. You know, they chat again even if I have yet to reply to their original message. Usually, once they double chat me, I find myself replying just so they know I saw their message.

Closing words

This is just a random article filled with my thoughts and hopes. I really want a new friend or friends but I guess I would have to wait for the face to face classes to resume. Virtual friendship seems so hard to maintain for me. Moreover, I can not seem to get how to cross from point a to point b.

Like I do not understand how to know when we can talk about personal things or some shallow things. I just don't get it.

Now that I think about it, I am super lucky to find a partner during this pandemic despite my rusty social skills. But then again, I met my partner when I was at the peak of my flirty stage so that was probably the reason why our conversation lasted as long as it did.

Anyway, this is just a random article but in case anyone takes pity to my awkward af self, I will be happy to try and use my rusty social skills.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

April 2022 Articles Summary

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

11
$ 3.55
$ 3.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 2
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

I feel you when you want to talk about something but nobody is there to talk too 😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a small circle of friends and I prefer that way. I do not like having many friends but few are true. I prefer being along actually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine how it feels cos I used to be like this. You just need a little nudge, someone that will sort of act as a bridge between you and potential new friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohooo, it's just like me. Pero in personal lang ako ganito. Sa virtual world madali nalang makahanap re.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not that difficult. First step is the awareness that you have a challenge which you have accepted. All you need to do now is to make up you mind to be more open towards people. Making friends is easy if you really want to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis mostly di nagrereply pero id need nila ng makikinig mismo sakanila pwede nila ako matawagan, sadyang tamad lang ako magcheck ng messenger pero telegram hindi ;-;

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it is the right time to knock the Devil. Find me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago