Buying kitten essentials with BCH

9 38
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Topics: Growth, Pets, $Kittens
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

A few days ago, I wrote an article introducing Oreo and Presto. In that story, I also told how I ended up taking care of them despite not having any plans for it.

Because of the abruptness of the situation, I was not able to buy a lot of essential things and just make do with some alternative things.

For example, I have yet to buy the kittens their own bed as well as their own carrier. The bed is self explanatory because I want to give them their own space. The carrier is for when I take them to the vet.

I am planning to just go with the vet during Moshi's next visit so that my sister will be there as well. I also need to prepare for it since it might be ricey with two kittens.

Anyway, my kitten supplies for now consists of a kitten replacement milk since they are still young. It is a bit expensive but I manage somehow. Then there is an old mug where I mix their milk as well as a small syring as a substitute for a baby bottle.

I also have an old ice cream container that I use when I stimulate them to do their business. Of course I have a lot of tissues as well as plastic bags to clean up their mess.

The things I want to buy

I want to buy them a lot of things. First will be a litter box as well as litter sand. Using sand is cheaper although I would need to do some additional steps to ensure that their mess will not smell.

Along with that, I want to buy some biodegradable plastics which eliminates the smell and an enzyme cleaner to prepare for the accidents that are bound to happen while potty training Oreo and Presto.

As I said earlier, I need a cat bed and carrier. But these two can wait since they are comfortable sleeping in an old mattress and the carrier can wait until I get my stipend.

I need to buy them toys as well so that I can start tiring them out so that bad behaviours will not be much of a problem.

Of course, I need milk replacement and soon I will need to start weaning them so a cat food will also be needed. Along with that, I need to prepare some bowls for their water and dry food.

Let me just buy the urgent items first

I wish I could say that I immediately ordered these items when I had the kittens but I did not since I was hoping to wait for my stipend first. But it seems like the stipend will come next week so I needed to order the essentials online.

These are just the things that I believe are needed and cannot wait until the Payday Sale which is why I place an order for them already.

Good thing that I have a BCH reserves to fall back on for this emergency expense. Otherwise, I would have to wait for many days.

As you can see, I only ordered from 3 shops. I limited my budget so that I can buy more in the online sale during Payday.

The first thing I bought is a litter box with scoop. I only bought one since I read that kittens can share a litter box. I will add two more litter boxes soon.

I need an extra one since it is recommended to always have an extra litter box for cats.

But I think I have a bit of time before I need to worry about this since they are still young and still need to be stimulated to go do their business.

Then of course I need a litter sad to go with the litter box. I want to start training them immediately since I do not want to deal with a lot of accidents. I also only bought 1kg of it just in case the kittens do not like the texture.

I bought another pack of kitten milk replacer since the ones my father provided is more expensive that this. I only bought a small pack because I plan to buy more during the Payday sale in a few days.

I also bought a disposable bag so it is easier to get rid of their mess.

Closing words

All in all, I spent P253 for all of these itens. I got lucky since as a platinum member I have additional vouchers. The one that saved me this time is a P50 off voucher.

I only converted P300 worth of BCH for this. I think it was around 0.018BCH when I converted. I am not sure now though since I forgot to check the price.

Taking care of kittens are more expensive than puppies, I think. Since dogs can be potty trained outside but indoor kittens need to have their own litter box plus an extra one.

But it is also rewarding to see the kittens grow up especially when they were already weak when we saw them.

In the next sale, I will be breaking one goal that I set for this year which is to limit my online shopoing expenses to only P500. It is okay though since I have not exceeded that budget in the last months. Another thing is that I remember that I changed that goal to just spend money on essential things and these are definitely purchases that needed to be made.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

13
$ 5.66
$ 5.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 4
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Topics: Growth, Pets, $Kittens

Comments

Natry mo na din bang bumili ng cat bed? Gusto ko eh kaso I'm not sure kung malambot ba since yan yung gusto ng mga cats.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di ako bumili cat bed eh. Meron kasi si Moshi na puppy bed nun tas di niya ginamit, tas ayun pinapagamit ko sa mga kuting bukod sa lumang kutson

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such an outstanding hobby you have. I'd say it's not only your hobby but also comprehending the religious stuffs too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a pet lover but I don't really like cats. I admire your zeal to take care of them tho, they are lucky to have you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gusto ko din bilhan si Zebra ng things nya ang kaso lang ay wala pa ako budget at ayaw din naman nya mga binibili ko. Huhu

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Artistahin talaga mga pusa eh no HAHAHAHAHAHA pacute lang naman tas tulog tulog

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sure they'll be grateful for those

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm considering getting my own kittens too but I'd have to wait till when I move to my own apartment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you would be better prepared for it than I am haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago