Adulting 101: Make your own finance tracker (Part 1)

15 79
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

In the last article on Adulting 101 series, I said something about sharing my expense tracker so that you can have a basis of what to include in your tracker. However, upon writing this article I realized that what I call my expense tracker is really not just for tracking expenses so I changed the name to finance tracker. Today's article will be divided into three parts.

  • What is a finance tracker?

  • What do you need?

  • Free finance tracker format

Before that though, just a quick disclaimer. I am not a financial advisor nor do I claim to be one. Everything I share in this article series is based on my own research and understanding. This is not meant to be taken as a professional advice. DYOR is highly suggested.

With that important disclaimer out of the way, let us start.

What is a finance tracker?

I have already written about expense tracker in the last article which is similar to what a finance tracker does. You can find the links to the past articles on the series below.

But essentially, a financial tracker is where you can put all your expenses whether big or small so you can see where your money goes. It also includes the information about your income and where it goes.

This can be sub-divided into all the wallets and ATM cards that you have as well as the online wallets. It is a personal preference so it is up to what you want your finance tracker to look like.

What do you need?

First, you can use a notebook where you can manually track your money. The downside to this is that it requires more effort and if you lose the notebook without any backup, you will have lost important information about your money habits.

Another way to have your own finance tracker is to install some applications. All you have to do is download and then input everything in the app. The downside here is that it is less customizable unless you want to pay for the premium versions. Unfortunately, I did not enjoy any experience I have with finance tracker apps so I am unable to recommend some good ones.

Last way that I know of (and my favorite) is to use a spreadsheet. All you have to do is create a spreadsheet where you can input the information you want. You can make it as automated as you want or you can just use some simple formula. It depends on your knowledge of how to use Google Sheets or Excel. But honestly, even though it is intimidating at first, learning some basic things that you can do with Google Sheets/ Excel can go a long way.

Free finance tracker format

To get you started on making your own tracker, I am going to be sharing a copy of my finance tracker. Remember that this is my personal preference so you are free to change or remove anything. You are also welcome to just visit it and design your own tracker by using some elements that you may find interesting.

In this tracker I already included some instructions but I will still write it here just in case you will not notice it.

  • You will not be able to edit the file. This is to make sure that the next person who clicks on the link will still get the original copy. But how can I use it if I can not edit it? All you have to do is to make a copy of the file and then you can play around with your copy. Just click the link, then you will see the word "file" below the title on the upper left part. Click on it and then choose "make a copy". You now have your own copy.

Please remember that so that you will have no problem when you access my free finance tracker format.

Closing words

I will be ending this article here today because this article will be too long if I still include the next part. The part 2 of this article will be some helpful tricks of how to edit the free finance tracker to better suit your needs. The first part will be a breakdown of how the free finance tracker works.

Then it will also include how to make dropdown options on spreadsheet as well as how to automatically change the colors of the fill or text depending on what you input on the spreadsheet.

If you are interested in the next part be sure to look out for it next time.


This is a part of the Adulting 101 series that I am writing. You can read the earlier articles of this series here:

  1. Adulting 101: Realizations

  2. Adulting 101: Children does not count as investment

  3. Adulting 101: Set Financial Goals

  4. Adulting 101: Track your Expenses



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

12
$ 4.81
$ 4.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Maganda sana tu sakin ee, kung di lanh ako tamad baga. 🥲

$ 0.01
2 years ago

HAHA hirap talaga labanan katamaran eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried listing down the breakdown of my finances and it just stressed me out. Hahahaha the money that I spend in less than a year big. 😩

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Super relate ako dito HAHAHA, tamang pikit mata na lang ako nung nagsimula ako pero ngayon mej umookay na spending habits ko. Kaso mukhang mawawala ung platinum membership ko sa Shopee 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wait, puwede pala yun? Yung nag dodowngrade yung badge kineme? HAHAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu every 6 months ata, may need ka imaintain na amlunt of orders para makeep yung badge

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will be waiting for the second part of course. And I also track my money by writing them in to notepad which was gifted by my dad. I love to write with the pen, haha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh. Thank you for this Zehra. I badly need this tracker to make sure I have the control over to every cent and I earn and spend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I will ehehehe I never make any finance tracker coz for me I don't have enough money, so why I need to track in the first place,😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I can see why a financial tracker would look rather useless haha. Hopefully, you will have some money to track soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I attempted to create my own before but since I wanted to put a lot, the result was chaos lol. Looking forward to the next article :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I need that. Thanks for the help. Now I'm thinking about listing in a notebook.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A very helpful one. I have a notebook and I list all my expenses there and I made it balance with my balance on hand, most of the time I forget to update it so I lost touch

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Financial tracker is really nice to have whether it may be digital or manual (through paper). Thanks for sharing you spreadsheet!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice one Zehra. I look forward to establishing the same habit as yours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago