A Not-so Good Motivation

8 32
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

This incident that I will share with you happened on February 3. It will just be full of my thought and might sound like a rant (it is) so you can skip this one if you like.

Anyway, since a few days have already passed before I wrote about it, my emotions are not as wild as it was before. So I might be able to have some realizations along the way that will mot be clouded by my irritation.

What happened?

As many of you know, the new semester started for many students. It is the same case for us.

You know, in our department, the best professors are those from the department and those outside of our department are really qurstionable sometimes.

I have a lot of respect for educators around the world. However, there are times when I just have to ask myself, "how did they manage to land this job?"

There is this one professor in our new semester right now. He is handling the subject of DC and AC Machinery which has a lot of computation on it plus theories both already discussed and those that are not yet discussed.

We actually already had a bad experience with professors on similar subject codes from before since they are from the EE department at our university. This old professor is someone who just guesses the student's grade. I have the honor of being given a 3.00 (barely passing) even though I aced most of the quizzes and major exams.

Anyway, I got a bit side tracked there. Going back ti the DC and AC machinery discussion, our professor is newer one so we do not know anything about his teaching style and what not.

In the first official lesson (if you could call it that), it became clear that he has no idea what he is doing.

He seemed like he was learning along with us while we watch youtube videos. He would sometimes read along the video which is not helpful at all since he mumbled tge description so it was hard to concentrate.

Moreover, his example is also from a youtube video that he is watching (he was not sharing his screen anymore) while "teaching" us.

How do I know this?

Well, he did not take into account that his mic will pick up on the sound of the video playing when he pauses in his lecture. It is so irritating because it made the whole thing more confusing instead of helping us.

This is my motivation

Now that I have seen more than one professor who holds the title Engineers like these, I am not motivated that I can get what I want to.

I do not understand how people who clearly are not suited as educators find themselves in charge of major subjects like these. Nor do I dare try to understand it.

I feel bitter about the fact that our University is doing this to us. Giving us a professor who has no idea about the subject while we are in a pandemic.

We are already 3rd years, next sem we will be 4th year students. And yet, the professors who should have been helping in preparing us for the field are not suited for it.

This is a major subject so I can not afford to fail since future subjects require this one as a pre-requisite.

But like I said, I am motivated as well seeing professor like these. I thought to myself that if they can lanf a job without knowing much about their own field of expertise, then I can manage to find something to do in the future as well.

Closing words

When I realized that I will not be learning anything from my professor, I had to resist my urge to cry. I did not have many college friends so I can not have insider's infor and what not.

I also do not know any engineers who woild be able to motivate or help me. Well, I knew engineers before but I ghosted them huhu. I should have just asked them to be friends instead of rejecting their advances, just kidding.

I just feel a bit lost right now since I know I would have to do this again on my own.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

12
$ 4.22
$ 3.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 4
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Well, I agree there are professors who just get a job in teaching but really don't know the subject some are part timers. Fortunately, wala oa ako naencounter during my previous semesters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happens rarely but in your case, it’s not good.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Professors are seems strictest you must have enough knowledge and abides there rules, I remember when I was on 2,3 and 4 college ,this one professor whose handling almost 30% of my subject. He was so strict especially when it talks about time you must be on time when you pass a project and even going to school.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Don't know why some schools are like that though, maybe the professor wasn't well interviewed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bigla kong naalala engineering ka nga pala

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can suggest to your prof to turn off his mic maybe he is not aware. Since the class has just started maybe you guys and the prof are adjusting..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That also exist in our school, when a specific teacher don't have any idea what she/he is teaching.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Some of those tutors don't really know much. I sometimes wonder how they got the job myself!

$ 0.01
2 years ago